Urban Decay Midnight Cowgirl

4.0

80 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

a neutral shadow with a kick. definitely one of my favs. p.s for all the gals complaining of the glitter fall out, if you liked this shade (or all of their shadows for that matter) you will be pleased to know that urban decay recently revamped all of its eye shadow formulas to target such problems. Same shades just a better formula for more staying power on your lids and not your face. So if that was your only hang up for repurchasing you can rest assured ^_-



on 6/21/2013 8:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This shadow shattered the third time of use. It's super glittery and very smooth. Super powdery and lots of fall out. Eh. It was okay. But not for the price.


on 6/23/2012 8:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is very velvety smooth, perfect for a nice shimmery (not glittery though) all over wash for the lid. Excellent as an under eyebrow highlighter. Adore this.


on 6/12/2012 6:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

THIS review is for the original "VINTAGE eyeshadow collection" Urban Decay Eyeshadow in "Midnight Cowgirl" (not to be confused with the newly reformulated one which is a totally different shade...YUCK, and NOT part of the Vintage collex line). Apparently UD is discontinuing the Vintage line -- it's no longer at my local Ulta.

I loved the Vintage collex Midnight Cowgirl. It was a pale yellow- gold shimmery shade. It was pretty neutral (not a warm orange-y gold or brassy gold). I loved this e/s. The shimmer was spectacular, but not chunky, and I had NO fallout what so ever. I used this as a browbone highlight over MAC Paints (BareCanvas). This e/s had a sheer color payoff, but was easily buildable. The sheerness made it a great product to use sparingly as a cheek highlight. It also made it wearable for day (unlike the chunky Midnight Cowboy glitterbomb). Ahhhh, Vintage Collex "Midnight Cowgirl", you were LOVED!
_____________________________________________

Now, as for the newly reformulated, NOT "Vintage Collection" Midnight Cowgirl (can't think of the new collex name..UGH. YUCK. This one
is a pale shimmery pink or pink champagne. This is a totally different tone, therefore, it's a totally different color alltogether. On my neutral olive skin (esp while tanned), this newer shade reads as a VERY frosty whitish shade. Can we say............70's revisited? :( Regardless of the brush I use, or the lightnes of stroke, this shade is horrific on me. The color payoff is way too heavy/opaque to use as a browbone shade, imho -- at least against my skintone. I paid $18 for this and just tossed it. BLECH

I wish UD would match the newer formulation to the ORIGINAL color of Midnight Cowgirl. It was GORGEOUS! i
*********************************************
NEW UPDATE on NEWEST "Midnight Cowgirl" formulation -- 5 STARS!
Ok, so I know I went on and on about how much I hated the new shade, but apparently UD has released a RE-formulated version, and I must say that I'm loving it!

No, it's not back to the original pale yellow gold of it's original day.
But, it's no longer a shimmery pink that looks frosty white against my olive skin, either!
This newest release has a bit of beige to ground the shimmery pink-champagne. It just looks amazing on my olive skin, whether I'm pale or whether I'm faux tanned. :)

The BEST part about this reformulation is that the application goes on buttery SMOOTH! It's AMAZING! There is no fallout whatsoever. And the shimmer is uber refined. Nothing chunky or glittery. :)

For the sheerest "glimmer" type of coverage, I use it on my brow bone without a primer. The result is ethereally sheer. I love it paired with a daytime smokey eye look.

For a bit more shimmer, I use it over an eyeshadow primer, but the result is still soft and glimmery -- just with a bit more coverage, but not chaulky or frosty at all!

Although the color looks more like a "nude pink beige shimmer" in the pot, on my olive skin it just looks like a "wet glimmery look" (no real "color" to speak of....just looks like my skin tone is glistening). When appliedc over a base, I can build the color to a soft iridescent pink/gold shimmer -- or a pink champagne. It's the best of both worlds! I LOVE this NEW-newer Midnight Cowgirl!

TIP:
Aside from using it as an eyeshadow, I love using Midnight Cowgirl (in the sheerer new-new reformulation) as a cheekbone highlight. I love it much more than any of my other beloved face highlight products (better than Anastasia of Bev Hills highlights, Laura Geller highlights, or Josie Maran's -- ALL great highlighters, but the UD Midnight Cowgirl is the most gorgeous of them all, imho!). I use a very feathery light fan brush to sheerly sweep a bit of Midnight Cowgirl on.

HUGELY GREAT improvement on this shade, UD!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2012 1:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Major fallout with this eye shadow. Doing your eyes first then your foundation does not help. This shadow falls down throughout the day. If you have sensitive eyes don't even think about this color, my eyes were watering for an hour after applying. It's a pretty color, but I won't use it again with these problems.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's such a beautiful shade, but my eyes are so sensitive to the glitter and the fallout is such a turnoff.


on 4/6/2012 3:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Like many, I have a love/hate relationship with the UD "Midnight" shadows: the color is gorgeous but the glitter is annoying. Midnight Cowgirl is no different. However, the shadow itself is great quality, excellent finish, and the color is extremely flattering; champagne with yellow undertones.

Glitter is an issue but not as bad as with Midnight Cowboy. I find that if I tap my brush before application I can remove the majority of the glitter. This is one of my new go-to highlighters.


on 12/27/2011 2:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Holy glitter fallout! I applied this very lightly and had tons of glitter all over my cheek. The shadow itself is a pretty good texture, but I found it too frosty looking rather than just shimmery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2011 10:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this urban decay eyeshadow! It is easy to put on and it can go with so many colors. I couldn't find a better one! I love it !!!


on 4/30/2011 3:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am on my second pot of this and I still love it. It is a beautiful light champagne gold shade with nice glitter(not to chunky, with little to no fallout). I find myself using this as a highlight and as a wash. It is the only eyeshadow that I have ever bought on its own, I love it so much more than the popular midnight cowboy. It is probably my favorite eyeshadow ever, definitely a holy grail product.




Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

143 reviews
image

Vice 2

44 reviews
image

Smog

183 reviews
image

Sin

331 reviews
Back to Top