Dermablend • Smooth Indulgence long lasting matte finish • Foundations

rated 3.8(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AwkwardPenguin on 4/5/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by AwkwardPenguin

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing. The ultimate full coverage foundation. Your skin must be moisturized and primed bc it's easy to screw it up and look like a cakey mess. I use this as a concealer all the time, it covers anything and doesn't budge. As a foundation I only use it at night (i don't care for matte finishes during the day) when my skin acting up or if i want to look extra flawless, I wouldn't say it's a daily foundation though. I believe it's around $27 and lasts forever. The packaging is perfect. I'm on my 2nd tube, about to run out and will need to repurchase, for me this is something I always need to have in my stash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LizzyBerry on 4/4/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by LizzyBerry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Shocked to see so many bad reviews?! And this picture looks like it's from the 80s, totally needs updated.

The sales associate at Ulta who helped me with this said they recently re-formulated some of their foundations and she likes them a lot more now so maybe that's what was causing negative remarks?

Anyway... I adore this stuff! When I was on tretinoin it's the absolute only foundation that works on acne and intense peeling skin. You seriously look flawless after you put it on, this will cover anything. Not too oily and not dying either. It also never feels heavy on my face, which I'm shocked about because every single liquid foundation I've tried on feels cakey and heavy on me. This never does though! Make sure you use a good foundation brush though, I tried putting it on with my fingers one day and I think I just suck at that technique but it didn't look as nice. I really like that you don't need any concealer with this too.

After about 4 hours though I do notice it doesn't look as great as it did when I first put it on, but that's just normal because I have oily skin and no foundation will stay on my face for that long without needing touched up. Make sure you set it with a setting powder too. I know it's a bit expensive ($34 at Ulta) so some people may not feel like spending that much BUT I don't use it every day. Days where I'm bumming around or just running errands alone I use my cheaper compact CoverGirl foundation (it's between a liquid and a powder) which I've used for years. I feel like everyone should have a couple different foundations to use on different days anyway.

Edit: I just realized the old picture someone had up here of it is NOT the right one. That 80s looking one is from Vichy's brand of dermablend foundations found at CVS. It's crappy and always gets bad reviews, the Dermablend I'm talking about is the one Ulta carries. I really wonder now if people are getting them confused and that's why this foundation is ranked so horribly. I updated a picture of the real Dermablend I'm using now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lexieloveee on 3/25/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by Lexieloveee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect for acne!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hondurena89 on 1/3/2014 8:01:00 PM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off...i want my 34 dollara back. Secondly this foudation is meant for tattoos and scars etc...i dont know what i was thinking back when i brought this. For one, foundation are not meant to be full coverage. (That what concealer is for) foundation is meant to even out skin tone. This foudation will give you a absolute dead, dry, cakey old lady look. Jeez..this stuff is heaaaavvvyyyyy.heavy! So hard to blend. Looks ashy. Toooo matte (yikes) gets super oily. Blocks pores. Its like taking paste and dreanching your face in it. If you like that heavy stage makeup or corpus makeup then go for it:) go right ahead. Me on the other hand i like looking my age.or even better look younger. And 30 dollars for this???? Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeckyR on 10/8/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by BeckyR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After I had a disastrous experience with MAC Prolongwear (which left me with the WORST flare up of acne I've ever had), I needed something that was going to cover all of my new blemishes. My drugstore foundation wasn't cutting it, but I was hesitant to try a new product, not wanting to risk making my acne even worse. I did some extensive research online where I found out about the Dermablend line. It’s marketed as specifically for people with skin issues. It boasts to be the "number 1 dermatologist recommended camouflage brand". After getting shade matched and successfully testing out some samples without breaking out even more, I decided to pick up a tube in Sand Beige (I’m an NC25 for reference).
Pros:
*Coverage-all of my red, irritated skin was completely erased. I'd say medium, but buildable to full
* Blendable- this foundation takes a while to set, so you have time to blend it in
*Gentle- this didn't irritate my skin or make my break out worse at all
* Scentless
* Availability- I picked mine up at my local Ulta
Cons:
* Transfers- Even with a setting powder and primer, this foundation transfers very easily
* Does nothing to control my shine even with a matte primer, setting powder, and setting spray
* Clings to dry areas
* Limited shades- only 11 available so it might be difficult to find a match. I'm midway between Sand Beige and Nude Beige (the next shade up)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lydial on 8/31/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by lydial

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

*GREAT FOUNDATION FOR MELASMA SUFFERERS*

Hi.

OK so, i've ranted and raved about various other foundations in the past. BUT, i've come full circle. I have the worst melasma in the world, and while i'm working on it (and totally chucked the bathroom full of foundation and went fully RMS coconut oil super natural minimal makeup line in an attempt to embrace and heal my skin - thought it was my HG but not enuf coverage)....I've gone back to where I began many many years ago - DERMABLEND.

why? because melasma gets so much worse with the sun, and only hardcore physical sunblocks help. dermablend has really good coverage and spf performance.

**this is not the same as the limited range of crappy vichy/dermablend sold at CVS**

i went to ULTA and was so pleased to see that dermablend has a great range of shades now, and multiple formulations. i use this smooth indulgence in wheat and caramel - super yellow-y and great for slightly tan caucasian summer skin. it makes me look pretty good. doesn't break me out (and i have really persistent adult acne issues around the chin and nose) it's heavy coverage, but if you buff with a sponge/cloth/brush you can get it to whatever level you want. but this isn't for girls who want light coverage. this is the big guns. for people who want to cover their skin. that said, it's not off-puttingly cakey or uncomfortable. i really really feel confident and protected in this foundation. it's a great choice for people who need to even out their complexion and protect from the sun. none of those stupid BB creams or regular foundations "with spf" cut it if you have a serious issue. anyway, bravo dermablend, thanks for the mega foundation with great range and formulation and performance. lasts all day. doesn't oxidize noticeably on me -- way better than cover blend and cover FX (which i hate!!!! oxidizes like crazy!!!) i will re-purchase and have already bought additional shades in anticipation of fall. and cuz im like an ocd prepper when it comes to foundations. **SIDE NOTE: use in conjunction with la mer concealer in #2, which for some reason really covers brownish melasma well. it's super opaque but not cakey, and is the best shade of pink correcting foundation for brown spots that i have found yet - just a tip for you melasma sufferers, i know it's incredibly frustrating to find the right solution

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ColdFire on 5/25/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by ColdFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation! I was looking for a full coverage, long-lasting foundation that didn't look or feel too mask-like. When I apply this foundation with a damp blending sponge, that's exactly what I get. It covers my old acne scars, any redness, and current blemishes very well, I only need a small bit of concealer on the truly bad blemishes.
As other reviews have mentioned, and the reason this gets a 4 rather than a 5, this can settle into pores or imperfections if you don't use a primer. However, if you use a primer and set it with a good powder, it will last all day with minimal settling. I apply it at 7am and have some oil breakthrough by midday, but my skin is oily and this is normal for other foundations I've used. The coverage lasts all day and you need a longwear makeup remover to take it off completely.
I'd recommend this to someone who already uses a good primer and is looking for a longwear, full coverage foundation. They have a good range of colors so you should be able to find a match.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cmcmonigle on 5/15/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by cmcmonigle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this foundation after watching reviews of it on YouTube. I have never made a review about a product before but every time I put this foundation on I find myself going through what I would say about it so here it is: PROS: awesome coverage! This foundation covers my very red skin around my nostrils and any acne spots I have going on. It does match my skin tone very nicely and there is a wide variety of shades to choose from. CONS: although this makeup looks flawless when you put it on it only last for maybe three hours before it starts to settle into every imperfection. It almost just starts to melt and sit on top of your skin. You can literally wipe it off in one swipe and don't dare touch your clothes or phone to your face. I have tried it with different moisturizers, no moisturizers, different primers including my smash box and too faced ones, foundation powders and setting powders and oil controlling powders. Nothing makes this make up stay on! I fell asleep one day and when I woke up my boyfriend commented on how oily my face was. I don't have super oily skin just a little around my nose but this makeup! Man, I can't stress how big of a disappointment it is because it really does go on so beautifully. But since it does have great pigment to it I kept it for a powerful concealer. Also, if you are sensitive to sunscreen you might want to avoid this product because I know anything above SPF 15 breaks me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sargolix on 2/1/2013 8:26:00 AM more reviews by sargolix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product ...!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Charligurl7 on 11/18/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Charligurl7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great coverage with a great feel. Not too heavy at all and enough color to cover my acne scaring and redness. If you have visible pores you will need a good primer because this will sink into them if not. (I prefer Too Faced Primed and Poreless)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermablend products

More Foundations products