L'Oreal • HIP Pure Pigment Shadow Stick • Eye Shadow

rated 2.5(55 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Steffachino on 7/9/2010 3:02:00 PM more reviews by Steffachino

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay product..I mean, they were on clearance at my Rite Aid for about $2. But full price is $10, would I buy? No way! I bought Majestic (brown) and Exquisite (gold). The only reason why I bought these colors is because I can easily dupe the other colors. The purple, green, and blue can all be duped with Wet 'n Wild Cream Shadow Pencils, which do have the same quality, but they are chubby pencils so application is much easier. I already own a silver eyeshadow (though it's a powder, but I can still deal) The gold is what I really wanted, the brown is alright aswell.
Packaging sucks though. First, you only get 0.07 oz. of product. Second, it's like a lipstick, but the cap is longer than the bottom, thus it is easy to nick the shadow. (I just got it and I already have) and lastly, the fact that it is a stick makes for a weird application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morganito on 6/28/2010 3:43:00 PM more reviews by morganito

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

YIKES! I guess I am in the minority here, I actually like these. I bought 2 of them at my local rite aid for dirt cheap, 2 bucks I think, and went back and got 3 more. The packaging sucks, and it's gimmicky, but the product worked for me. I sharpened the tip a bit, I put on my primer, my base shadow, and then one of these little guys on the lid and into the crease, blend with my finger and I have a really simple eye. They last for awhile (but I use a primer and a base) I get nice color payoff, I haven't tried wet yet, but I heard they are better that way, they blend easily and are small enough to take with me anywhere if I do need to touch up. Can't say I would have paid full price, 10 bucks I think, but for 2 bucks, I will put up with stupid packaging, don't know if I would buy again as they are being discontinued, and the normal price is too high, but if they were gonna stick around and be cheaper, then sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 marywebgirl on 11/28/2009 8:56:00 PM more reviews by marywebgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought one of these because it was really discounted at Bed Bath & Beyond, but I was mad at myself for my impulse when I read the reviews here and tried it. For anyone else who bought one of these, I've managed to salvage it a bit by breaking it up in a small ziplock baggie and putting the loose powder in a pill box. The color still isn't great, but it's usable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyrivera on 9/10/2009 8:30:00 PM more reviews by candyrivera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

ZERO rating---- What a rip off! I bought three of these and wow am I disappointed. I'm actually really mad that I wasted money on this crap. I don't know how some people said these worked for them but I didn't get any pigmentation from them and were very difficult to use, not to mention the horrible packaging! What a horrible product! Will NEVER buy these again and like a previous review said, even if they were free you wouldn't want to use them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 planetofapes on 9/10/2009 9:11:00 AM more reviews by planetofapes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Have you ever wished you give a product zero? Because that's me - I want to give this a big fat zero on all categories.

Dry, crumbly, heaps of fallout. I did not pay a lot of $$ for this - but even if you got this for free you wouldn't use it. Yep - it's that bad.

I got this off ebay so thank GOD I didn't spend a lot of money on it.

I HATE THIS PRODUCT. L'oreal - you have really disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Muuttaa on 4/6/2009 3:07:00 AM more reviews by Muuttaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It seems I'm one of the very few people who actually likes this shadow stick. I hadn't noticed it before I picked it up on sale for $2.50 at Long's. I have it in Captivating, which is a reddish, purplish matte pink. I can never have enough dark pinks, so I just had to get it.


The package reads, "To use: apply dry to contour and define your eyes with rich color." As long as you use it as a contour stick as directed on the packaging, you won't be disappointed. I apply it with a shadow brush in my crease and to line my lower lid (while putting a lighter pink on my upper lid). For a subtle look, put it on dry. For bright intense color, dampen or wet the brush, then apply. The color payoff is wonderful, and blends very well with my extensive pink shadow collection.


I took one lippie off because the packaging is indeed cheap and terrible.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reallychelseawow on 1/22/2009 10:50:00 AM more reviews by reallychelseawow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I know a lot of people here shell out for the big eyeshadows and what not (I don't feel right buying $15 eyeshadows, being a student and all) but I figured, I might as well. I did buy a HIP duo shadow before, with a nice gold and purple colour. I love it, it's so intense but goes on smooth without leaving powder. So I figured I'd give the gold stick a shot (it was on sale). Piece of crap. I tried several applications;
-stick to eyelid, it stuck to my eyelid and tugged, ow!
-makeup brush, stuck IN my makeup brush, barely came off, will not wash out of brush no matter what I used!
-Qtip, only method that worked, but as the reviewer before me said, it doesn't wash off skin!
I had a faint gold tinge for a few days, it was most peculiar. This sucked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 1/22/2009 10:33:00 AM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't think of a worse product idea out there. I bought whatever the gold shade was, and it was near impossible to get off the stick, so i tried applying it directly to my eyelids, well bad idea because the natural oils got directly onto the cosmetic and seemed to seal in the cement-like quality of this product. So I tried breaking it off and crushing it up to use as a powder. Powder went everywhere on my face, clothing, etc. Worst fall-out ever. Crushed chalk would have provided more coverage and been easier to work with. With the exception of their Loose Kohls and Voluminous mascara, I completely stay away from L'Oreal. What a rip-off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DestinyA on 1/22/2009 10:27:00 AM more reviews by DestinyA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am usually a Sephora or MAC type girl, but I forgot my makeup today so I made a quick stop at the grocery store to pick up a couple of small items. I'd been meaning to try the HIP line for a while, but since its not all that much less than MAC I had not. So I gave in and tried the pigment stick. It's pretty horrible. I got "irresistible" which is a deep shimmery rose color in the package. It reminds me a little bit of those candy lipsticks you could get in the eighties, but smaller.

The top of the stick is completely flat, which makes sharp edges where the top and side meet. It is very hard, and putting it on was quite uncomfortable. Because it is so hard you have to press heavily to get any color, and the sharp edges dig in. I tried using a couple of different makeup brushes with varying stiffness of bristles, and none of them could push hard enough to get the color off.

After all of that, the color is decent if you can press hard enough. It looks matte on though, while in the package its very shimmery. I won't be purchasing anything else from this line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ivette1 on 1/3/2009 5:15:00 PM more reviews by ivette1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

RIS and was confused on how to use it, but after reading reviews and instructions, wow! Color payoff is nice although the colors are nicer wet, bettter than dry, conveniently small, but a bit pricey, will definitely wait for a sale to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products