Clairol • Herbal Essences - Color Me Happy • Shampoo

rated 3.6(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 fsmeath on 7/20/2014 4:38:00 AM more reviews by fsmeath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i bought this shampoo because it was on sale and figured a shampoo for color treated hair might be a little more gentle. this smells great and seems gentle enough. when wet, my non-colored treated hair did not seem overstripped. however, it seems to have an added softener (possibly, the corn silk) that makes my hair limp, flyaway and frizzier than usual. i'll keep the bottle and use it, but i won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AeroLover16 on 7/6/2014 12:09:00 AM more reviews by AeroLover16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty much the only shampoo I like to use on my colour treated hair. I will only wash my hair with products labelled as such, and sadly most of them are a creamy formula; but not HE, they produce this lovely clear (pink) formula. Creamy formulas seem to coat my fine/thin hair and leave an awful sticky residue. This does not seem to do that, so I definitely continue to stock up on this shampoo :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlackHoleDiver on 5/6/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by BlackHoleDiver

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Tried this after adoring the conditioner.
It's great! Smells delicious, lathers well, cleans nicely despite being a slighty more conditioning product. I love the color, consistency and soapiness, and it's gentle on my skin too.
I believe HE is my new favorite line. This one is pink but clear so it won't cause much build-up, and it spreads well through my hair. I tried the Body Envy, which does lather and clean well, but it might be a little harsh. This has a softer lather, as do the tea tree and drama clean. I never thought much about HE before but as I travel through the line, I'm finding it works well for my needs. I'm not looking for much more than thorough cleansing and no greasies. I recommend these for anyone who wants something simple and effective. :)
Current favorites: Color Me Happy, Drama Clean, Tea-lightfully Clean (great for a body wash).
FYI: Yes, these have sulfates, for which I noticed several people removing lippies. Well, all I have to say is don't worry. Sulfates just reduce oil and product build-up, but unless you're using an entire bottle in two days, you'll just have clean hair. Nothing more or less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kickingirl82 on 4/19/2014 9:39:00 PM more reviews by kickingirl82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This smells amazing! I was in love with the smell, but after one use it dried out my hair and made my scalp itch like crazy. I have tried other Herbal Essences shampoos and it is all the same with dryness and scalp itching. I even tried it as a body wash and it made my skin dry and flaky. My HG is Vidal Sasoon volumizing shampoo it is great for fine, thin hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SamaelsMom on 3/23/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by SamaelsMom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Doesn't strip color as much as other shampoos. But if you use semi permanent dyes like me almost any "color safe" shampoo will wash out your color. This is no exception, but it isn't as bad. It smells nice. It's pretty drying without conditioner. Still searching...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kanaria on 10/14/2013 6:01:00 AM more reviews by Kanaria

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was planing to dye my hair for the fist time and as other herbal shampoos did fine job I took this, but started to use it before the color change because ran out of a "normal" one, worst idea ever: my hair became super dry, my scalp starts to itch and even so I gave it a chance because I though it was the shampoo change. Now, after trying two other brands my scalp haven't recovered from this horror yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lcak on 9/22/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by lcak

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this shampoo! It leaves my poor colour-abused hair shiny, smelling good and vibrant, its not a very nourishing shampoo but if you need that extra bit of tlc then get one specifically for those times when your hair screams SOS. I would buy this again next time my hair is freshly coloured!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SophieWillsxo on 9/1/2013 5:35:00 AM more reviews by SophieWillsxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I started using this product when the colour in my hair started fading too quick. It actually keeps my hair looking vibrant. It keeps the colour well. The price is absolutely amazing. It smells delicious. However after shampooing and conditioning my hair feels a little dry so I use their split end cream. It fully moisturises my hair and even protects it. I would definitely buy this again. The bottle goes down really quick though I think personally,but others who say they have used it says it lasts a lifetime. Overall this product has nothing bad about it. Does what it says on the bottle. x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 8/10/2013 3:16:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Lathers well, didn't strip my hair, and smells nice. Plus it's cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 6/21/2013 6:36:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What a shame because I love the scent of this shampoo. Did nothing for maintaining color and it left my hair ridiculously dry!!! I thought it was my conditioner but it was actually this shampoo. Wouldn't repurchase.

I am a big fan of the honey and hello hydration line!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Shampoo products