Smashbox • Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner - Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(160 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 giggles292 on 7/29/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by giggles292

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product for tight lining my water line only and absolutely love the dark black color and its ability to last all day which is important since I work in a restaurant for nearly 12 hours a day and need my makeup to last. I do enjoy this product but will only buy in small travel sizes if available since it dries out so fast. Another negative aspect of this product is that it dries up extremely thick and hard on whichever brush you use with this gel liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 upinspace on 7/12/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this awhile back as my very first gel eyeliner. Its very thick and I actually didn't have smudging problems with it.

However, for me it dried out SOOO fast. In a month it went from the cap full to about a tiny speck full? Like, what? Now its unusable. Its just a waste and not even as good as the new ones I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinktutupuggy on 2/7/2014 2:57:00 AM more reviews by pinktutupuggy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Good product and I would have given this 5 lippies if it weren't for the price and the flaws of the OLD packaging.

I have the Smashbox Jet Set gel liners in both their old and new packaging. Because of the packaging change sale, I got the Black, Bronze, and Navy for only $9. I would suggest though, that you should shell out a couple more bucks for the new packaging because they are not as dry as the one in the old packaging. My Deep Ivy, which I got on full price, seems softer and creamier than the other ones I have in old packaging. Must be because the newer packaging is more airtight.

Texture wise, Smashbox is on the dry side. I had to warm the product with my Sigma E05 brush before I put it on. It's a little trickier to apply in comparison to my Maybelline one, but the Smashbox is good for the waterline. It does NOT budge at all. Yesterday I put it on at 11am, and when I got home it was still there at 1am. Maybelline is good and cheap, but I always get panda eyes after 3 hours when I do my waterline.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sessaly on 2/5/2014 8:03:00 AM more reviews by Sessaly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Paid $30 at Ulta for this eyeliner and it is the worst eyeliner I have ever used. It smudges very badly. I do not recommend buying this product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vivalabiba on 11/27/2013 2:58:00 PM more reviews by vivalabiba

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this is one of the worst gels I've ever used! I do not have anything close to oily lids, but this eyeliner was all over the place within an hour. Smudging, transfer, fading, you name it, it did it. So sad because I usually like Smashbox

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 UbiquityEssence on 9/21/2013 2:54:00 AM more reviews by UbiquityEssence

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Recently ran out of my Urban Decay Liquid Eyeliner and haven't had the chance to restock. Been using this gel liner w/an ELF eyeliner brush. This came in my Sephora's "Draw the Line" eyeliner kit from Christmas and I just recently gotten around to testing this gel liner out. I live in humid Florida so I normally stick with the waterproof liquid liners and I had serious doubts that a gel liner would hold up in the Florida heat but I was pleasantly surprised that this did hold up. It provides a nice smoldering smokey eye look. Pretty creamy. I haven't tested this out in the sweltering theme parks yet. But it does it's job when I run around town doing errands. Trust me, walking from your car to building will leave your makeup melting in seconds thus I always stick with waterproof liquid liners and tinted moisturizers.

The only con is that it does smudge a bit or maybe it was my mascara I'm not entirely sure. I had pretty low expectations for this but it manages to stay put for most of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 belovedhope on 4/19/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by belovedhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised by this product. I received this in Sephora's "Draw the Line" eyeliner sampler package, included full-size. It's on the dryer side compared to other gel liners i've tried, but that's likely b/c of the waterproof formula. Overall, I find this to be quite long lasting and not as smudgy as other reviewers have mentioned. I also find myself being able to create some flattering eye looks w/ this liner- can't quite pinpoint what it is about it, but I really like how my eye makeup turns out when I use this product compared to other products. Perhaps it's because it dries down matte, not shiny, so it lends itself to a more casual, soft look. That being said, it retails at $22, more than twice the price of my favorite drugstore gel liner, L'oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner. Do I think it's twice as good? Naw. But I would buy this again in the "Draw the Line" sampler package, which I bought for $28.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jalexandra on 4/5/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by jalexandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Awful. Unfortunately one of the worst eyeliners I've ever had. It smudges really badly, sometimes dries out and little specks go all over your face and leave little lines. Also does not age well, very short lived "fresh" wise. Suddenly I found myself needing to STIR the pot to make it moist again and I'm very good about my makeup. Waste of $22. I'm sad to leave such a poor review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 3/29/2013 1:18:00 AM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Disappointed in this product. I was expecting something that would really work on the waterline, or with "allergy eyes"...especially after watching QVC where they used this on the models and sang it's praises. Yet, somehow what I got was $22 worth of smudgy, smeary crap. This ALWAYS smudges under my eyes.
Now that isn't to say it's completely gone from my waterline. There will still be some spots of it stuck like glue in places, but most of it is under my eye. It's not a becoming look on me.
You might have better luck, but to me it's just a mediocre gel liner (in a very small container!) that I could spend half the amount of money on at the drug store. It's a nice dark creamy black, but that's about all it has going for it in my book. I won't buy it again, and I've already passed this on down to my teenage daughter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 petmyskurvette on 2/18/2013 7:29:00 PM more reviews by petmyskurvette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this eyeliner in a set from Sephora that includes many other black eyeliners. While it's not a disastrously unusable eyeliner, it's definitely not my favorite. I used to own Sephora's cream liner and that definitely was better than this one in terms of consistency. Maybe I just got an older or more dried out pot, but this hasn't been very easy or smooth to apply. And often when I'm applying it, tiny pieces flake off and go into my eye or under my eye, which is messy and annoying. Because of this, it takes me longer to put this on in the mornings. In terms of staying power, it's not horrible, and doesn't transfer on my upper eyelid, but it does transfer a bit to my under eye area, even if I just lined my upped eyelids, which means I have to check for smears under my eyes during the day. I haven't used anywhere near the whole pot, but I'm thinking of just not using it anymore and going back to pencil or liquid eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Eyeliner products