TRESemme • Curl Care Bouncy Curls Defining Gel • Styling Products

rated 3.5(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Andreailj on 10/26/2013 3:09:00 AM more reviews by Andreailj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This has become my holy grail gel, mild to strong hold wich is perfect for full soft and defined curls, I love that it gives a touch of shine and you can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChellBell on 12/31/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by ChellBell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can't think of a better word for this product other than "amazing!" It works perfectly and i love how it gave me tips on using my diffuser to dry my hair! My curls were beautiful, soft, bouncy, and voluminous! Such a good price and lasts a long while, i only wish it could come in a gallon container! I use it when i want a fast, amazing hair day...which is everyday (: love love love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucyrox on 11/30/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by lucyrox

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product made my wavy hair very frizzy. Besides that, I didn't get any bouncy curls because of the frizz. What a bust. Returned it and won't buy again. I'll stick with my usual Beyond the Zone Noodle Head Curling Creme which is $5.49 for 6 oz at Sally Beauty Supply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 walk6860 on 10/1/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by walk6860

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really like this Curl Gel.
I actually use it along with this brand's curl mousse - which on it's own makes my hair too crunchy/stiff, but used alongside the gel is a nice combo for a bit of extra hold. On it's own, the gel is still great.

Since the ratio is about ~3:1 gel to mousse, I will review the gel.

1) My curls are defined and hydrated and bouncy as promised.
2) My hair is easy to work with - not stiff or sticky.
3) The price is awesome.
4) Easily accessible - every store I have been at has it.
5) Great smell.
6) As mentioned above, on it's own I feel like I need a bit more hold.

I put a dollar-coin sized amount in my hands and work it through very wet hair. If using the mousse, I take a very small amount and work it through JUST the ends of my hair.

I tip my head over for a 2-minute blowdry with a diffuser attachment. I just use the heat to get rid of the dripping water.

I then hand scrunch my hair and let it air dry the rest of the way.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 10/24/2011 2:15:00 AM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

just finished up a bottle of this today, and it was bittersweet... happy because I am desperately trying to use up my huge product junkie stash, but sad because I really liked it and I dont have a back up!

This gel did what it says... it gives hold. It gives me shiny, bouncy curls. It scrunches out nicely without doing the flaky yuck mess. I can even comb out my hair without residue showing, and have even flat ironed later with this and been impressed with the results - my hair just looked shiny and smooth. It's good stuff. I even feel like it helps lock in moisture.

I am impressed, it's super cheap and I do like the packaging, the top stays clean, it squeeze out easily and I was able to get out just about every last drop.

Oh, and it smells really good! It has a salon product smell, that's clean. I love smelling this way!

The only thing I can think of bad is that if I apply too much, it can feel a little sticky and take a REALLY long time to dry. Also, I use so much since I have so much hair and I use it up really fast, but the bottle is about the perfect size for travel for me.

I am pretty sure this is 'cone free, so it will rinse out easily w/o build up and can be used for the CG method. I co wash most days and my hair seems to rinse clean every morning.

for reference, I have 3b naturally very curly hair with a combination of tight ringlets & big S-curls. My hair tends to be dry, and so I always use this in conjunction with a leave in conditioner for frizz control. I use scrunch it into my hair when it's still very wet just out of the shower. I scrunch out extra water & product with a microfiber/curlslikeus towel and either let it air dry, or diffuse until 75% dry and as long as my hair doesn't dry funny, I get pretty consistent results.

I really like this and recommend it to any curlies out there I will for sure repurchase the next time I need gel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 8/1/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I used this years ago when it was a different name, in a squeeze tube. It feels like a very light weight gel, and you hardly notice it as a gel at all. It's like an anti-frizz tamer with a slight hold. I don't have course curly hair, but it is thick with beach waves. My hair was in desperate need of something. I was about to get it cut! I hate gels for curly hair because they only make them crunchy or so shiny that it's plastic shine. This has kept my hair soft and under control, in 100 + degree weather. It smells good, and doesn't leave behind a sticky residue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 holymell on 2/1/2011 4:25:00 AM more reviews by holymell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used this twice so far, so I'm holding a lippie back, just in case something happens and this stuff stops working for me.

I have used this for the past two evenings, and both nights, I have gotten what the bottle claims I will get from using it; bouncy curls! I have mostly wavy hair, and I'm a product junkie, so I am constantly looking for the product that does everything so that I don't have to layer products (my hair gets weighed down and won't spring up and curl if too many styling products are put into it). I don't even HAVE curly hair; I have wavy hair. But for the past two nights, I've actually had curls! And my hair is even curling on the side where it usually only lamely waves! I am so excited about this. I used a little less last night than I did tonight, and my hair was a bit bouncier, yet not very curly; still loved the results. Tonight I used about three pea sized globs of it scrunched into damp hair after smoothing in leave-in conditioner, and I am just amazed at how curly, shiny, and frizz-less my hair is!

It did dry really crunchy, but once my hair was 100% dry, it was soft, shiny, and bouncy! I love it so far. This has worked better than just about any gel that I have tried so far, though I may be speaking too soon. I will update if my opinion changes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 orchestrated19 on 10/15/2010 5:39:00 PM more reviews by orchestrated19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly, the only reason I would buy this again is because I have so many other TRESemme products and I don't like to mix brands. Not saying it's bad or anything... it's just not the best. It definitely does the trick though, and considering how thick my hair is that's saying something. Doesn't leave your hair crunchy either.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lolajean on 9/23/2010 2:30:00 AM more reviews by lolajean

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate crunchy, crispy curls so I normally stay far away from gels. I've been having really good luck with Tresemme lately, so I thought I'd take a chance with this. I love it! I don't use it the way the bottle says to. I don't like to use a dryer and my hair always looks bad when I do. I tried their method and didn't like the result at all. But if I let my hair dry naturally, then use this, it's amazing. I work it into my hair and put it on top of my head in a loose bun. Then I apply my makeup and by the time I'm done I have bouncy, defined curls with no frizz and no crunch!
Plus, it's dirt cheap and the bottle is huge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ThatDarnCass on 6/4/2010 4:34:00 AM more reviews by ThatDarnCass

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried this product for the first time tonight and I absolutely love it! I have very fine, curly hair and I have tried many products before. I have a few favorites, and this one is going in the pile. I put a good sized amount in my hair (think half-dollar sized) because it was so light I felt like a small amount might not do anything. Then, as the bottle suggests, I blow dried my hair with a diffuser until it was 90% dry. After that, I twisted a few face-framing pieces into ringlets and a few others scattered throughout my hair. With other products, I have to fight my hair for it to do what I want (including curling how I want instead of it having a mind of its own) but with this, it listened to me right away! :) The end result was beautiful, soft ringlets and it made my hair look a lot fuller than it actually is. I used this in conjunction with a sulfate-free shampoo, which is always recommended for girls with curls, and a curl conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TRESemme products

More Styling Products products