DDF Sensitive Skin Cleansing Gel

3.9

53 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: WATER, AMMONIUM LAURETH SULFATE, COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE, GLYCERIN, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, AMMONIUM CHLORIDE, COCAMIDE DEA, POLYSORBATE 20, METHYLPARABEN, PHENOXYETHANOL, DMDM HYDANTOIN, ALLANTOIN, DISODIUM EDTA, PROPYLPARABEN, TRICLOSAN, PANTHENOL, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF JUICE, SYMPHYTUM OFFICINALE LEAF EXTRACT, CALENDULA OFFICINALIS FLOWER EXTRACT, SAMBUCUS NIGRA FRUIT EXTRACT, METHYLISOTHIAZOLINONE, METHYLCHLOROISOTHIAZOLINONE. 06/09/09


on 7/9/2012 3:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was going through a rough skin phase in my life..had always had great skin, in high school I never ever washed my face at night, nor really took great care of it..so I shoulda known it would back fire in college, I broke out in bumps and white heads all over my jaw line, cheeks, forehead, and chin SO gross :(. I went through just about every cleanser, nothing! So I had gone into Sephora and the sales lady talked me into this one. UM about 1 month after use I had broke into cystic acne, it looked like a rash, itched, and stung. My face had gotten 50% worse, and it was so red, it looked like a bad sun burn. I was miserable. This stuff is AWFUL. Eventually, I am now back to my good skin but it took a while to recover after this crap.



on 1/4/2012 3:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

If you have oily skin, I think this would work well for a lightly foaming, AM cleanser. It rinses without leaving a residue, and does not contain SLS/SLES. However, I have combo, sensitive skin, with dry patches in the winter, and this really made the drier areas of my face itchy. I have tried using it over several weeks, to make sure it wasn't something else causing the reaction...but it just isn't for me. I also didn't feel like it is any less drying than my Cetaphil for Normal/Oily, which I have been using for years but am now trying to replace as my skin is changing.
FYI, this is not going to remove much makeup, etc., if at all, so I wouldn't recommend it for evening cleansing. Even with a separate makeup remover, this was not able to totally clean my face.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am still on the fence about this product. I got this super cheap off of Gilt. It was about $30 along with the dew moisturizer. I really like the moisturizer. This cleanser is gentle - my husband loves it but considering how much it costs I am a tad conflicted about repurchasing. It works great if you have a Clarisonic and need a gentle cleanser. On its own it is not great at removing makeup. I have pretty tempermental skin and this cleanser does not flare it up. For me it is kind of like a foaming Cetaphil but that is not really fair since I hate Cataphil. What I love about this cleanser is that my face does not feel stripped at all.


on 12/4/2010 7:45:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

UPDATE #1: Well, I don't think I've updated a review this early, LOL, but within minutes of writing the original one last night, my eye area started to burned and itch a bit. Very dried out feeling and I had already applied my usual eye products. I immediately applied some DDML which helped. Obviously, something is in this that is annoying. :( INGREDIENTS on new bottle (different from above): Water, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, PEG-200 Hydrogenated glyceryl palmate, Propylene Glycol, PPG-2 Hydroxyethylcoco/isostearamide, Tocopheryl acetate, Allantoin, Aloe Leaf Juice, Panthenol, Calendula Flower extract, Sambucus Nigra fruit extract, Ammonium Chloride, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Butylene glycol, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate. ORIGINAL REVIEW: So this is very preliminary, since I just received this today and have used it once tonight in replacement of my regular gel cleanser (Face Reality) which was recently reformulated. I'm on the hunt (again) for a great ALES-based cleanser so I ordered this one. Skin feels VERY clean....a tad bit more drying but not a deal-breaker, at least for my combo skin. I did not change the ingredients above since all the websites, including DDF's, has the original ingredients listed.....they just don't match the new bottle I have in hand. I will update after I've used this for awhile. Fingers crossed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Perfect! To be honest, I did not expect such a result on my dry-sensitive skin, since I was never staisfied with gel cleansers. This one is really different, soft and clean.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why this cleanser did not worked for me. I have sensitive, oily, and acne-prone skin, and so I thought after reading a lot of reviews here, I would like this cleanser, but I didn't. This cleanser made me breakout really bad. I had little bumps all over my forehead, chin, and sides of my face. I think it is because I am allergic to aloe.


on 4/3/2009 2:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

my huge cleanser!!
ive been using this one since 2005.
i have a really sensitive skin and tried tons of products.
this one really works well.
i only use this for cleansing my skin and it cleans all my makeup.
totally recommend to ppl who have really sensitive and dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2009 9:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have very sensitive skin. This is my HG cleanser. I have used it for 1+ years. It costs $30 but lasts a very long time since you only need about a drop to cleanse your face and neck. I use it day and night.


on 10/10/2008 2:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Holy Grail. Hands down the best cleanser I've ever used. I remove my makeup first with a makeup remover and then use this lightly foaming gel. My skin is left clean, not tight. Repurchased many times.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2008 5:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I would have never thought that a sensitive skin cleansing gel would do the trick for my acne prone, super oily skin, but this cleanser does the trick. It lathers up into nice light bubbles and cleanses really well. I am diligent in removing my makeup and then I use this cleanser for about 2 minutes. I rinse thoroughly with water and have avoided facecloths since my dermatologist told me to.


After dabbing my face dry, my skin never feels tight, just clean. I have repurchased this cleanser 3 times now, and would really be up the creek if it was ever discontinued. I would have to say it is definitely my holy grail cleanser! Of course, it would be nicer if it was a little less expensive, but the product does last long as a little goes a long way, and frankly for something that works this well I would probably pay doutble, but don't tell DDF that!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top