JR Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo

4.3

46 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Olive Oil, Castor Oil, Coconut Oil, Sodium Hydroxide (lye), pure Spring Water, natural fragrances


on 8/17/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this for my four-year old daughter whose hair is fine but has a sensitive scalp that is prone to dandruff. I wanted to try something natural and settled on this. It produces a creamy lather very easily and leaves her hair squeaky clean but soft once dry. Her hair looks shiny and healthy. Her scalp is slowly clearing up which I'm relieved about. I follow with a light conditioner or leave in spray. I like The Honest Company Leave-in spray for her. So far I love this shampoo bar for her hair and am looking forward to trying the other ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/11/2015 11:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have color treated, dark wavy hair. I bought this bar of hair soap several weeks ago after an intriguing review here on MUA. I was looking for a natural shampoo that didn't have all the yucky stuff that weighs down and creates a film on your hair. I ordered the Original bar from Vitacost.com for about 4.25. I guess it is "Castile" soap? Olive oil based soap. Any way, I was sure this was going to be a fail but hey! Its great! Going against all I have ever know about shampooing, I am using this bar and nothing else. I guess if you had tangly hair you could add some kind of oil once you get out of the shower. I don't need to. I let my hair air dry and when I wake up in the morning I have a huge poof of curls! Its kind of cute! There are different formulations of this soap but I think so far this is my favorite product find of the year.


on 6/18/2015 9:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm 62 years old and have shoulder length, slightly wavy hair. (Not much grey.) I prefer natural products without a lot of scent; I can't stand heavy fragrance, no matter how good my hair looks. But I do like my hair to look good! So I have muddled along for many years without being totally satisfied with any shampoo and conditioner combination. I tried this stuff on a whim and was simply shocked by how well it worked. It makes a lot of suds, cleans well, rinses out quickly, and without any added conditioner my hair looks bouncy --, yet conditioned. It's so simple I still don't believe it.

With typical shampoo/ conditioner duos, either I get clean with an outer layer of frizz, or I get smoothness that is too close to greasiness for comfort. This bar shampoo somehow hits the happy medium of body without frizz. It's something I haven't experienced since the 80s! This stuff is super cheap and occasionally I long for something more fabulous. But nothing gives me better results. I add an apple cider vinegar rinse occasionally, and sometimes put a little argan oil in my hair while it's still wet.

This really makes me question shampoo. Like, are all shampoos basically detergent? Is the whole purpose of conditioner to mitigate the damage done by shampoo?.Actually, I just saw a website selling a $40 non-detergent conditioning wash suggesting that both of those things are true. I almost went for it... but then decided to stick with my $6 solution.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2014 11:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So I started off with this shampoo bar about a month ago. At first it was hard. I knew I had hard water, so I incorporated apple cider vinegar into the equation because I thought it would help cut through the build up which occurs when you use a soap like this in hard water. The way I was applying it was wrong though -- I tried to spray it into my hair and rinse it out in the shower. I got the WORST build up of my life in my hair while I was doing this and terrible hair breakage. I would comb my hair and get disgusting muck stuck in the comb teeth. Then I would brush my hair and get muck stuck in the brush. HOWEVER.... my scalp was happier than it had ever been on sulfates and sulfate-free liquid shampoos which contained weaker versions of detergent. My intense itching and dandruff had disappeared fast despite the product build up issue. I occasionally switched in a regular shampoo just to use up what I had and to get rid of the soap scum issue, and my scalp hated it. I didn't realize how much better my scalp was until I tried going back to regular shampoo. So I thought about my rinsing method harder, and decided to use about 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in about 16 ounces of distilled water. I just eyeball it. I then dump this entire mix onto my hair and scalp and rub it in very briefly and rinse it out after shampooing. This resulted in the beautiful, smooth, clean, soft hair I was looking for and now I will never be switching off this brand of shampoo bar (or other shampoo bars with similar properties) for any reason. I have no need to now. My scalp feels great and my hair is soft and healthy and no longer getting build up with the proper rinse. I think the larger volume of liquid, and distilled water, is what helped the apple cider vinegar work better. If you are having difficulties with build up and the hair breakage that accompanies hard water, I highly suggest you try this method. It sounds like a pain but I just keep the vinegar (Braggs), a gallon of distilled water, and an empty glass jar to mix it in the bathroom and it is no big deal. I really enjoy washing my hair with the shampoo bar now. It has been a lovely experiment in hair care with great results after I figured out how to fix the build up issues.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2014 12:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

The reason I am giving this shampoo bar 3 stars instead of one or five is because for my hair, its a one, but for my daughters hair, its a five. I bought it in coconut and argan specifically for my daughters hair as it has become less and less healthy over the past year and i wanted something natural for her. She is four so she has fine, natural, non processed wavy hair. I used only this on her hair and a detangling spray with a bit of argan oil through the lengths after I towel dried it, and it came out so soft and shiny and gorgeous. So I thought id give it a go on my hair - bleached, damaged, fragile. Very bad idea, it would not wash out properly and clung to the more damaged areas. I tried a deep conditioning mask after but it still felt th same, very gummy. Gave it the benefit of the doubt and left it to dry hoping it just felt that way because it was wet. Again, bad idea. My hair didn't dry, I couldn't even get a wide toothed comb through it, and the ends started breaking off! Even tried blow drying it a bit but result was the same. So had to hop back in the shower and wash it thoroughly with my regular shampoo, it helped but its still a wee bit straw like. Will definitely keep using this for my girl, but never EVER again for my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2014 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

HG material right here. I've tried other shampoo bars and hated them. I mean, I HATED them, so I don't know what compelled me to look up the reviews for this but they were great, and I decided to give it a shot. This is a million times better than the other ones I tried (LUSH and Chagrin Valley), the reviews don't lie! Before I get into why this shampoo bar is so amazing, I should first warn everyone that there is a bit of a learning curve. A lot of liquid shampoos are really easy to rinse, just suds up, rinse, and go. This isn't. You have to make sure you really rinse it well or your hair might end up flat and a bit oily. That's because this is made out of saponified oils, and some free oils are still left over, which is what makes this so moisturizing. If you don't rinse it out very well though, you could be left with oily residue.

Ok, now that we have that out of the way, where do I even start? This is extremely gentle, though it does leave your hair feeling squeaky clean, it's not stripped or rough at all. With regular shampoo, I had a real issue with split ends. Sulfate free helped a little, but not entirely. And, this isn't just gentle, it's actually moisturizing. I've never come across a shampoo that is actually moisturizing, but this really is. I only need a very light conditioner with this. Actually, I could get away with just a leave in, but I like using a conditioner for additional detangling and fragrance. My hair is easy to detangle after using this shampoo bar, if I don't use any other products it doesn't give that silicone slip, but it still is quite easy to detangle my long, dry, wavy-ish hair. If I tried normal shampoo without conditioner, my hair would never, ever get detangled. It would be a disaster, so how I can detangle my hair after using just this shampoo bar is beyond me. It makes my hair fluffy, without ANY frizz. I don't know how it does that either, but holy crap! Volume without fuzz! And it brings out the wave in my hair in the best way possible. Some products make my hair wavier, but not in a nice way. But with this my waves actually look pretty rather than like a bird's nest. And did I mention how SOFT this makes my hair? I've never has such soft hair before, I can't stop touching it. Now I really can grow my hair out, no more splits, no more hairs ripped out when detangling, no more tangled, dry mess. Oh, and of course the actual reason why I bought it seems like an afterthought now- it's cheap and easy to travel with. Perfect.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2012 11:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was skeptical about this because I have tried other bar shampoos in the past. Some from local farmer's markets and from Lush.com. I can't use conditioner at all due to the fact that it makes me break out in really bad acne on my face and shoulders that I have scars from. So zero conditioner for me, ever. Anyways, I only wash my hair 2 times a week or else my scalp dries out and gets flaky. Lush bars dried my scalp even only washing 2 times a week! I had to stop using it. Liggett's does not dry my scalp at all. Because my hair is color-treated and chemically straightened about half-way up, I usually have a really hard time detangling. I do NOT need conditioner or spray detanglers with Liggett's!!! I have to do a little knot separation before I start combing, but I have less hair in the comb than I do using bottled shampoos or other bar shampoos. The very limited ingredients means much less chance of developing contact dermatitis due to no parabens, formaldehyde, etc. All in all, very good stuff! I'm growing my hair out with this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2012 4:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been looking for a new shampoo since they changed the formula of the one I usually use, and I seem to be allergic to most of them. I remember trying the original Liggett's shampoo bar when I was a kid and not liking it, but because the "balanced" version of this bar is unscented, and I am running out of options, I decided to give it a try. I have to say that the problem I usually have with shampoo bars is that I have trouble lathering and distributing the cleanser through my thick, curly hair, and this bar was superior to others in that respect. However, the results I got after washing my hair were...embarrassing. My hair was dry and flyaway, and when I tried to put a bit of coconut oil in to add a little moisture and combat frizz like I usually do, it became stiff and greasy -- which is not a problem I usually have. The next time I washed it, it was even drier and more out of control. I looked like a crazy cat lady. I usually wash my hair every three days, but with the Liggett's, by the second day my hair looked dirty. After washing it only twice, it was weirdly stiff near the scalp, and it stayed where I put it in a bad way, like it was funky sculpting clay. I've washed it several times since then with clarifying lemon shampoo, and I even did a vinegar rinse (shampoo, then vinegar rinse, then shampoo again), and I still haven't been able to completely remove the weird residue. It also seemed to leave a soft, waxy coating on my ears and cause a mild breakout around my hairline. I guess shampoo bars aren't for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product. I, like many other curlies, have been trying to switch to more natural products without harsh cleansing ingredients. I use the old fashioned bar ~2/week and do a clarifying scalp scrub with baking soda paste twice per month to remove buildup. The shampoo bar has really softened my hair and allowed me to use less conditioner and styling products ($ in the bank!). It leaves my hair feeling fresh, but not stripped of the (good) natural oils. I hope to try the jojoba peppermint version next time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I also bought this product @ Whole Foods when I was traveling to Costa Rica last winter. I too wanted less packaging & plastic waste & it's made here in my home state of NH.
I liked it well enough, I cut the bar in 1/2 as I really didn't need so much. It did melt down quickly,but overall I liked it & will purchase again.




Back to Top