Serge Lutens • Arabie • Fragrances

rated 3.2(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Necrobella on 11/7/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Necrobella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Don't tell Monsieur Lutens but I think this perfume smells exactly like a cross between the pineapple fried rice at my local vegan Thai restaurant and a Port that someone scored in Paso Robles for me once upon a time. Don't get me wrong, the five lipsticks above was not in error, I think this perfume is a masterpiece, truly one of Mr. Lutens' best, simply pas pour moi, merci. I think someone below called it "violent" and I would agree. It is the ultimate poetic savory soul crushing oriental gourmand. I am very fortunate to have a friend who wears it. Arabie smells lovely on her and I get to enjoy the scent from time to time, that and joining in her maniacal laughter at the desperate souls who are left whimpering in her wake.

Notes according to Luckyscent: cedar, sandalwood, candied mandarin peel, dried figs, dates, cumin, nutmeg, clove, balsamic resins, Tonka bean, Siamese benzoin, myrrh

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monstercat on 3/5/2013 4:33:00 PM more reviews by monstercat

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Initially this fragrance can be somewhat overpowering and sweet but it dries down to a very nice spicy smell that has the tendency to recede and then suddenly reappear with a little blast of spice. I love that with scents. I like for them to remind me I am still wearing them even if it is not a constant drumbeat. I do recommend applying sparingly to begin with and I always put it on at least 1/2 to 1 hour before going out. It can take that long to dry down. It can be especially nice if you run it through your hair. I do agree that it should be sampled first and is not for everyone. It just happens to work with my chemistry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 acentola on 11/4/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by acentola

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Initially I get a blast of herbs, almost of a medicinal quality, and it's strong. The bay leaf, cumin and clove translates as spicey cola to my nose, but underneath you can definitely sense the sweetness. As the scent warms the spices settle a bit but the cola aspect is still there; on cloth, the spices stay, on skin, they mellow out. I'm getting lashes of myrrh and fruit at this point, but it's very aggressive. This scent definitely is lacking subtlety; there's no way you could wear this and not be noticed. This scent never seems to lose its clove gum feeling.....for candied fruit/incense/interesting I'll stick with Fille En Aiguilles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ultaddict on 10/23/2011 7:29:00 PM more reviews by ultaddict

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is why my mom always smells like fruitcake in winter. This scent is comforting and delicious at the same time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hippiepippie on 10/23/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by hippiepippie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff smells so bad that it honestly and truly makes me sick to my stomach. I get something like a ton of those dried fruits. Thank God it's only a vial, imagine what a full bottle would do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 11/24/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I agree that this turns a little bitter. actually a lot bitter. to be honest, I mainly smell cumin with a little nutmeg and something sharp & bitter I can't place - maybe the benzoin? There is a little of the dried fruits peeking out, but you have to put your nose right up to it and inhale deeply to get it - if you were just walking past all someone would smell would be bitter cumin nutmeg and something medicinal (clove?) that screams out in a harsh kind of way. somehow this scent doesn't "blend" well on me. not the warm quirky spicy scent I was looking for :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 10/30/2010 3:13:00 PM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: cedar, sandal, candied mandarin, dried fig and date; nutmeg, cumin and clove; bay-leaf, Tonka, Siamese benzoina and myrrh; labdanum.

Starts pungent spicy, but mellows later to a sweet and spicy fragrance. The tonic bean and the cloves are very strong notes; the sandalwood is also but less noticeable. The dry down is slightly bitter. At first the fragrance has great silage, in its later stages it stays closer to skin. It loses power as it progresses.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzi2qs on 2/13/2010 10:03:00 PM more reviews by suzi2qs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Wow, this is a very spiced potion. As the notes have been mentioned in previous reviews, I won't go through them again. This is a very thoughtful fragrance as are most from Serge. I can't wear this. The top is pure cumin on my skin, drying down to a very strong, medicinal
cloud that just won't quit. Rather like a muscle rub. Not what I want to smell like. I must have odd body chemistry because this seems well loved by many. As with any high $$ scent, test before investing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 1/14/2010 10:29:00 AM more reviews by fpih

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Arabie is most certainly spicy. Being a fan of spicy orientals, I thought this would be instant love for me. It is not however the case. I like it, I like it a lot. It's lasting power is also great. However, it's more aggressive than I expected; it lacks smoothness. It is for me, a masculine fragrance, and I'm not a woman who shies away from unisex perfumes. Hours after I tried it, the nutmeg runs supreme, dominating any other note. I like it, but would love it on a man.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 1/13/2010 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Arabie may be the most complex Oriental fragrance I have ever smelled. Back before the more esoteric niche houses (some of whose frags smell like nervous breakdowns), Arabie was a shocker. Stuffed full of heavy, almost irritating spices, stewed and dried fruits, and a bushel of myrrh, Arabie was intoxicating. You'd get so drunk on the stuff that you'd be easily overwhelmed.



In the years since, I have come to a new appreciation of what a masterpiece Arabie is. So few frags actually smell like their names that when one does so, it is a relief. You can almost tell what Arabie will smell like from the notes, which is no mean feat.



One could use any number of muscular adjectives to describe Arabie: meaty, beefy, fiery, hot, vehement...violent. Violent? Indeed, because to my nose, there is an extended metaphor of grilled meat (also found in Fumerie Turque) lurking in the smoky benzoin of the base; one is reminded of goat grilling in the marketplace, the smoke permeating the air to the point that the smoke becomes perfume.



Arabie is an intense experience, a bit of a Smell-O-Rama thrill ride for the stateside audience. It opens fully Moroccan kitchen, with flavors of figs and dates and mandarin tagine being simmered down and strongly spiced. The fruits seem less dessert-like than they do accompaniment to a meat dish. Whatever natural sweetness existed on the tree has been spiced down so heavily that they become tangy through the liberal cumin, clove and nutmeg.



Fresh nutmeg is an interesting note. A green, medicinal and herbal tone becomes clear when the nutmeg is grated and it is discernable as such in Arabie. So much spice hints at the concealing of gaminess in meat, which is a stroke of brilliance in this composition.

An unnamed floral--jasmine?--blooms through the heat of the topnotes and fades away unnoticed because of the potency of what follows. Whatever it is, it adds a sweet counterbalance to the spices while the fruits add tanginess and mustiness.



Although complex, Arabie seems to move straight from the top to the drydown, likely because that drydown is very heavily weighted. Atlas cedar, sandalwood, strong medicinal benzoin, smoky tonka and bitter myrrh weave together into what seems like a native art.



Superb craftsmanship. Arabie should be hung in a museum or be written as the setting in a film. It's even more brilliant when one realizes the foreign quality of it, both gustatorially and olfactorily. We aren't, most of us, likely to find ourselves in the middle of a pungent bazaar, and nor can we relate what we smell in Arabie to our daily lives. We can only go about in subway cars that smell of Eternity, and that is a shame. Arabie is the most evocatively experiential fragrance I know. Even if it turns you off, you should be turned on to it today.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products