L'Artisan Fragrances • Dzongkha • Fragrances

rated 3.3(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hyblaean on 4/24/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by hyblaean

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

celery! yes, that is it exactly.
and not that it's a bad scent, but if I was going to pick a garden scent to go with, my preference would be tomato vine.
Waiting for the miraculous dry down on this one...it's taking it's time. Still celery, baby powder, spice cabinet going headache strong 1/2 hour in (which is incredibly rare on my hot, oily skin) So, lasting power is phenomenal.
--------------------
...just weird. Perfume Court, where I bought this in a sampler of Milk Notes, has it listed as containing: spices, incense, tea and milk. Spices, sure, as long as celery salt is the main spice, the rest?
This is such a funky scent. I'm sure it's someone's hg. For me though it's going in the recycle to friends pile- a little too 'comfort soup' smelling to wear and feel sexy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 1/11/2012 10:09:00 AM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oh this is another love/hate one. I LOVE. It is so green on me, I get iris, incense, tea, and for some strange reason cocoanut. It is very unusual and would be edible on a man. Very evocative and I can think of nothing else like it except Timbuktu. Did I mention the smokey vetiver? no? well that too - fabulous

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chevalierbossu on 1/2/2012 2:51:00 AM more reviews by chevalierbossu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

it really evokes voyage......it's a scent of ambiance, of a certain time, a certain place. I would say it is more an interesting aroma but not so much as a perfume. I would not want myself to use Dzongkha, but the scent itself is evocative, it speaks of a time, a place, a memory.

if specifically decompose what Dzongkha smell like, aside from the romantize interpretation of above, it smells like rubber, wood, incense, milk tea, some distant flower.

i will not buy full bottle but it is definitely a very interesting, a scent that worth you to try out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apparently on 10/29/2011 12:29:00 AM more reviews by apparently

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this on a brief sniff at Bluemercury, so had them decant a sample for me. Thank god I didn't buy a bottle! To me Dzongkha smells very strongly of celery with incense underneath. I'm surprised no one else here has mentioned the celery; to me it is very aggressive -- as much in front here as the green fig is in Philosykos. Anyway, I can appreciate the creativity that went into this fragrance, but emphatically not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fiammetta on 10/10/2011 8:01:00 AM more reviews by Fiammetta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

As others have said, the scent truly does recall certain Buddhist temples in Asia (I'm thinking of one in Vietnam, in particular). I smell smoky tea, incense, spices, iris, and fragrant wood; after awhile it's all very dry but still delicious. I find it uniquely appealing, maybe a little cerebral, but worth owning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rydenfan3 on 7/31/2011 3:02:00 PM more reviews by Rydenfan3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have been sampling Dzongkha and all I can smell is vetiver. My skin must just amp up vetiver. That being said this smells to similar to Coeur du Vetiver Sacre which I already own. If I didn't own and love that one, this would be FBW for sure but on my skin at least they are too similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chrystelica on 7/29/2011 3:37:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This must be a nice fragrance on someone. To me, it smells exactly like the chinese medicine tea I was given in Korea. AWFUL! It's got that sweetish, fennel-like, rooty, fresh-from-the-garden-with-dirt-still-on-it smell. I do NOT like that scent on my body, nor do I ever want to smell like it... but now I do! Woohoo!! And I'm on the road and can't scrub it off... glorious.

However, I do give it props only because it captures the earthiness of vetiver combined with a really carroty, rooty, anise-fennel aroma with some fruitiness on top: and it completely captures the scent memory of Chinese medicine tea. A+ for effort! It's an exact replica of Chinese medicine in perfume concentration. IF you want to smell like that, here it is!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* greydovefeatherwing on 2/15/2011 9:20:00 AM more reviews by greydovefeatherwing

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe it was my sample. maybe it was my chemistry, but this smelled like straight up roach spray on me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 1/23/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The attribution “attractive” is often spared for some other genres in fragrances but I think this is a very attractive scent for a woman because I think there is something insightful, inward but at the same time inviting about it. The opening notes are powerful with a semi-sweet blossom and a semi-transparent cardamom on my skin. There is an incense note and although I'm not particularly fond of incense, I like it here. It is easily distinguishable, but not domineering and I quite enjoy smelling it amidst the greenness of the fragrance. It turns into the most beautiful mist or smoke I have ever smellt in my life, both lush and very slightly medicinal at the same time. It's herbacious and transparently vegetal with vetiver and orris root doing wonders here. Altogether I think this is a demure, dry, calm and collected fragrance with OK projection and lasting power. Only, it heats up toward the end, turning slightly bitter. As for compliments, I have attracted none but I have been told that I smell like cactus:) Still, I like it very much and may buy a FB one day.
EDIT: It is now summer in my country now and Dzongkha is a priceless shadow of smells, reminding me of rain in a forest, so calming, so serene, so translucent, yet so smoky.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 1/23/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is interesting and original but not my cup of tea. It smells mainly of burnt wood along with something medicinal. Strangely enough, it amplifies throughout the day. The resemblances to Timbuctu are pretty strong. Maybe it would suit better a guy, as it is definitely not a classical feminine scent. Worth trying but not worth purchasing a full bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Artisan Fragrances products

More Fragrances products