La Roche Posay • Anthelios XL 50 Creme Fondante PPD 25 • Sunscreen

rated 3.7(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 haianhdang on 12/17/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by haianhdang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is disappointing!!
I bought this from a friend's recommendation. It is very thick, leaves a white cast on my face, and takes a really realy long time to absorb. I cannot use this in the summer. But now it's winter so I try to use it up and use other kinds of sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 11/3/2013 2:33:00 AM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I definitely felt protected from the sun however the UVA protection wasn't strong enough and I still developed sun spots and freckles. Its quite thick but sunscreen needs to be since otherwise you sweat it off. This definitely is waterproof and lasts a long time. I still feel that Shiseido and the Japanese sunscreen creams are better both in UVA and finish. I will not repurchase again but I did quite enjoy using this. I don't like the shaker liquid sunscreens in this brand as I don't feel they give nearly as enough protection as the creams but this is just a little too goopy for me since its hard to layer any make up on top of this at all. I also like Bioderma Spot sunscreen better as it isn't as heavy and provides greater UVA protection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kallisandra on 6/26/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Kallisandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Anthelios XL for the past 5 years and this sunscreen is top notch. Most difficult to get in the US, but pop over to Canada or Mexico and it's sitting on the shelf. Or make friends with someone that lives anywhere but the US. Also note that when sold in the US it's about $10 more of a markup. Really it's a french drugstore brand so it's sold at drug store prices over there and on par with the cost of Neutrogena or Oil of Olay. The translated cost is anywhere from $10-20 US instead of $30-35 stateside from a shady amazon dealer.

This meltin cream is for combo/dry skin but leaning more towards dry side. Since my skin is super parched due to usage of prescription retinoids I love this sunscreen. I'm fanatically and layer both a physical sunscreen (this one) wait 10 min and then apply a clear physical one (elta md uv clear 46).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lervy on 2/11/2013 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Lervy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this sunblock for more than 5 year and I am still loving it. The texture is pretty thick and leaves a faint white cast on the skin which I can accept. It may feels heavy if you apply too much or on top of your BB creme. On the tube it states it is very water resistance hence even without any makeup on, please use a makeup remover first before your facial cleanser.

I found this to be an effective sunblock is because after so many years under the sun, my face never gets tan or burn. I have freckles but they are not obvious. I would highly recommend if you have drier skin but perhaps not for summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 2/5/2013 8:55:00 AM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is really hard to rub into your skin. After rubbing it in for several minutes, my face feels kind of "thick" and hard. Really strange. It was very expensive to buy in my country, so my money is wasted. At least I can use it on my hands/body without any problem, and at least it is paraben free and fragrance free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irina1411 on 12/2/2012 4:46:00 AM more reviews by irina1411

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Effective sun screen, but kind of shiny. It doesn't give you a matte look, and this can be corrected by adding a little powder, if necessary. Personally, I'd always go for Bioderma sunscreen, as the best alternative on the market for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sofinthesky on 11/24/2012 10:56:00 AM more reviews by sofinthesky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have rosacea and very dry skin.
I used to use the Fluid Extreme (is supposed to be for oily/combination skin) version and I liked it very much, so when I found this melt-in cream for dry skin I had to try it.

The only difference I find is the texture, I also find this one to be a little bit more moisturizing, which is great.
I read people complaining about the white cast it leaves, well it's true. What I do is apply my normal moisturizing after the sunscreen and the white cast disappears completely.

I prefer the packaging from the Fluid Extreme sunscreen, but overall this is a great product, and will probably buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mandibulo on 6/29/2011 8:30:00 AM more reviews by Mandibulo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Recently got this product after being pulled in by the fact that the Anthelios line provides a variety of formulas aimed specifically towards different skin types, which I thought was ingenius. The formula I picked is the one intended for dry skin, which is supposed to be loaded with hydrating elements to keep the skin supple and comfy, something I find extremely convenient in summer, since this particular consistency eliminates the need for additional moisturizer. The thing is, I often find it too be a little too thick. It does sink into my skin eventually, but it feels overly heavy and almost too hydrating, making me look shiny for a couple hours after I apply it. Probably the oil-free formula for normal/combo skin would fit me better; still need to experiment on that. The cream does leave a noticable white cast all over the face, as well as a few streaks, especially near the hairline, even though I make it a point to blend it as well as I can. I'm not too bothered about the white cast though, because all sunscreens (especially those containing SPF 50+) seem to have the same effect, plus if I absolutely dreaded the white cast I'd go for a tinted sunblock. One thing it does impeccably though, is accept makeup. Even the thickest, cakiest pastes (like my Mac studio finish concealer) melt into the skin better than ever, without sitting on top of it, and they remain like that throughout the day. Impressive! As for the rest of its benefits, it seems to protect me nicely - I don't even tan with this on, my face stays milky white all summer while my body tans, and I just unify the two with makep. Its scent is quite sunscreen-like, which I love, only a tad more on the medicinal side. So if you're willing to deal with the ghostly look and heavy feeling on your face, by all means go for it. I'll prolly keep my options open.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* signemarie on 6/23/2011 5:11:00 AM more reviews by signemarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the FRENCH version (made and bought in France) without perfume or parabens.

Reading the label, this product should be everything I need. No perfume, no parabens and high spf. I have rosacea and my face skin is totally dependant on a good SPF. I hate to be the one to say it, but for those of you with very sensitive skin and rosacea/exzema, this product is simply NOT IT.

It's way too harsh. It literally burns my skin when I put it on. Under no curcomstances can I use it when I have the slightest exzema, it simply stings too much. I suppose it's ok if your face skin is in good condition (no broken/fragile skin whatsoever), but that's unfortunately rare for me to have completely 'closed' skin.

I give it three stars because I appreciate that major brands make sunscreens with high SPF without perfume and parabens, but I am MUCH happier with my Lovea organic sunscreen (bought from mypure). No stinging at all, even when I have exzema.

So, good if you have good, slightly sentizised skin, too harsh for very sensitive skin. Hope this helps :)

ETA: Be advised that there are at least two and possibly three different versions (US & Americas, EU and Asia) of this product, apart from the fake ones. This review is for the European version without perfume or parabens, bought in a pharmacy Paris, so should be legit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 krpytful on 12/21/2010 7:03:00 AM more reviews by krpytful

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

tried the sunscreen fluid version, but it left a deathly white cast after application, and it was a little too dry for comfort (i use retin-a nightly). having read some reviews about the melt-in cream version, i had so much wanted to love it, but it left me shiny after use, even when i piled on foundation and powder, the shine still shows, and it gets worse into the day; four hours down the road, you get shine plus oil, AND dirty, oxidized makeup. if you were to use it alone, after some activity, the sunscreen will somehow magically "transform" into beads of perspiration, you literally have to wipe it off, blotting doesn't help. sorely disappointed. only redeeming factor? it doesn't leave a white cast. I'll probably use it on other body parts apart from face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products