Christian Dior • 5 Couleur Eyeshadow - Stylish Move 970 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 surrealreality on 5/15/2013 4:04:00 AM more reviews by surrealreality

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

About Me: Fair with warm yellow undertones (about an NC18 right now, only quite a bit more yellow toned). Hazel eyes that look blue in daylight. Natural brunette currently dyed aubergine purple with a lot of deep red and copper highlights.

Used for Review: UDPP & MAC's 239, 224, 228, 219.

Upper Left Hand Corner: Really gorgeous mauve-y taupe. Slightly shimmery with tiny gold and pink sparkles. The texture is thin and kinda hard though (as in... you don't get much on your brush or finger with one swipe). It's also not very pigmented. You really gotta pack it on to get the color you see in the palette. The closest e/s in my collection is Urban Decay's Bordello which is a little lighter, slightly more purple/less taupe, quite a bit more shimmery / reflective, and has much better texture/pigmentation.

Upper Right Hand Corner: The idiot of the bunch. Every palette has gotta have one I suppose. It's a pale pink with white shimmer. The pigmentation of this shadow is very poor and the color isn't true to what you see in the palette. It swatches as a sheer frosty white. Very boring.

Lower Right Hand Corner: Medium Mauve with very slight shimmer. It shows up as more of a satin finish on the eyelid. Pretty color, but again the texture is thin and kinda hard (though not quite as bad as the color on the upper left) and the pigmentation isn't very good. It takes two to three swatches layered (on arm) to get totally opaque color. The closest match I have in my stash is TheBalm Curvy Cami. It's a bit darker, has more shimmer and a little sparkle, and has much better texture/pigmentation.

Lower Left Hand Corner: Extremely deep purple with a very slight reddish hue. Looks a little shimmery in the palette, but swatches with only a very slight sheen. Looks matte on eyes. Again, thin, a little hard, and under pigmented. I don't have many dark purples to compare this too. The closest I have is Urban Decay's Rockstar... which isn't quite as dark, has absolutely no red, is far more shimmery/reflective, and has much better texture/pigmentation.

Center: This shade is the reason I've kept this palette so long. I know it's just a highlighter, but there's something special about it. It's a shimmery light cream that leans slightly gold with a pink sheen/duochrome and tiny multicolor sparkles. A little softer and easier to apply than the other shades. I don't have anything in my stash that is at all similar.

Once I get enough color build up on my eyelids (minus the pink shade which I never use), this quint does look very nice. It's office appropriate while still lending a little color.

Bottom Line: I LOVE the center highlighting shade. The pink shade sucks, and the other 3 are pretty but don't have the best texture or pigmentation. All in all, I won't repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lydiaxaidyl on 12/26/2012 4:14:00 AM more reviews by lydiaxaidyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this to my mother as I don't wear much eye makeup. Luckily my aunt gifted this to me so I didn't have to spend the $40+. Texture is very smooth and has good wearing time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Marianthoula on 4/15/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Marianthoula

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It pains me to rate it so low, but I have tried time and again to make this work and I have finally given up.

The good stuff:
Very soft, beautiful colours. They work together for a sweet violet look, or individualy. The staying power I cannot comment as I always use them over TFSI. Odourless and quite a lot of product. Good descriptions on previous reviews.

The bad stuff:
Almost invisible. I did my homework and studied the reviews and knew perfectly well I was going to buy a "low pigmented" pallet. But I was surprised! It is worse than I expected. The upper right (pink) is almost invisible, the upper left too, the lower right not much better and you cannot tell it from the upper left. The white in the middle is a nothing-special highlighter. The only colour that actually stands out is the dark mauve on the bottom left.
I use all 5 colours on my eyes and I seem to get a somewhat gradient mauve, from pale pink to darker mauve but honestly, this is nothing that requires 5 different e/s. Just 2 and a blending brush (if at all).
Also I seem to get a lot of glitter fallout during application. I do not load the brush (either MAC 249 or 239) and I pat them on my eyelid, but still it's like using TF Glamazon! I am not sure which colour it is and I am afraid all 5 contribute, although the lid colour I get is not sparkly.

All in all, I am not very happy with my purchase. Very expensive for the result, and varying quality of individual shades. I will keep using it but not buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ari496 on 9/6/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by ari496

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

its def on the expensive side, as far as eyeshadow goes. but for 5 amazing eyehadows, its worth it. these colors look gorgeous on my pale skin with my blue eyes. i like to mix the pink gray and middle color, or the light purple dark purple and middle color. i can create such a beautiful look with these 5 eyeshadows. the compact is so adorable. i got a free smaple size and i'll def repurchase the full size when im done with these glam shades.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Physeter on 8/6/2011 12:21:00 AM more reviews by Physeter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really like this palette. Christian Dior makes such wonderful eye shadows, that blend so easily together. These shadows have such a lovely sheen. I use the centre ice pink as a base, the right corner pink as an inner eye and brow highlighter. Then I use either or both of the mauve shades on the outer half of the eye, and the deep plum in the shadow, blending it all together. It gives a lovely day time look, which can be enhanced for night time by using more of the deep plum.

I bought this palette from Strawberry Net, and one shade shattered in transport. They, very generously, replace it for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MagnoliaBlossom on 6/20/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by MagnoliaBlossom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I finally bought this palette because I had a giftcard for sephora, otherwise it is hard to spend nearly $60 for eyeshadow. I used to wear this at work when I worked for the CD counter. It's great on many different complexions and you cannot beat Dior's pigments. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pensopera on 5/24/2011 8:38:00 PM more reviews by pensopera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Dior Stylish Move eyeshadow quad ($58 USA) has a different variation shades of a soft purple. It applies smoothly and contains no scent. One big down fall is the lack of a strong pigmentation. The pigments are there of the 5 different shades, but they are subtle. You would have to pack the eyeshadow to get the right amount of pigments. Other than that, this is a pretty quad to have for people who love mild purple and want an convenience of traveling with an eyeshadow palette. Stylish Move creates a soft neutral purple look that goes with any outfits and occasion. You can use the deeper purple to get a smoky look. The compact comes with 2 sponge tip applications and a deep blue velvet pouch for traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 1/6/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Stylish Move quint has been at the top of my Dior wishlist for a long time. It's a lovely palette with pretty, wearable shades in various purples and mauves. Most of the shades are well pigmented and easy to work with, but I find the light pink in the top corner too sheer and a bit chalky, and the white in the middle is just pure chalk, I don't know what to do with it. I would recommend Night Butterfly or Petal Shine if you don't have those yet, but otherwise Stylish Move is definitely one to consider from this line.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gailkey2 on 12/11/2010 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Gailkey2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this at sephora, and I loved it, I only used the dark purple shade to create a smokey eye and then another Dior orange for the crease. I found the texture lovely and very blendable and easy to apply. The only reason I wouldnt buy it is bc I cant justify spending that much on an eyeshadow. I'll stick to MAC

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dkarb on 11/2/2010 10:52:00 AM more reviews by dkarb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is probably, at this point in time, my favourite eyeshadow palette. The colours are all beautiful, whether alone, worn with other colours, or with each other. The pale, central colour has become my favourite base, and I really like using the dark purple as a liner, whether by itself, or on top of black liquid liner to emphasize it. I have recently gone brunette, and have noticed that the mauve colour now looks much better on me, while as a blonde, it made my eyes look a bit pink and the whole effect was rather washed out. The one colour I probably don't use as much is the grey taupish one, but that is because I have another similar shade which I prefer to use.
All in all, long-lasting gorgeous colours. The palette is easy to use and easy to carry around. The only drawback is the price, which is really steep. I fell in love with the colours and bought it as an indulgence, otherwise I wouldn't spend this much money on eyeshadows. However, cannot say that I regret it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Eye Shadow products