Bond No.9 • Fire Island • Fragrances

rated 3.3(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 LucieP on 8/9/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by LucieP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fire Island smells like a suntan lotion (any brand) and clean laundry. I did not have the opportunity to try this scent beforehand, and because of the mixed reviews here I expected to either love or hate it. When I received it my first thought was that it simply does not smell like a standard fragrance; it is rather a relaxed feeling. However, in spite of my original confusion I've been wearing Fire Island for a week and appreciate this scent more and more.
Regarding its longevity, it certainly lasts 8 hrs if not more, but the comfortable scent of body lotion and cleanliness feels so natural, that I do not smell of a perfume, just clean and fresh. Also, the cleanliness is not aseptic and or astringent, but it is a comforting mix of very gentle tuberose and musk. Usually I avoid fragrances containing tuberose (I can appreciate Fracas, for example, but cannot wear it myself), but here it somehow works. I've received compliments even from complete strangers. However, I strongly recommend you try it before purchase, because Fire Island is highly specific and might become an expensive mistake.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmandaHW on 10/17/2012 3:54:00 PM more reviews by AmandaHW

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So, here it is. I am definitely not as familiar with niche perfumes as many of the reviewers at MUA. I have tried a few different things from a few niche brands. Also, I don't really have a problem with buying a $30 perfume if that's what I like...but the sample I received of this made me purchase my first Bond. I love this stuff. I don't really get coppertone from this (if you want that go for the less expensive Bobbi Brown Beach, which I also like...but find it much more synthetic) but I get warm beach...neroli and warm east coach beach breezes is the best way I can describe it. I'm not usually a patchouli person at all either, but it somehow works for me in this. It is terribly expensive, and I want to take a lippie off for that, but really I love it so much I don't care. It also just works with my chemistry, I can spray FI on before work and still smell it at the end of the day (which I have a short list of perfumes for which I can say that). I also get more compliments on this (from both sexes) than most any other perfume I have tried. So yeah, I'll cringe when I fork over the $, but I'm sure I'll be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gother on 9/29/2012 4:24:00 PM more reviews by Gother

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

If you stay with me on this dreamy beach today, I'll hug you gently and I'll cover you with salty musky kisses under the brightest sun. You'll be fine and you won't bother the sweat coming from your warm skin 'cause the tuberose wind will keep you fresh and alive. I promise you a neroli zenith to make this summer unforgettable and patchouli golden, so you'll never forget how good it feels to be alive. Please Lord, make this cardamom summer last forever and make this skin scent never leave my memory, for I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 7/27/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Unique. Warm. Sensual. Sexy. Fresh.

Quite possibly is my new favorite from Bond over West Side. It's a unisex tuberose skin scent with clean musk at the dry down. After getting a sample I wondered why I'm only just now smelling such a beautiful scent.

I love the beach and will live on a beach someday soon. Currently in KC in the middle of a heat wave, this scent takes me to vacation in one whiff! It smells like clean, warm skin that's been out in the sun all day. I don't get Coppertone or Hawaiian Tropic at all, but European high end sunscreen. Think St Tropez, not Malibu.

Ordered a full 3.3 oz which I get in the mail tomorrow! This is one of the fragrances that I didn't wait to use up a sample on before I ordered. It's THAT good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ruby2003 on 10/14/2011 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Ruby2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Price of this alone is prohibitive. I was also lucky enough to score a sample size of this. I do love tihs as a summer fragrance and it does in fact smell so much like Coppertone! But now that I spend so little time in the sun it makes no sense to purchase the Coppertone. The scent does not last like Fire Island. I will cry when this sample is gone as there is no way I will ever purchase at the price offered. Which is too bad as its a great summer scent. Luckily I have a few other fav's to get me through.

"The scent of bronzing: Certified New York sun-kissed skin. The quintessential male-female beach-and-suntan scent, to wear all summer or to summon up the scent of musky, sun-baked skin."

Notes: Cardamom, neroli, white musk, tuberose, patchouli

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FLBeachGrl on 3/11/2011 12:00:00 PM more reviews by FLBeachGrl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Thankfully, I got a $4 sample of this and didn't invest the $$$$ that a full bottle costs. Yes, it does smell like Coppertone. But my question is, why not just buy a bottle of Coppertone for around $7 and use it as a body lotion and save yourself around $213? Plus FI had poor lasting power on me, about 30 mins., and the Coppertone will last for hours. IMO the Bonds are outrageously expensive and not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 10/2/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Aside from Chinatown, this is the only other Bond No.9 I've sampled so far. It isn't bad--it does smell like suntan lotion, but not like suntan lotion straight from the bottle. It has this odd quality where it smells like suntan lotion that's heated up and absorbed into your skin, which I find to be pretty impressive. I don't dislike it, and it's not chemical or cloying. However, as a pale, freckled woman who gets queasy when she hears the words "cruise" or "tanning", I am so far from being a beach babe... in other words, this just doesn't suit me at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iodine on 9/10/2010 11:23:00 PM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

When I graduated HS in the early 60's this is the suntan lotion I recall. For the Bond #9's this scent is tolerable, only for that reason. I abhor the other #9's. This then turns dirty smelling and not something I would want to smell like. At any price, let alone the obscene charged for this. Bottle is lovely and would be great with some tolerable juice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* myolderbrother on 4/7/2010 2:46:00 AM more reviews by myolderbrother

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The notes in this are blended well but the predominant note that lingers aannnndddd lingers is cardamon, which is a very odd loud note in a beachy fragrance. I was expecting to adore this and I actually am giving my large sample away!! As much as I seek out things to appreciate about 'interesting' fragrances, I cannot do that with this one!!! I might even call it a stinker!!!!
ok - the bottle still rocks though!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cavegyal on 12/20/2009 4:08:00 PM more reviews by Cavegyal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Oh dear.

I had been searching for my holy grail of beach scents.... Ive tried Bronze Goddess (LOVE!), Deseo, Harajuku Lovers G, Creed Virgin Island Water, Bobbi Brown Beach, Miami Glow, Coconut Vanille, and finally found a sample of the much raved about Fire Island. I really though this would be it....

What a dissapointment. Admittedly, it DOES smell like Ambre Solaire...however it reminds me more of the smell of self tanning creme a few hours after application.

I think I am more of an Hawaiian Tropic girl, than Coppertone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bond No.9 products

More Fragrances products