Essie • Good to Go Rapid Dry + Shine Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.2(218 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 creamsodasundae on 1/25/2015 1:12:00 AM more reviews by creamsodasundae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is great! I like to use it when I do nail stamping, and I am applying lots of different coats. It works super well - I ended up giving a bottle to my mom who tried it while visiting me, and also fell in love with it.

I use is mostly with other essie products, but I also have a few Sally Hansen, Nars and Dior polishes as well, and it has worked with all of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vanillatwilight357 on 1/24/2015 9:41:00 PM more reviews by vanillatwilight357

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this top coat in the summer but put off using it after the first few times of trying it as it was quite a bit slower to dry than Seche Vite or InstaDri. However as I started to really hate InstaDri's cracking issues on my nails and Seche Vite's shrinking, I lowered my standards and gave this top coat another shot and I ended up liking it a lot better. I feel like the shine is definitely here with this top coat, and I didn't get any shrinking, bubbling, or cracking. The wear time is also alright with this top coat, some polishes just didn't agree with this top coat, namely glitters, and chipped pretty quickly but it was mainly okay. The brush in this top coat is also thicker than Essie's normal polish brush, which is something I really appreciate as I hate Essie's regular brush and this brush makes the polish a lot easier to apply smoothly. The formula is also a decent consistency, on the thicker side, and it doesn't smudge nail art because of it.

The problem starts now, about four-five months after I started using it weekly. It's starting to shrink my polish really badly and I still have just a bit less than half a bottle left. For the nine dollars I paid, I don't want to stop using this when I still have half a bottle and it's leaving me disappointed. The formula itself is still pretty good, it's only thickened up a bit so the fact that it's shrinking my polish this badly is sad. Based on its performance from the first half I would probably give it a 4.5 but now it sits at a solid 3 for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 11/21/2014 3:09:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Better than Seche Vite. I love that stuff but the goopy stuff at the end of the bottle drives me insane. Thinner doesn't even help after so long. Also it tends to shrink and do other things I hate. Essie doesn't do anything of those things. It's also cheaper and it looks great.

Only real difference between the two? Shine. It all comes down to Seche's shine factor. Essie can't quite get there in how shiny Seche is, but I don't care much because I would rather deal with no goopy bottle I have to toss because it can't be saved and not have manicures ruined by shrinkage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rasew on 10/31/2014 11:09:00 PM more reviews by rasew

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Compared to Seche Vite:

Pros:
- hasn't become as gloopy, easier to apply and applies thinner
- brush is more accurate
- less peeling

Similar:
- high shine
- smooths out nail surface and a few mishaps during polish application

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 9/24/2014 12:57:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Essie Good to Go is good to go in the trash. Bought it because I thought it would be compatible with 3-free and 5-free polishes. Not a chance.

I just ruined my last manicure due to shrinkage. I let the polish dry a bit before applying; I applied over new polish; no matter, shrinkage happens and ruins mylovely manicure.

I'm going back to Jessica Top Priority. the drying time wait will be worth it; besides, that's why I having drying drops anyway.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatiNicole on 8/20/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by KatiNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not much for doing my nails (in fact, there's a guaranteed smudge every time) and this fixes it and dries it quickly so I can't mess it up again! Seriously idiot-proof. Wish I could post pictures.. I don't know if it's the best, but it's by far the closest I've found!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lgibs86 on 8/5/2014 11:21:00 AM more reviews by lgibs86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pros: I put this on right after I am done my second coat, and it dries the polish almost immediately. Very quick to dry. Very shiny, and it feels light.

However, as a top coat this is a bad product. My nails chip within hours of applying it. Some even peel right off without me doing anything with it. I will NOT buy this product again, because while it helps dry my nails, it doesn't protect from chipping.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 idkhelpme on 7/17/2014 11:18:00 PM more reviews by idkhelpme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Dries very quickly, probably one of the fastest you can get at the drugstore
Good brush

Cons:
Gets goopy halfway
Not really chip-proof
Price (subjective, I think that $8-9 is pretty steep)

Great when its new but gets goopy and unworkable with very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JRBabe100 on 7/6/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by JRBabe100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really baffled this doesn't have a terrible rating. Bought this as part of a buy-one-get-one-free at Ulta based on its positive reviews here. I used it as my top coat when I painted my nails last night. Within 5 hours my polish was insanely chipped. And I mean almost halfway gone and on all of my fingers.

I know it was this top coat. A) I used 3 different polishes because I was going for an ombre effect (one color on my thumb, one on my index finger, etc etc.) and B) I didn't change anything else. I've never had good luck keeping polish on long but I've never had it chip this fast either. Going back to the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri that I was using before. I've also had good luck with Seche Vite and Poshe.

You've been warned!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Koolkitty on 6/18/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Koolkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bottom line: this gave me the shiniest top coat that dried the quickest, the hardest over the four top coats below. If I don't use a good base coat I will get sheeting. There is some slight shrinkage if I'm not careful to wrap the tips well. I've tried the below, all side by side as comparsion to Essie.

Essie Good to Go. This had by far the highest glass like glossy sheen that lasted. And it dried the hardest, the quickest. Unlike the other brands I tried, I couldn't even dig my nail to make a dent or scratch if I wanted to. I went camping with a two day old mani and I didn't get any chips until the second day of camping and it was pretty minimal. I've noticed, oddly, that Essie GTG does not work well with Essie colors for me, it chips pretty quickly. With other brands (even cheap ones) I've had 4-5 days chip free, easily.

Rock Top Coat just doesn't cure for me, so that was returned.

SH Mega Shine went on nicely and dried completely. I was severely disappointed with the shine! And it left some minor brush strokes.

SH 4-in-1 Moisture Treatment--just not a good top coat despite that one of the "4" uses is a top coat. It was not quick drying and chipped almost immediately.

Revlon Gel Envy. Provides long wear, but the color range is paltry and I found the top coat dulls after a few days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products