Ava Luxe Sweet Absinthe

4.2

11 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/7/2013 6:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sweet Absinthe is one of those wonderful perfumes that evolves into something quite unique once it’s been on your skin. So, depending on your chemistry, you might not experience the same results. The top notes are very true to absinthe, which by the way, I find utterly vile in its beverage form. (shudder) Sweet Absinthe is herbal in the top notes, with a sharp anise note dominating. I can think of no other way to describe than it reminds of me some sort of health tonic that one might have drunk in the days before modern medicine. As it dries down, however, the vanilla flower and lemon balm that Serena used to soften it begin to emerge and it sweetens on my skin into something more licorice-y, and starts to resemble Serge Lutens Douce Amere. It really does feel as though the fragrance starts off quite miffed at you for disturbing its rest in the bottle, and then settles back down into peaceful slumber on your skin. I find it quite intriguing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/8/2011 2:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've had this for years (it was my first AL purchase along with Sunday Girl) and I still love it. It's a beautiful, versatile anise scent. I think the prices have gone up a little but I would definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 6:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

When I got my sample of this, a few years ago I was just like, eeewww, sharp minty alcohol, Blech! So i finished my sample and thought nothing more. But i kept my empty vial around and later on kept sniffing the thing and kind of started to miss the frag. And also, with years gone by my nose has sharpened it's knowledge and appreciation of many more notes and now I actually think i could wear this, on occasion, so I might buy a small bottle at some point. I definitely prefer the 'sweet' aspects of this, but I now appreciate the sharpness of the absinthe.


on 10/2/2010 11:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Smoky wood and sweet licorice. Not too much of anything, a perfect balance of wood, anise and a touch of pale winter wood smoke. As it dries I'm getting a hint of vanilla too. Really liking this a lot. My sister also loves it and it is happily not one of her discontinued fragrances. (Oh, how I miss you, Sweet Tobacco.)


on 10/5/2008 12:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

To me, Sweet absinthe smells like whipped cream, licorice, and absinthe. I think this fragrance would work better if it didn't have so much musk in it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2008 10:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A fantastic, intriguing, unique fragrance. Its minty, absinthey coldness is met with a doughy warmth and its potentially harsh wormwood is balanced out with a sweet vanilla. I have drank absinthe before and this reminds me a bit of it, but it is not as sickeningly sweet and burning as absinthe (which I imagine would smell like NyQuil if it were too realistic). It at first reminds me of a white Tic-Tac, very vanilla/anise and chilly. As it warms it is completely enchanting and sexy, though a bit shy- like a very beautiful but cold woman. I don't get much lemon or other notes from it, but I do detect a bit of sandalwood on my skin. Its sillage is okay (6.5/10), but its lasting power is great (8/10). Its dry down reminds me a bit of a spearminty Sage Machado Pearl on my skin. It really shines in the dry down stage where the musk comes out, as AL's best work (in my opinion) is in clean musks. It is more an interpretation of absinthe reather than a single note incarnation of it. It is absinthe done right.I could not love this fragrance any more!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2008 7:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Here is the blurb for this from the Ava Luxe website:........" A soft absinthe fragrance made very wearable with the addition of sweet vanilla flower and soft musk."........
Playful and feminine.

Notes:
Absinthe
Licorice
Anise
Vanilla Flower
Sweet Musk
Lemon Balm

I really like this one. It's very different and interesting. It kind of reminds me of halloween at first, there is something earthy and herbal about it but it's very soft and gentle. It's not at all sharp or astringent like I would imagine an absinthe scent to be but I guess that's why it is called "sweet" absinthe. The vanilla really turns it into a caressing skinscent type of fragrance. Yes there is anise and licorice in here and it's quite noticeable, but it's so soft and gentle with the vanilla blended in that I really like it. I normally wouldn't like something with licorice in it but this one is balanced and very nice. The musk is the only kind of musk I can tolerate. It's that sweet, soft type of musk with no animalic quality to it at all. That is that kind of musk that ruins a scent for me and this one doesn't have that dirty quality thankfully. This scent smells better as the hours pass. I have worn it to bed and when I wake up I usually smell it and think wow, what on earth did I wear last night?? It got better overnight! LOL! Lasting power is really wonderful for me. If you put this in a fancy bottle and said it was from Italy people would probably be paying $180 a bottle for it. It's definitely worth at least a sample as it's so different from a lot of what's out there right now.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2007 2:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Upon applying Sweet Absinthe to my skin I sniffed and thought, "interesting..." (I never use the word "interesting" as a put-down. As a matter of fact, I detest its usage in that way.) My mind immediately traveled...somewhere. Where? I can't say, but there was brain activity going on.
There is something simultaneously comforting and invigorating about this one. The vanilla & the mint, respectively, most likely. (Though mint is not listed as one of the official notes, it's definately in there.) Warm weather, cold weather, this would work equally well for both, I think. And it would be intriguing on either a man or a woman.
Actually, this scent seems to play it every which way it can: If you were to smell this on someone, you might not even recognize it as a perfume. You might possibly think it was traces of the morning's shaving cream, plus the person's own sweet natural clean body scent. Maybe.
I'm giving it 4 for now, but I could see it eventually achieving 5.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2007 8:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If it weren't so early in the am, I might be tempted to write an odd poem or haiku about this lovely, shifting fragrance. This is the most unusual addition to my collection, for certain. This has movement to it. It is unmistakably green, dewy green with a glimmer of mint somewhere down below mingling with a deep, rich anise. There is also a smoky quality to this. I can almost feel the whisps of smoke curling around me. It conjures up images of a beatnic bar filled with beret-wearing locals smoking tiny menthol cigarettes attached to long, delicate black holders. This is captivating, mysterious, haunting and undeniably sexy. Not for the faint of heart or anyone that cannot venture outside of their comfort zone to indulge in the unknown. For me, however, I have, fortunately, been blessed with a dark side. >:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2006 7:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is delicious! Starts off with a strong licorice note and fades into a very sweet fragrance.

I think I am going to purchase this next!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Si
35 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top