Skinceuticals • Serum 20 AOX with Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.4(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 1/25/2013 2:49:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really loving this serum. I've been using it for several months after switching from CE Ferulic which I liked, but the Serum 20 seems to have more punch. I find that my skin is much brighter and more even-toned, my dark spots are fading (in conjunction with NIA24 Skin Strengthening Complex used at night), and my skin just looks healthier overall. I use it the morning after cleansing. Four drops cover my face and neck completely, and it absorbs immediately--no stickiness or bad smell, and I've experienced no problems when applying other products over it. The only negatives are that it's expensive and it can be a bit drying. I do wish that Skinceuticals would adopt better packaging, too. I keep the one-ounce bottle in the refrigerator and fill up a small sample dropper bottle I purchased a sample in on eBay for daily use, and although this really extends the life of the product, Skinceuticals needs to address this problem. At any rate, I absolutely will repurchase.


Update 7/10/2013: I've switched to Cosmetic Skin Solutions Vitamin C 20% Advanced Formula+ and am very happy with it--for nearly $100 less a bottle. And it doesn't seem to go off as soon as the Skinceuticals product, even in the summer. More $$$ for makeup!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 michelle0822 on 12/3/2011 10:56:00 PM more reviews by michelle0822

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've only used it two weeks - not enough time to see results. I'll plan to update the review with results after a few more weeks.

However, the product was yellow upon being opened which has me very, very wary and almost ready to return it to Skinstore. I've used Obagi and Cellex in the past and always heard that when a C serum turns yellow it's bad. The bottle wasn't expired and had all original packaging so I have no idea why it would be oxidized so quickly but very disappointed in that. Hope I'm proven wrong...

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asparagus on 10/26/2010 10:43:00 PM more reviews by asparagus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product to get rid of red acne marks left over from several months of really bad breakouts. I had a mixture of some small faint red marks, some REALLY red flat marks, and some slightly pitted scars. I've been using it for two weeks and I'm very happy with the result. The product doesn't leave me with a glow or anything, but I don't really mind since that wasn't my reason for buying it. It has definitely reduced the appearance of many of my red acne marks. It's not a miracle serum but I can definitely see slow improvement. My only gripe about the product is the small. As on reviewer noted, it does smell of soy sauce, which can be a bit off putting.

I use it every day and own the 15mL bottle. I can't imagine that it'll last for very long. Maybe 3 months maximum. But it's a good product so I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triniloveyxx on 8/24/2010 11:29:00 PM more reviews by triniloveyxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really really wanted to like this product. I used it for 3 weeks and I was constantly waking up with new pimples everyday since I started using it. I couldnt take it anymore, so i stopped because it was ruining my complexion. My skin usually tolerates many products but I dont know what happened with this. I hope their other serums work for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocosilk on 8/3/2010 2:39:00 AM more reviews by cocosilk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is by far the best vitamin c product I've used and vie tried them all !!!!! I thought CE ferulic was the business until I tried this thanks to the great reviews on MUA. This stuff is pure magic. It's not sticky, sinks in like a dream, brightens and fades scars really quick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lawchick530 on 7/19/2010 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Lawchick530

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love skinceuticals aox20. I have used what seems like every vitamin c serum out there but always find them sticky and that they just sit on top of my skin. AOX20 is so wonderful, it is liquidy, sunk right in to my skin, felt smooth and not sticky at all. I immediately noticed my skin brighter and glowier. This product was recommended to me especially for my skintype, oily and prone to clogged pores. The price is high ($116) through skincarerx but the shipping is fast and if the product works for me (both on top and under the skin), the cost is not prohibitive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ambodidi on 2/10/2010 4:36:00 AM more reviews by ambodidi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have bought this product over and over again over the last two years. I have also gone for about 6 months without it, so I know what it does for me.

I have noticed that it makes my skin noticeably brighter (not lighter) and has changed my yellow toned skin to more peach toned. I was always happy enough with my yellow tones, because I thought it reflected my heritage, but obviously when my skin is healthier, it is more peach. It has helped even out my skin, which has been a concern for me, and helps firm it out and reduce fine lines. My skin is also smoother, and I notice a glow that isn't there when I don't use it. It is not a miracle product, but I definitely saw the difference when I stopped using it. I noticed a reviewer saying she saw no difference in a week. Please don't expect to. It works at a cellular level, and you need to give it 4 to 6 weeks to see any changes.

It is too expensive, and unjustifiably so, because the ingredients and process aren't that expensive. If I had more access to ingredients, I would probably try to make it myself but I don't. It does smell (and taste!) very acidic. By the time I get to the end of the bottle, it has usually turned dark yellow instead of very light yellow, and this is one of my gripes. It should probably come in 15 ml bottles instead. Having said that, it has still been fine to use, since I haven't suffered from using it.

This is an excellent basic anti-aging product. If you do any research at all into skin care, you will find that Vitamin C is one of the few products that has any clinical evidence for it, and Skinceuticals is one of the few companies that makes it in a formulation with other antioxidants and at an optimal pH. There are others, but most of the cheaper ones aren't available easily to me and some cost even more.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Twiggy12345 on 1/31/2010 2:18:00 PM more reviews by Twiggy12345

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is great product if your skin can tolerate it. I thought I would be able to because prior to this I had used Neostrata Skin Brightener which is a 20% Vit. C. product in a cream base. (avail. only in Canada) but I believe Skinceutials is more potent. I got through 3/4 of the bottle before I abandoned it - just too irritating (redness/dry patches), Having said all that, I did notice it made a difference in my skin. My skin was more plump, glowing, and many of my brown/red spots faded significantly. It did not cause any breakouts either. I will repurchase, but next time in a lower concentration. And use this product as more of a "Preventive" treatment as opposed to trying to use it to make any significant changes in my skin, (I've decided to spend the money on Q-switched Laser to do that) And yes it smells bad, and the bottle I got was a light brown color, but It didn't seem to diminish the effectivness of the product for me. For reference I have sensitive, combination, acne-prone skin, and live in a high-altitude dry climate.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 inacoma on 12/20/2009 7:43:00 AM more reviews by inacoma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Is it me or does this not work? I've been using it for a week and I can't see any difference apart from the fact that I have tiny bumps on my cheeks. Also, is it meant to smell like soy sauce??? Or am I just being paranoid and sensitive? I'm so disappointed that this did not work for me as much as it did for everyone else. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 delailah on 6/19/2009 1:18:00 PM more reviews by delailah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a big reviewer, but I bought this based on MUA reviews. I have only been using this for about 4 days and I already see a huge difference in my skin...when I get a pimple the mark stays forever, and this has faded some recent marks dramatically in just the past 4 days. I have also noticed an improvement in overall tone and my skin feels plumper....I can't wait to see what happens after 2 months. I will keep you posted

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products