Clairol • Herbal essence totally twisted mousse • Styling Products

rated 3.3(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 10/12/2014 2:06:00 AM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: Smells good, alcohol-free, paraben-free, dirt cheap, lasts forever, available everywhere, gives my wavy hair a nice boost to loose curls, allows easy air-drying

Cons: Dries crunchy even if applied sparingly, no second-day hold

I like it. I'll keep it on hand. If I can find one that doesn't dry crunchy, though, I'm switching. I find it really hard to gauge if I've used enough product. Not enough, and my hair air-dries funny. Too much, even slightly, and it's Captain Crunch locks and I spend half my morning finger-combing out the stiffness. It's a very fine line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 josiebearly11209 on 11/15/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by josiebearly11209

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mousse. I have medium length, thick wavy hair that really needs a mousse for when I blow dry and this mousse is really nice. It is inexpensive, light and it smells SO nice. My boyfriend who is a big "Manly Man" loves the smell of it to and has put his entire face in my hair and just inhaled because it smells so nice. The smell doesn't last very long but it may be in part because I heat style after and usually spray some additional heat spray on my hair while it is dry and then use a thickening hair spray too to hold my waves. It is a very nice mousse however and I am sure other wavy or curlies would love it as well. My Mom has curly hair and she uses it before blow drying and her hair looks and smells great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Basan on 5/1/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Basan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

So far, this is the best mousse I have ever used. It holds really well on my super curly fine hair. After it dries, it will be crunchy so I scrunch out the crunch and it looks soft and moves freely.

Do NOT add water to your hair after using it. Once it's dry and you have your look, leave it alone and don't try to add more product or water on top of it otherwise it'll just frizz out.

There is no "second day" hold though. And it takes a while for my hair to dry before it's scrunch-ready so I do not consider this a style-and-go product. I always have to wait for it to set, the hair to dry, and then the scrunch for my hair to look decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BreMarie on 11/9/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by BreMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Pros:
Very lightweight, left my hair so incredibly soft and smooth, smells really great

Cons:
It's probably just because my hair is so thick and heavy, but it didn't hold the scrunch very well. Maybe I just need to use a stronger holding product. It looked great when I left the house, but by the end of the day it was basically straight with a little bit of wave. Still so soft though and not crunchy at all!

I will probably continue to use this when I want my hair to be kind of relaxed - not straight but not completely scrunched either, just a relaxed wave!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 reinventlovex on 3/31/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by reinventlovex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My go to mousse! I love this mousse, it smells amazing and makes my curls look good, not great though. Still, it is cheap and I don't want to be disappointed by another product so I'll stick with this. Try it, you will probably love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FootSoldier66 on 3/16/2012 9:50:00 PM more reviews by FootSoldier66

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

FINALLY an easy way to get my hair to look curly and shiny.

I have naturally confused hair. Sometimes it's wavy, sometimes it's straight. But i have a hard time getting the bouncy curls that I want. Of course a good curling wand helps but that just takes too much time.

I shower (or wet my hair), towel dry it a tad, and then scrunch this stuff into it. I've tried other mousses that claim to do what this mousse will but never had much luck before. Either the mousses (and some of them were EXPENSIVE) would make my hair hard and crunchy or it wouldn't do anything to curl my hair. But this stuff is soooo light and works into the hair like a dream.

After I scrunch it in, I then blowdry my hair on a medium setting with a diffuser. For the longest time i was skeptical about using a diffuser because I have long hair and it seemed like it would take forever to dry my hair that way. But i finally gave in and got one when my stylist told me i should.

First of all, it somehow magically dries my hair faster, and second of all, it leaves me with incredible bouncy, soft, shiny curls. And lastly it gives me volume I have never been able to achieve before. The combo of the mousse and the diffuser is a dream. And it is so easy that even I can do it and i am normally a retard when it comes to my hair.

I highly recommend this mousse. It feels so light, works so well, and smells so good. Plus even without a diffuser, it still does nice things for my hair, gives me nice beachy waves!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twatle on 12/15/2011 2:12:00 AM more reviews by twatle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very volumizing and light!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nadyushka24 on 8/6/2011 9:28:00 PM more reviews by nadyushka24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I have really curly hair, so I have spent probably 2 or 3 years searching for products that make it look nice. This is definitely one of my favorites! I use it on a daily basis, and it makes my curls not look frizzy and unruly. If you're looking for something that makes your hair soft, this product isn't it, but it's perfect for scrunching! I just shower, wait about 10 minutes to air dry my hair a lil, scrunch a few handfuls into my hair and walk out the door. BONUS: It's really cheap! $3 at Wal-Mart! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ceciliaaaa on 8/5/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Ceciliaaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: wonderful smell, cheap, bottle delivers the mousse efficiently and is attractive

Cons: doesn't do what it's supposed to do, did nothing to my hair except that it became stiff without curling even with the scrunching

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KandyKisses on 7/11/2011 2:45:00 AM more reviews by KandyKisses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

the only reason this awesome stuff gets a four is because of the smell. i think it smells pretty funky (as in, not so good!), and a few of my friends said they couldn't stand it. however, if you don't mind the smell, the product is great. when i want beachy curls without the beach, i dry and straighten my hair and bangs, and then use two handfuls for each side of my head. i use it on the bottom half of my hair and leave my bangs straight and tease the top a bit - super cute look. it also works super well for scrunching if you use a lot of it. overall, really good mousse for a great price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Styling Products products