Merle Norman • Luxiva Flawless Effect Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rav2b on 7/15/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by rav2b

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I am simply thrilled at how well this works! I'd been using various translucent loose powders, including BE, NYX and the much hailed Coty AirSpun (which didn't work well at all for me). Mostly they tended to look cakey, even with the lightest of applications, and they usually felt like they were sucking every bit of moisture out of my skin, regardless of the moisturizer or foundation.

Recently I've rediscovered Merle Norman's Powder Base, which looks the the most old-fashioned, low-tech foundation you can imagine--but looks lovely on, wears practically forever (regularly 15 hours for me) when dusted with powder (maybe that's why they call it Powder Base ). Even better, My skin looks smoother even when the makeup comes off!

I didn't mean this to be another review of Powder Base, but they just go so well together! The powder does work nicely with other foundations also. I use Urban Decay's blurring brush and the slightest dusting of powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Taraelizabeth6 on 1/24/2013 9:17:00 PM more reviews by Taraelizabeth6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros
- perfect color match
- smooths imperfections

Cons
- $25
- cakey in photos
- many clogged pores

I had to discontinue my use of this product after breaking out. Also, after looking at my skin in photos I realized it makes my pores look awful. So sad since it was $25.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* psmitty on 10/3/2011 8:11:00 PM more reviews by psmitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Thanks, MUA, this is hands-down the best pressed powder I've used. It blurs pores, controls oil amazingly well and doesn't break me out. Way better than Dior, Estee Lauder, Maybelline, MAC and even my old standby Cover Fx. I have the oil-control version. I use it with their powder foundation and I don't blot all day. Usually I blot every 1-2 hours. Big fan! Worth the cost, will stock up when I can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettyinpink88 on 11/18/2010 3:32:00 PM more reviews by prettyinpink88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great powder. Does just what it says. Very finely milled which I love. I apply it with the pouf or sometimes a powder brush, depends on the type of finish I am going for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlylocks on 9/24/2010 9:09:00 AM more reviews by curlylocks

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This powder makes me continue to love Merle Norman, particularly for foundation. I had the loose version of this and wasn't overly excited by it necessarily, but something led me to trying the compact and I am only on my 2nd one, but know there will be more. I usually use it over the MN Lasting Foundation or EL Double Wear, but on lazy days I use it alone and it's just perfect. Gives a nice finish without looking cakey or powdery. Although I LOVE to look for *even better* things, I realize that my research only leads me to finding lesser products for more money. Again, why should I ever stray from MN?!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breezyboo on 2/13/2010 4:20:00 PM more reviews by breezyboo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in the "Oil-Control" version, as my skin is quite oily. I think at my store I payed $24 for this, but IMO it is well worth it. This is by far the best powder I've used. I think now, the only shade they sell is translucent. It's so finely milled that it just blends flawlessly in with my foundation, which is the ever-shimmery Revlon Photready. :) It doesn't make my face extremely matte, but it does control oil significantly for a few hours and just sets the foundation beautifully. I've had it for about 4 months and use it daily, and I've barely made a dent in the freaking huge compact! And trust me when I say I apply this powder GENEROUSLY.

The only other powder I've used like this is Maybelline's Dream Matte Pressed Powder, which is very good also, but I feel like this one gave me more of a polished finish and way more shine control. This is just more expensive. I would gladly recommend either, but if you see this one at a Merle Norman outlet or something, I'd strongly recommend it. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jules211 on 12/6/2009 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Jules211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have to join in on the raves for this one... it is one of the reasons I recently became "sold" on the Merle Norman product line. I was using mineral makeup for years and found that by the end of the day it was just not looking too fresh and oxidizing quite a bit, so I decided to switch it up and go for a tinted moisturizer (Sonia Kashuk) and this powder on top to set it. Perfect combo... this powder is amazing! It is so light but yet you can tell what it is doing for you... airbrushed is a good word for it. I have it in almost tan. I would definitely purchase this again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* minxgirl on 9/19/2009 6:20:00 PM more reviews by minxgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I've been a Merle girl for 11 years now, and while I 'stray' from time to time, I always go back to Merle; this fabulous powder is one of the many reasons why. I just received this pressed powder in a GWP (shade is 'Barely There') and it is absolutely perfect over my Bobbi Brown 'Skin' foundation. It sets my makeup and gives me an 'airbrushed' appearance and cuts down shine in the t-zone. It just makes me skin *flawless*, not chalky and washed-out, like most other powders seem to do. No irritation or breakouts either. I am definitely stopping by local Merle studio and picking up the full size of this powder. Great stuff! FYI: There is an oil-control version of this powder that just came out recently.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Svetlana7311 on 5/5/2009 4:08:00 AM more reviews by Svetlana7311

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

update: I went through 15+ compacts, there is no powder better than this one, I stopped searching. I tried chanel, lancome, absolutely ALL drugstore brands, some department brands, mineral makeup in the past, nothing compares...
Original Review: I have large easily clogged pores, this is the best powder I tried so far, I didn't like it at first, I thought no coverage, but you won't need any if you stick with it, it took me one-two weeks to clear up and get used to it, but later - less congested pores, no breakouts, no spots, and nothing to cover. I run out, no MN studio here, can not order online, and I can already see the difference, getting blackheads, breakouts again, have to spend way more time to conceal everything, despite of using retin a, bha, or aha, and the skin doesn't look flawless, smooth and natural with other powders as it did with this one. It gives nice smooth polished look, it does not oxidize, it's not chalky. It's sheer and it looks so natural, like you have nothing on your skin, but it's not translucent like some other worthless powders, you can put multiple layers of that stuff and when you're done you wonder what the heck?!?! there is absolutely nothing on your face, all spots and zits stand out and it looks like you didn't powder anything at all, well while Merle is translucent it still provides great coverage without being chalky (I do use artdeco camouflage cream to hide spots, btw the BEST EVER concealer for blemishes and dark circles), it goes on light, it takes out shine instantly (I have regular version, and it works great, haven't tried oil control one yet), skin looks smooth and beautiful, it hides pores and fine lines, evens out skin tone, love it, don't need any primer, it looks great on it's own, I can rave about it endlessly. I also have loose version, it's not the same, I didn't like it as much as pressed one. I would like to try chanel universelle powder only because merle is hard to find, but if I don't like it I will continue using Merle Flawless Effect pressed powder, guess I will have to stock up when I can (tried chanel, horrible!!). I wish they had online store... I have fair/light skin and I can use three shades: translucent, nearly nude and barely there, all 3 work great for me. PS. While it's true that you can not order MN product online, you can order them via phone or email, if you call/email MN studio, they will ship the product to you free or cheap first class rate.
ingredients: talc, synthetic fluorphlogopite, nylon 12, dimethicone, silica, iron oxides, trimethylsiloxysilicate, lauroyl lysine, tit dioxide, glycerin, panax ginseng root extract, gynostemma pentaphyllum leaf extract, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, water, acrylates/dimethicone copolymer, acrylates copolymer, alumina, phenoxyethanol, imidazolidinyl urea, bht 112905

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flcndvsx on 12/30/2008 3:52:00 PM more reviews by flcndvsx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only foundation that doesn't cause irritation and redness for me. My aunt gave me a tiny sample compact about a year ago, and I just recently ran low and went and bought a new compact. I have it in barely there. Sadly, I think that color is discontinued?
It's amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Merle Norman products

More Pressed Powders products