NARS • Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Sex Machine • Lipstick

rated 4.4(68 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bunniesandkitties on 12/17/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by bunniesandkitties

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this colour! Perfect and versatile, sweet blushing pink for my NC 25/30 skin. Used it on my wedding day and it stayed on pretty much the whole time. On my 3rd pencil now :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 12/11/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mauvy/rose colour takes my pigmented lips to the next level. It is a matte texture which makes this look even more naturally enticing however I prefer a clear balm underneath it since it seems to accent lines. Sometimes I do Bobbi Brown's white lip gloss over it and it stays a reasonable time. I have a mixed assessment about the package because it is convenient but awkward to sharpen and a lot of the product gets wasted. The name is very inspiring!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ComaGray on 11/27/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by ComaGray

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I don't often wear light colors on my lips. I'm more of a red or deep wine girl, but I really like this color for my less "dramatic" days. It seems to last all day. My only complaint is it's difficult to find a sharpener to fit it. The NARS sharpener is too small.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Superbeckyy on 10/16/2013 7:12:00 AM more reviews by Superbeckyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was gifted this from my mum since she didn't use it much - I was a bit shocked that my very conservative mother bought a lip colour called 'Sex Machine' (gasp!) but I'm thrilled she let me have this otherwise very expensive product!

Similar to the chubby pencil lip colours at the moment, this is in an easy-to-apply chunky pen form and features a lid so you can throw this in your handbag and not worry about leakage or mess. When used, the product 'melts' from the soft pencil on contact with skin so it applies ultra-smooth yet still wonderfully matte and not the least bit drying. With my NW20 skin and very pink-red pigmented lips, this is a gorgeous dusty rose with a touch of plum colouring - not a shade I'd pick off the shelf in a store, but it's incredibly flattering with my colouring and ideal for the cooler winter months when I move away from the coral lipsticks and prefer an everyday, neutral lip for school.

The lasting power is excellent - it wears for at least a couple of hours (maybe more if you're not eating or drinking) but I do need to touch up or reapply after meals. The only annoyance: yes, this does need to be sharpened with an extra-large sharpener every few uses. I picked a dual one up from Space NK which has been ideal - they are comparitively inexpensive and can be found in most specialist beauty stores for a small price.

I had been ignoring this product for a few months, but I'm thrilled to have rediscovered it just in time for the impending winter months - I'll be sure to get plenty of use out of this and will no doubt repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 powerderprincess on 9/8/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by powerderprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am obsessed with this MLBB shade. The staying power is excellent too. However, I hate having to sharpen this pencil and the quantity it comes with isn't that much to sharpen it all away. I'm also done with mine and I haven't even had it that long. Hello Nars, please change this to a twist up.
Dupe alert: MUFE matte #5 is very close to this, but it's so matte you need to put it over a lip balm. I still prefer the Nars, but it's nice to have something that is a close second in retractable packaging

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 6/12/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this color thinking it's kind of a my-lips-but-better color, but its so much more than that. I love the mauve tones in it which make the pink-rosey color a little more edgy. I can wear this color for all occasions and it'll look great (more natural or more vamped up). I love that its easy to carry around and applies easily since its a pencil but I also hate this aspect of it. It is the same price as a Nars lipstick but comparatively there is less product and you have to keep sharpening it! So not only is the sharpening part a hassle, but you are sharpening away product EVERY TIME!! I guess I wasn't using a very good sharpener at first because it broke off the tip a few times and I basically wasted a good amount of the pencil. I went and bought a Nars sharpener so I could finally sharpen it without it breaking. It makes me sad every time I see some of the product going into the garbage when I sharpen but it is what it is. If they made this color in lipstick form I would be ecstatic! This pencil glides on easily and smoothly but its not very moisturizing. So basically, I love the color, ok texture but hate the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 5/29/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love wearing this with super dark eyes. I have a hard time finding lighter lip colors that don't completely wash me out, and this is one of my favorites. It's smooth, non drying, and looks soft and feminine while still making my lips stand out and perking up my pale complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeautyRage on 5/11/2013 4:25:00 AM more reviews by BeautyRage

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love how subtle this colour looks on my NC 40/ NC 42 skin! I just wished i didn't had to sharp it all the time although that's my only complaint. This lip pencil glides on smoothly on my lips and gives my lips a beautiful matt finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cdias16 on 5/3/2013 8:08:00 AM more reviews by cdias16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my daily lipstick. Its so neutral on my NC42 Skin with a touch of pink.

My lips are extremely pigmented to begin with and I've always had problems finding a lipstick/lipgloss that works. This one is amazing. I dont even need to use my 'MAC's stripdown Lip pencil" first - its that pigmented

Only issue is that you have to buy a special Nar's sharpener if you wanted a precise tip.but its not crazy expensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glorynails on 2/6/2013 11:28:00 PM more reviews by glorynails

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love this product, I only wish it was little moisturizing. Love this shade so much, perfect everyday pink. I am on my 2nd pencil now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products