MAC • Satin - Soba • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(165 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 uxi on 2/19/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by uxi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A gorgeous medium golden brown with extremely subtle shimmer particles. Great for contouring the eyes or serving as a quick wash of colour across the lid.
Is quite a unique colour so I will purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kurogoma07 on 12/24/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by kurogoma07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this shadow! It's something I wouldn't have bought on my own. Just looking at it in the container, it doesn't seem that special. However, I went to the MAC counter to get my makeup done for a wedding and this was one of the items that the makeup artist used on me. I purchased it that day and have been using it pretty regularly ever since!

I first use Blushbaby, Mac blush as a base over the primer, as the makeup artist showed me how to do. I then use a lighter pink shade on the majority of my lid and use Soba around the crease and outer edge of my eye. With primer, it stays all day! It is a great neutral color, and I do this look whenever I'm wearing a very bright lipstick. It makes my brown eyes pop without being too over the top. I love it! I'll definitely repurchase this when I run out. It is my go to shadow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninanina on 9/15/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Soba is a gem! I'm on my 5th of Soba. I use it as a contour, not for eyes but for my face. Since I'm tan it's perfect for contouring and giving depth. There is no wierdness to Soba...it's not shimmery nor matte, not red or 'grey' the way some browns can lean. The day I found that several MAC eyeshadows can double as 'face' highlighters/enhancers is the day my routine became simple. I LOVE SOBA! what can I say..it's my little gem along with NARS Nico.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 themerchanwifey on 9/10/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by themerchanwifey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I stumbled upon this gem when I asked the sales peron at the counter how I could fill in my medium brown brows, now that I have gone blonde. She pulled out cork (duh! Saw that coming) and this gorgeous shade here, Soba. I saw the sparkles nd was like ehhhh not on my brows, but once I swatched it on my hand, it was love at first swipe. I have warm skin with neutral undertones. At the moment I am wearing N3 in face and body. This color is amazing. I am sneaking it ino every make up look I have rocked. Love, love, love! It is the perfect transition color, or even crease alone if my lid is neutral and light. Can't say enough great things.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 7/1/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Soba had replaced mac patina as my favorite shadow of all time. I'm not exaggerating when I say it makes my browm eyes look like they're glowing with caramel streaks. Everytime I wear this I can't stop looking in the mirror. I wear this with mac painterly as a base, soba all over lid, nars fez In the crease and UD smog as a liner. Try this combo your eyes will glow! Soba is also beautiful on its own. I can only say that about a few shadows. Will absolutely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 5/22/2013 7:57:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am really loving this eyeshadow at the moment, I am using it every day. On my NC30 skin type, Hazel eyes it is a light warm brown shade. It looks very natural and pretty! The texture is smooth and easy to blend. I am very pleased to have found this colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonita29 on 4/18/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by bonita29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this eye shadow in the refill format for my MAC palette. I am not sure what I was thinking when I bought it as it is dull to look at in the pan.
However, this is a super versatile color to use.
This has replaced my soft brown as a transition or crease color.
While I would still use soft brown when I want a warm light brown shade, this one works awesome for eye looks with a neutral base.
I have been using this as a crease color with rice paper on my lid as an every day neutral like almost every daay.
This also works great to fill in my eyebrows.
While this color is classified as a satin finish, it does not have any shimmer on my brows.
I have been rocking light blond hair so this works well to lighten up my medium brown brows to match my hair better.
I have also tried this as a contour shade for small areas ie my nose and that works great as well.
So yes I definitely would recommend and would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoshiii on 3/22/2013 1:16:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Soba and personally think it is quite versatile for day + night looks, but admit it is not for everyone. You should definitely try at the counter prior to buying. Soba is for those looking for a shimmery brown shadow with no red undertones at all.


I use Soba with Phloof + Shadowy Lady + a tiny bit of black or dark grey shadow for an easy and less dramatic smokey eye look. However, Soba just with a light brown shadow would match well for a natural daytime look.


This shadow is quite pigmented and easy to apply. I have only slightly hit pan after 1.5 years of regular use and plan to purchase another one when it completely runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Asti1234 on 3/13/2013 6:41:00 AM more reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like Soba. However I find myself reaching for Wedge instead of Soba, I feel they are very similar in colouring and in my opinion Wedge blends a lot easier than Soba. It's the perfect transition colour for medium coloured skinned people (I'm NC30.) if I didn't have Wedge then maybe I'd be happier with this but in comparison the two colours are just too similar. X

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 1/11/2013 3:44:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Frickin love this color. It's a shimmery, warm light beige/gold color that looks so blah in the pan but we you apply it, it's absolutely gorgeous. I love the satin finish because it applies so smooth and feels buttery. I love wearing this all over the lid with "embark" or any purple/taupe shade in my crease and outer v. Def would repurchase this shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products