NARS • Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Sex Machine • Lipstick

rated 4.3(71 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 PeonyRed on 8/25/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by PeonyRed

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this color. It's a very interesting shade, and hard to describe. I would say it's primarily a pink, with brown, mauve, and even purple tones in it. On close inspection it also has some very fine glitter in it, but nothing too gritty or noticeable really. It is a very wearable, mature shade, and quite matte, which means it will stay on for a decent time. It reminds me of Kylie Jenner's 90s lips, only less brown.
The formula is dry, but while applying it is creamy and smooth. After a couple hours I do use a balm over it, but it's nothing too terrible, and I have dry lips. The fact that you need to sharpen this product is the only thing that bugs me, as you lose a lot of product that way and it is another cost to consider, on top of the 25 USD..

It is on the expensive side, as well as slightly drying. However, the unique color and longevity make up for this and, in my eyes, this lip pencil is still worth checking out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 5/22/2014 7:36:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had a SA recommend this to me as a great daily lippie. At first I thought, no...to brown toned. Then I tried it and it was a lovely MLBB dusty rose plum type shade but surprisingly looking pinker toned under the cosmetic counter lighting of Nordies, kind of like MAC Plumful in this lighting. I even checked this out in the mirror of a passing store and was surprised how the color seemed brighter than I expected. Then, I got in the car...in broad daylight...and it was like scary scene from a horror movie. I froze for a second as I noticed that my lips literally looked like a raisen now. Lines I didn't even know were there were visible. It was like this lip product was sucking all moisture from my lips as the minutes went on. Also now in broad daylight, it looked much more brown toned. When I got home and did a closer analysis, I quickly realized this lipstick is just sitting there. It is doing nothing for me. I was doing all the work to make this texture and color work. So on me the color was "eh", but a great MLBB color for many. The texture...I wanted matte, not spongelike dry suck. This was supposed to be a quick easy lippie, and it was far from that for me. I love the concept but it just didn't work for me. (I am NW20 (with a tendency to pull orange brown out in shades), brown eyes, almost black hair, mauvey lips, deep winter.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 5/21/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't like the formula at first since it feels very drying on its own. But with a light lip balm underneath it's much more comfortable to wear, though it doesn't wear as long as it does on bare lips. On my very pale skin it's a medium, rosy cool-pink that's really pretty and a bit sophisticated due to the matte finish. When I apply it directly it's very opaque and covers my fairly pigmented lips easily, but I tend to dab it on with my fingers since I prefer a softer effect with this color. The wear length depends on how I use it, and because it really only feels nice with the balm underneath I get a couple hours before I have to reapply. Otherwise this really goes the distance.

A few issues I have with this is the poorly fitting cap, which doesn't seal correctly and tends to pop off at random times, especially if it's tossed into my purse. I have Dragon Girl and that also has cap problems, which drives me a little crazy. So these aren't ideal for me to carry anywhere. Also, sharpening it involves a lot of waste. I've put it in the freezer for a bit to make it easier to sharpen but that causes crumbling sometimes. So the convenience of the pencil form isn't as simple as I'd like.

I'm on the fence as to whether I'd repurchase but it's a lovely color and I do like it. So for now I'm going with yes, I'd buy it if I ran out. I don't think I'll be interested in exploring other colors though apart from the two I already own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bunniesandkitties on 12/17/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by bunniesandkitties

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this colour! Perfect and versatile, sweet blushing pink for my NC 25/30 skin. Used it on my wedding day and it stayed on pretty much the whole time. On my 3rd pencil now :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 12/11/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mauvy/rose colour takes my pigmented lips to the next level. It is a matte texture which makes this look even more naturally enticing however I prefer a clear balm underneath it since it seems to accent lines. Sometimes I do Bobbi Brown's white lip gloss over it and it stays a reasonable time. I have a mixed assessment about the package because it is convenient but awkward to sharpen and a lot of the product gets wasted. The name is very inspiring!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ComaGray on 11/27/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by ComaGray

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I don't often wear light colors on my lips. I'm more of a red or deep wine girl, but I really like this color for my less "dramatic" days. It seems to last all day. My only complaint is it's difficult to find a sharpener to fit it. The NARS sharpener is too small.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Superbeckyy on 10/16/2013 7:12:00 AM more reviews by Superbeckyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was gifted this from my mum since she didn't use it much - I was a bit shocked that my very conservative mother bought a lip colour called 'Sex Machine' (gasp!) but I'm thrilled she let me have this otherwise very expensive product!

Similar to the chubby pencil lip colours at the moment, this is in an easy-to-apply chunky pen form and features a lid so you can throw this in your handbag and not worry about leakage or mess. When used, the product 'melts' from the soft pencil on contact with skin so it applies ultra-smooth yet still wonderfully matte and not the least bit drying. With my NW20 skin and very pink-red pigmented lips, this is a gorgeous dusty rose with a touch of plum colouring - not a shade I'd pick off the shelf in a store, but it's incredibly flattering with my colouring and ideal for the cooler winter months when I move away from the coral lipsticks and prefer an everyday, neutral lip for school.

The lasting power is excellent - it wears for at least a couple of hours (maybe more if you're not eating or drinking) but I do need to touch up or reapply after meals. The only annoyance: yes, this does need to be sharpened with an extra-large sharpener every few uses. I picked a dual one up from Space NK which has been ideal - they are comparitively inexpensive and can be found in most specialist beauty stores for a small price.

I had been ignoring this product for a few months, but I'm thrilled to have rediscovered it just in time for the impending winter months - I'll be sure to get plenty of use out of this and will no doubt repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 powerderprincess on 9/8/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by powerderprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am obsessed with this MLBB shade. The staying power is excellent too. However, I hate having to sharpen this pencil and the quantity it comes with isn't that much to sharpen it all away. I'm also done with mine and I haven't even had it that long. Hello Nars, please change this to a twist up.
Dupe alert: MUFE matte #5 is very close to this, but it's so matte you need to put it over a lip balm. I still prefer the Nars, but it's nice to have something that is a close second in retractable packaging

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 6/12/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this color thinking it's kind of a my-lips-but-better color, but its so much more than that. I love the mauve tones in it which make the pink-rosey color a little more edgy. I can wear this color for all occasions and it'll look great (more natural or more vamped up). I love that its easy to carry around and applies easily since its a pencil but I also hate this aspect of it. It is the same price as a Nars lipstick but comparatively there is less product and you have to keep sharpening it! So not only is the sharpening part a hassle, but you are sharpening away product EVERY TIME!! I guess I wasn't using a very good sharpener at first because it broke off the tip a few times and I basically wasted a good amount of the pencil. I went and bought a Nars sharpener so I could finally sharpen it without it breaking. It makes me sad every time I see some of the product going into the garbage when I sharpen but it is what it is. If they made this color in lipstick form I would be ecstatic! This pencil glides on easily and smoothly but its not very moisturizing. So basically, I love the color, ok texture but hate the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 5/29/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love wearing this with super dark eyes. I have a hard time finding lighter lip colors that don't completely wash me out, and this is one of my favorites. It's smooth, non drying, and looks soft and feminine while still making my lips stand out and perking up my pale complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products