Comptoir Sud Pacifique • Amour de Cacao • Fragrances

rated 3.5(249 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Shizuku2 on 6/27/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Shizuku2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Lovely fragrance, and I agree with other reviewers in that smells almost like Serendipitous (another fragrance I love). A chocolatey/vanilla fragrance with a hint of citrus. It smells like cookies/chocolate cake/baked goods on me, so if you like foody/gourmand fragrances, you'll probably like this one (as long as it works with your chemistry). It's not overpowering, which is good (some perfumes give me a headache). At first, you can smell the citrus, but then after the dry down the citrus fades into the background (can still smell it though) and you're left with the chocolate-vanilla scent. It has this slight smell of burnt sugar/caramel also which i absolutely love (this aspect reminds me of Pink Sugar). The only downside to this (and it's a pretty insignificant downside) is that i'm not a fan of the bottle, as mine tends to leak a little every time i spritz it (that may just be my bottle), and it's hard to see how much perfume you have left (unless you hold it up to a light, then you can see). One of the best aspects is that it has great staying power (on me at least), once i wore it all day and even showered and could still smell it, or i can put it on during one day, go to bed and wake up and still smell it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 5/28/2013 12:31:00 PM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm not a fan of Comptoir Sud Pacifique's packaging. I think the metal bottles are actually quite ugly, and I've had issues with them leaking when I've purchased full sizes. I'll never purchase a full size of Amour de Cacao, though, as the sample is disappointing enough. The scent is sooo weak, only lasting about five minutes on my skin. Seriously, five minutes tops. I get a faint whiff of weak cocoa and something like wafers. It reminds me of Milano cookies with the chocolate in the middle, but very weak and watered down. And then it's gone. Cocoa, vanilla, orange and starfruit sounds like it would be amazing, but this is just a whiff of weak chocolate wafer and then nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 splattergirl on 2/22/2013 12:30:00 AM more reviews by splattergirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

got this second hand halfway used because I was tempted by cocoa and I wouldn't buy it new for more because I never tried it in person.
I like that the scent lingers for a long time and there IS cocoa in it definately but it is SO SWEET that its almost nauseating.
like hot cocoa with 5 spoons of sugar. I never put sugar in my cocoa.
I am glad I paid only $10 for it because it will be up for grabs again. I just can't stomach all the sweetness, maybe for someone under 25 but not for me.
giving it 3 only for lasting power and because I can smell it on myself which isn't often the case, in fact I'd give it around 2.8 if that was possible, I also like the industrial packaging.
scent alone would be less than 2/5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anda on 11/13/2012 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Anda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This should probably be named Vanille Cacao instead of Amour de Cacao. Definitely one I recommend for the hardcore vanilla-fragrance fan more than the hardcore chocolate fan. Many reviewers describe it as "cocoa puffs" and "hot chocolate", because the vanilla is too dominant for this scent to smell like the chocolate truffle scent I wanted. That said, it's a very good, buttery-rich, natural vanilla, with acceptable longevity. (Hence the 4-rating.) Most other vanilla scents smell like cheap synthetics beside CSP's.

Amour de Cacao opens in an explosive, warm cloud of hot-chocolate laced with a little orange zest, but this glorious start disappears quickly. I personally feel it could be better balanced, with the orange and cocoa amped up slightly so they're not drowned out by the vanilla, but I can get around that by adding just a touch of bitter cocoa absolute to it. Definitely a simple, sweet, comfort scent but not something I wear often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 6/13/2012 11:57:00 AM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a huge sucker for gourmand fragrances, and this one is great!


This to me, is a beautiful creamy, custardy type chocolate scent. I don't get coco puffs, or any fake kind of chocolate, but more so a chocolatey vanilla.


I wouldn't wear this on its own, I feel like it needs to be combined/layered with something else. Something floral or citrusy... call me crazy but for a while, my signature scent was Victorias Secret Beauty Rush Appletini, layered with Beauty Rush Vanilla, layered with Victoria Secret So in Love Body Spray. It was a crazy combination but it worked so well for me. I feel like I will be keeping Amour de Cacao around just for that added sweetness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iamcasihart on 12/11/2011 11:53:00 AM more reviews by iamcasihart

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This perfume is delicious! The opening smells like the chocolate outside of an Oreo cookie. Within a few minutes, it begins to dry down a bit and at that point, it smells more like the whole Oreo, with the creamy white middle. Truly, it smells as though I have taken the outside of a few Oreo cookies, crumbled them up and rubbed it on my skin. Amour De Cacao is really so simple and honest. Three parts dry, dark chocolate. Two parts milky vanilla. There is the tiniest whisper of something a wee-bit peppery. Is this the Carambola, (Star Fruit)?

This perfume is exactly what it claims to be- Love of Chocolate. It isn't challenging or complicated, but it is fun, wearable and interesting! And for something so seemingly sweet and foody, Amour De Cacao is not at all cloying, syrupy, heavy or juvenile. I enjoy many of CSP's perfumes and also find that they are versatile. They wear well alone or layered. For a richer, even sweeter treat, I have layered Amour with Vanille Coco or Vanille Extreme. To add some warmth and sweetness to Aloha Tiare, I have layered with this or Vanille Coco. The latter works especially well with Aloha, in keeping with the "beachy/floral/tropical" vibe.

Amour De Cacao is pleasant, complimentary and good for my mood. No doubt, it has satisfied more than a few urgent cravings for chocolate.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 albinaalba on 6/26/2010 7:55:00 AM more reviews by albinaalba

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love vanilla-chocolate scent, actially I love anything "edible" on my skin. I bought this from an approved retailer and still think I've been cheated. It has asolutely no lasting power, 30 seconds at most, and while the scent was on its way from bottle to skin, I could smell something similar to a stale cocoa diet cracker. After this..nothing. I had to quickly spray myself with Montale Chocolate greedy to realign self:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bunnikins on 5/22/2010 1:26:00 PM more reviews by bunnikins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

What a waste of money?! The bottle was leaking though the packaging was new. And there is no staying power! Literally! Half an hour and the smell is gone! Just true disappointment! And lets not mention the price you pay for that metal tin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenniStarBrite on 10/27/2009 3:11:00 PM more reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cuckoo for Coco Puffs! LOL for once I completely concur with the other reviewers.

Pros: ..
- A foody gourmand heavier on the chocolate than some fragrances. Very comforting also because it does smell liek cocoa puffs and chocolately breakfast pastries.
- Pretty long lasting on my skin though not as wella s some of the other CSP's. Much better lasting than my true chocolate favorite, Serendiptious.
- Stays true to its own scent.

Cons:
- PRICE! like all the CSP's VERY expensive unless you buy it online. Iwas fortunate enough to trade for it.
- Very linear. Most of the CSP's are pretty basic and true to the scent they are emulating, but this one more than most. Never changes and though I like it, kinda boring to smell like milk soaked chocolate puffs all day. I'd prefer more depth to it.
-Packaging annoys me as usual-impossible to tell how much is left in the can. But its sturdy.

Overall I like it but dont LOVE it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmmarti3 on 10/26/2009 10:28:00 PM more reviews by cmmarti3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Mmmmmmm Amour de Cacao! I was going to write that this smells like Cocoa Puffs in milk before reading the other reviews. Well, I read them and I concur! But it's wonderful...just wonderful for a gourmand lover. This is not heavy or dark chocolate, it's not rich. It's light and airy with vanilla. It is gorgeous. I wore it today for the first time and receive instant compliments. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Comptoir Sud Pacifique products

More Fragrances products