L'Oreal • Double Extend in Carbon Black • Mascara

rated 3.9(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Griffin13 on 4/2/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Griffin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Will revisit this post later as this is my first time wearing it.

So far I really love it. I have become disappointed and avoided D/S mascaras for quite some time now however gave this one a shot based on numerous reviews online. I had fallen in love with Too Faced-Better than False lashes which requires you to put fibres on lashes between coats. Initially Amazing, thought it was HG material however it did not last (see my review for more info). I really liked the concept however which persuaded me to try this mascara.

So far, easy to apply both, I don't know why people are concerned about there being two steps it did not take long to apply. 5 hours later curl still held, dark black lashes, no flakes, no smudges. Very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/18/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara makes my teensy, non-existent lashes which point straight down into nowhere land - actually touch my brows. Crazy. I normally avoid most lengthening mascaras because they make my lashes look spidery and terrible. This one is great - the lashes look long, but thick enough that they're not spidery.

The two step are annoying, but at least the 1st step "primer" part isn't your typical pasty white chalky stuff that crumbles off after an hour or shows through mascara. It dried somewhat clear, which I like - almost like a primer for the face, where it looks white but dries clear if that makes sense.

The 2nd step is the mascara, which has a nice dense medium-sized brush which I found very comfortable to use (I have hooded eyes and can't do huge brushes). The formula is thin and somewhat dry but easy to build and added some volume but mostly A LOT of length. Never clumps on me either and I never have to use a lash comb with this one so that saves time. No issues with flaking and the colour is an intense black. L'Oreal's Butterfly Lash is still my HG - but this is definitely in my top favourites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TimDuncanFan on 9/16/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by TimDuncanFan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this mascara. i dont own a eyelash curler cus my eyelashes are long and curl on their own. this makes them look sooper long and i always get compliments on my eyelashes. now i myself have thick and they sometimes stick together. i just use a eyebrow brush and fan them out and seperate them. i highy say buy youll look awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CorrineSays on 8/10/2012 5:10:00 AM more reviews by CorrineSays

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara, I apply the primer then curl my lashes. It seems to work a lot better for me this way. The only fault I can find is it is hard to wash off, for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haidehh on 4/19/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by haidehh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to love this mascara but i think the US formulation is different than the europe one. the europe one was great. this one was really bad. smudges.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayladsquared on 2/20/2012 3:42:00 PM more reviews by kayladsquared

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Why, why, does L'Oreal test on animals?

I love this mascara. The few times I have been asked if I was wearing flasies were with this mascara. Super black, super plumping, super lengthening. I only said I would not repurchase because of L'Oreal's animal testing policies. I use this only when I can borrow my mama's. D:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JuicyGirlx33 on 1/18/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by JuicyGirlx33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The best lengthening mascara ever, it does a great job separating and lengthening. I use it after the Earth Therapeutics eyelash curler.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beaumonde on 1/14/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Beaumonde

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    



Good marks for the whole Carbon Black colouration in L'Oreal's line of mascaras. But that's about all I can say on the plus side.


This mascara however - extended absolutely NOTHING! There are much better mascaras in L'Oreal's lineup. This took forever to get on evenly and as for the flaking...


It did not perform in any of the ways a basic mascara should. This particular mascara is L'Oreal's "Wombat" - ie. a Waste Of Money, Brains and Time. Don't even bother. Even though it's inexpensive, money is money and I begrudge even the modest amount I paid for this useless mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whoshore on 8/25/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by whoshore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I picked up a tube of this mascara at the drugstore one day because I wasn't in the mood to go to Sephora and drop a lot of money on something new that might or might not work. I like this product! I think the shape of the primer brush is excellent for applying the product in one swoop, and while the mascara doesn't knock my socks off, it stays on well but isn't murder on the lashes to remove. I would classify it as an everyday mascara, because I don't find it creates really dramatic effects, but it's very effective and you don't have to worry about it ending up under your eyes. That alone makes it well worth the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 8/12/2010 2:55:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is just okay. I love mascara with primers, but this one seemed very dry, both the primer and the mascara. It was so dry that I could only get one coat of each. It's terrible when you pay ten bucks for a mascara and it's dried out. I don't mind if they are too wet ~ I can always wait for them to dry.


The primer did provide my lashes with some length. Had it been a newer tube, I probably would have loved this. IMO, L'oreal's mascaras are too expensive. I will run this tube under hot water and see if I have better luck. I might try this again, if I catch this on sale...Still on my mascara search.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products