L'Oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black

3.5

942 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/2/2015 4:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is ok. It does the job it says it does. In my opinion the original Loreal volumonous is better.



on 7/2/2015 3:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I expected to like this mascara because it's been around forever. But no! It's very wet and clumpy...the brush is loaded with clumps as soon as you pull it out. So it goes on unevenly with lots of clumps and takes A LOT of working through to get my lashes to look good, which is something I hate in a mascara. I dislike reaching for this mascara because I know it's going to be such a chore to use it. I will keep trying in the hope that it dries out somewhat and becomes easier to use.


on 6/17/2015 2:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

(for the record: I have thick, straight lashes. I have been using this mascara for the last 7 months, and my tube is on its way out.)

Pros:
I actually didn't like this as much at first. The formula at first is a bit too wet I think, but as it ages a little, the formula thickens up. (I have heard people suggest leaving the cap loosened for a few days.) After it thickened, I could easily get clumps out. Do make sure the wand isn't loaded up with too much product.
I like the volume this mascara gives my lashes.
I generally prefer larger, fiber brushes like this one to the ones with short, rubber bristles.
No eye irritation (a common problem for me, especially with Revlon mascaras)
No flakes

Cons:
Though this didn't flake, but it did smear under my eyes. I do have oily skin, so I might attribute it to that, but not all formulas do this to me. It also does not help my lashes hold a curl particularly well. My current remedy for both counts, until I use this up, is to use a thin coat of waterproof mascara on top to lock it in place. My current pairing for this is this mascara, the l'oreal voluminous carbon black + the voluminous waterproof version in black. (For a quick comparison, I like the volume of this mascara, the carbon black, and the hold of the waterproof version in black.)

Overall: I have some other mascaras to use after this (that I've already stocked up on) so I wouldn't repurchase this immediately. I might consider trying the waterproof version to help tackle the two major cons I listed. I would probably not recommend this to someone with very oily skin, and/or thin lashes. If you are willing to try some tricks of the trade with this old classic, I do think the volume is worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2015 10:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is the one that I buy when I can't get myself to splurge on something a little bit more expensive. I really love how dark it is, and I feel as though it goes on pretty evenly. It takes a little bit of manipulation and time to get my lashes to look exactly the way I want them to; however, would mascara at this price wouldn't. I would have to say that my only complaint is that the wand tends to have some excess mascara on it whenever you pull it out. I give this mascara five stars because I think it is the best mascara in its price range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2015 7:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This gives a nice fanned voluminous look. A little clumpy but not too bad. Long lasting as well.


on 5/2/2015 9:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is sh*t.. I decided to give it a try because it was on sale at walgreens and I was in need of a new mascara. I know I had used it before several years ago but couldn't remember if I liked it or not. I soon found out how terrible this mascara is. The mascara gets all clumped on the brush and does the same thing on my lashes. It made my lashes so clumpy and spidery looking. I had to use a spooly (not to sure how to spell it) brush to get the clumps out but it still looked pretty bad. It was fairly difficult to remove, had to use a makeup removing wipe and soap, which didn't remove it completely. Definitely will continue my search for my HG mascara.


on 5/1/2015 9:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great color, lasts and doesn't run or flake. My only issue is just how long it lasts, it takes A LoT to get it off! I use neutrogena wipes, maybelline eye make up remover, lotion, etc. and it still has residue


on 4/7/2015 1:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Incredibly dark, wet formula. You have to work a little bit with this one (which I hate, but what can you do) but then the results are great. My biggest beef is that the brush emerges with SO much extra product -- wiping the brush off first is an absolute must. I stubbornly resisted this for a while, as I loathe extra steps, and ended up with random clumps and flakes as the day wore on. Not great for contact wearers. But if you wipe it off, it applies like a dream and flaking is greatly reduced (almost nonexistent). The brush isn't too fat, so you can really get at the base of your lashes and glide it through to build volume. I don't use an eyelash curler, but this doesn't weigh down my lashes. They stay fairly lifted the whole day, just from that first and only application. Lashes don't feel stiff, either.

Pros: very dark, affordable, easy to remove, wears well and stays on for most of the day.
Cons: a lot of product is wasted, very wet/messy at first (but dries quickly), and you'll get clumps/flakes if you're not careful.

I'm resigned to the fact that I'll never truly love a mascara, but I do come running back to this one very frequently! It serves me well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 5:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is brilliant!!!! I discovered it about six years ago and i always have to have one on me. i buy other mascaras occasionally but i haven't found one as good as this. Its a bit messy so it takes a skilled sleight of hand and some clean up but Its worth it !! All throughout highschool I've been asked whether i wear false eyelashes or not so needless to say im enamored by this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

hands down the worst mascara i've ever tried. incredibly thick, wet and clumpy product on a brush that resembles a toilet bowl brush. the brush is ridiculously big and loads way too much product on. if you have short lashes or small eyes, most of the product will end up on your eyelids. my lashes smeared and clumped together on the first coat. horrible


Video Reviews & Tutorials

BeautyGeeks: Problem w Voluminous Million Lashes mascara by Janine Falcon

Mario Dedivanovic and Kim Kardashian Makeup Video part 2 by MarioDedivanovic



Back to Top