Carol's Daughter • Rosemary Mint Shampoo with Sea Moss • Shampoo

rated 2.9(31 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Annisty on 1/24/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Annisty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually quite like this shampoo. I bought it because I was looking for more natural hair products. It does clarify my hair and removed buildup, leaving my hair squeaky clean. I believe you're only supposed to use it a few times a week, but since I shower everyday I just use it everyday. It has a nice smell. You mostly only smell mint though. Whilst washing your hair, the mint gives a tingling feeling on your scalp. In my opinion, it's not uncomfortable, it just makes your scalp feel cleaner. Also, it doesn't lather up as much as a normal shampoo. My only problem with it is that it's a bit expensive, and I use up the bottle pretty fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smashlers on 11/18/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by smashlers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this shampoo from Sephora online after I've tried tons of pro hair products, and lots of other natural hair products as well. My hair is very oily. I have to wash it everyday and it is still oily by 5pm on a normal day.
This shampoo is very thick and hard to spread through your hair because of the texture and the thick plastic bottle, although it does lather fairly well for a sulfate free shampoo. I like that it rinses out of my hair with no residue left behind so it feels very clean afterwards.
I didn't buy the conditioner to go with this; I use LUSH Veganese conditioner because I find it doesn't weigh my hair down and I just switch up my shampoo with it. I switch between this and my purple shampoo for my blonde hair and so far I like how clarifying this shampoo is! I don't like the smell, however these ingredients are known to be good for oily hair/scalp and for clarifying so that's what you have to deal with to get clean hair when you have oily hair. I will repurchase unless I find something else that I prefer, because I don't think the small bottle will last very long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/29/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Someone gave me an almost full bottle of this so that's indicator #1. I did not like this shampoo. I just felt it really didn't do anything and after a few washes I couldn't help move back to my other SF shampoos I was trying out. It's a shame too, since I sampled the Vanilla Shampoo from Carol's Daughter and that was amazing, but pricey. I ended up buying 2 SF shampoos from Sally's before I got this and have been using those instead. This is going to be passed on to whoever wants it. Oh and I don't love the smell either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xmegannn on 8/20/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by xmegannn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first clarifying shampoo and I'm not disappointed. For a sulfate free shampoo, it lathers well and I like the rosemary scent, though the scent does not linger for long. I use this once or twice a week and I follow with the Carol's Daughter Monoi Hair repair mask. I LOVE THE RESULTS. My hair is silky, shiny, super smooth and soft, looks and feels incredibly healthy.

Overall, it does a good job cleaning the build-up in my hair and does not weigh it down. Good shampoo for the price (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* definesinister on 5/19/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by definesinister

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The trick is to not use to this shampoo too often! It makes my dry ends more dry if I use it too often. I really do like using this in conjunction with the Monoi hair mask repair. Once I blow dry, I get pretty much bouncy and shiny hair. I use other shampoos during the rest of the week, and I use this shampoo to remove build up. I also try not to wash my hair every day so I do get quite a bit of build up on my hair. This shampoo never stung my eyes considering it has rosemary and mint as the ingredients! The texture is a bit different from most shampoos, but it lathers decently. A lot of people claim these products are meant for AA hair types, but a lot of people on MUA that use these products are not! I actually have asian fine-medium hair that had dry ends (due to a horrible bleaching mistake 8 months ago). I also use protein treatments every once in a while to thicken my hair. I did put that I would rebuy again, but if there is another product on the market more suitable for and more affordable, I would purchase the other product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lmad5989 on 3/22/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by lmad5989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved the scent of this shampoo! It was amazing and always made my hair smell so clean! My only issue with it was it didn't lather. If this doesn't bother you, by all means the scent is great. I felt like no matter how much I put in my hair, it never did get foamy. For the cost, I feel like Biolage is a much better product for around the same price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sh99x on 2/4/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by sh99x

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tried a sample of the Monoi shampoo and liked it, so thought I would try this and bought an entire bottle. It turned my medium fine, medium length, highlighted hair into a curtain of lard. Very conditioning, yet I still had a little frizz on top. I had to immediately put my "clean" hair into a pony tail, otherwise it hung like slices of limp bacon around my face. I may still use it as an occasional deep conditioner, but no way I could use this on a regular basis.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 funnygirlup on 11/11/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this for my daughter who has extremely curly hair. She has very tight, dry hair.
I bought this (luckily at Winners) but would have been less than happy had I paid full price. I personally thought the scent was herbally and pleasant but after the first wash my little one would whine everytime she saw the bottle because 'It stinks soooo bad mommy!'. Her grandmother said the same thing, 'What did you put in her hair?! It smells terrible!'. Needless to say, I quit using it on her and thought I'd take a chance and try it. I have very pin-straight oily hair and OMG, using this was like coating my hair in oil-which I can't blame the product for as my hair is not the demographic it's created for.
I did find on my daughter's hair that it did coat it nicely, lessening the frizz but everyone found the smell distracting and gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trickmaus on 6/22/2011 3:38:00 AM more reviews by trickmaus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I randomly decided on this (along with the conditioner) as a sample with my sephora order, and it sat in my bathroom drawer for a month before I finally tested it out on a whim.

OH MY GOD. It's the most amazing shampoo (and conditioner) that I've ever used! NOTHING has ever made my hair feel this amazing. My hair is usually a little greasy, so I often have to wash it every day or else it looks gross...but after I used this shampoo, I went days without having to wash it. My hair continued to be ridiculously soft, shiny and bouncy - more than it ever is even the day of a wash with my previous shampoo.

The only downside of it is the price - but fortunately, since I can go for longer between washes when using it, it should (hopefully) last me a while.

EDIT: After using the shampoo a bit more, I knocked off a star. Firstly, the packaging is really annoying...the bottles are really small, and the plastic is really thick - so you don't get very much product at all.

Secondly, after using it about once a week or so, my hair started getting used to it and greasing up more, making washing it more often necessary.

Third, the customer service (I ordered directly from the site) was not very good - I ordered it a month before I had to move, thinking it would have enough time to get there. A few days before I leave the state, it's still not there and I have received no confirmation of shipment, so, thinking they had not sent it yet, I email them informing them of my situation and asking politely if there is any way I can cancel the order, since it hadn't been shipped. They told me there was nothing they could do. The shampoo and conditioner arrived two days later, so they had shipped them about a week before - but I was not made aware of this until the same day, I get a confirmation email about the shipment. Customer service did not inform me that the package had been shipped, despite me asking if they had, they simply brushed me off.

Finally, the cost that I paid to get these tiny bottles was ridiculously high. The shampoo IS a good product, don't doubt it, but be prepared to spend a lot of money on it. As for me, I'll be looking for something less pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrosen3030 on 6/7/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by mrosen3030

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not the usual demographic for Carol's Daughter. I have fine, thin blond hair that breaks easily. I received this shampoo ~ as well as the conditioner ~ as a sample with a Sephora order.

After using both the shampoo and conditioner, I was able to easily comb through my hair when it was wet. That has never happened before; it is usually a rat's nest and I have to work at it...and it ends up breaking as a result. It was extremely easy to style and was super shiny. I was blown away.

It turned out that the Rosemary Mint conditioner is harder to find than I thought it was going to be .. as it is not sold at Sephora anymore. I found it at Dillard's, finally. I have been using both the Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner for about 3-4 weeks now and my hair has never looked nicer. I had been thinking about cutting it all off because it just looked like garbage. I think I'll hold off on that plan for a little longer! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carol's Daughter products

More Shampoo products