Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Pearl

4.4

143 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Homosalate, Glyceryl Stearate, Octyldodecanol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Trilaureth-4 Phosphate, Hexylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract), Ceteareth-12, Ceteareth-20, Persea Gratissima (Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil), Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract), Fructose, Glucose, Sucrose, Urea, Dextrin, Alanine, Glutamic Acid, Aspartic Acid, Hexyl Nicotinate, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Barium Sulfate, Parfum (Fragrance) and may contain: [ /- Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491, Red 40 CI 16035, Blue 1 CI 42090, Bismuth Oxychloride CI 77163, Mica].


on 7/17/2015 12:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pearl is a beautiful glowy white highlighter. I tend to stick to white as I am very pale and gold/pinks tend to stand out on me. Pearl just sets into my skin and looks like I am glowing from within.

I have the liquid version. The pump is awful, it lets out too much product, but what I do is pump it towards the ceiling so that the excess falls onto the top. Then, I dab my beauty blender into it very quickly and put the cap back on. The product doesn't set or dry really so when I take the cap off I still have product waiting to be used.

When I finish my RMS Living Luminizer I will probably buy the poured/pressed version of this. Or perhaps moonstone or opal so that I have a tiny bit of diversity. I have a feeling Becca knows what they are doing here with the highlights and I trust them enough to pick out a non white highlighter.



on 6/29/2015 8:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This gives such a beautiful glow to cheekbones it doesn't have glitter so it doesn't look chunky or fake it looks like a natural candlelight glow on your face at all times


on 4/7/2015 8:04:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

NW-20 / Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H in 110C

The Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in pearl is one of my all-time favorites for a glowing, minimal makeup look. I am pale enough that most blushes look artificial without a lot of work. The Becca SSP makes my not very prominent cheekbones [round face] pop - without any contouring. It does not look greasy, just very healthy and pretty. It gives a lift to my whole face.

I can do my foundation, then apply the Becca SSP on the top of my cheekbones, down my nose, under / above my brows and be done except for eyeliner and lipstick. It saves me a ton of time and looks great. I just had a photo taken and my cheekbones with the Becca looked just the way I hoped they always would [but never did before in photos].

It's buildable, so you can vary the look you want to achieve.

The pump dispenses too much product for my uses, so I skip it. I use my fingers to apply and blend, which is also great for travel. It works beautifully with fingers, since it is very emollient.

I have the pressed powder version of the SSP, but prefer the liquid for a really natural lit-from-within glow. The powder is good, too, but can quickly look overdone and needs a good brush to blend properly. It is also not as great on dryer skin. I also have Watts Up and used that until I found the Becca SSP. It looks more "made up" than the SSP and much less glowing. I haven't used it since getting the SSP.

I use it every day and will be buying it as long as they make it. The price is high, which is why I gave it 3 lippies for price, but I feel it is very worth the money since I don't need a lot of other products when I wear this and it makes me feel my very best!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2015 3:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was initially attracted to this highlighter when I swatched it and saw that it was indeed pale enough for me. Overall, it is a very nice highlighter that gives a nice glow to the cheekbones--or wherever you place it. It can be intense or subtle, depending on how you sheer it out. For the amount you get, I think the price is pretty fair. You do get a lot of product.
The pump isn't my favorite. Even when I try to do half a pump, a lot of product comes out.


on 3/3/2015 9:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Beautiful finish when mixed with tinted moisturizer, but caused instantaneous breakout on clear skin. Approximately 5 blemishes appeared the evening after wearing this. Longevity is debatable but irrelevant to me, as I cannot use this product. Still searching for a luminizer that I can mix with foundations and tinted moisturizers without causing breakouts.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2015 1:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Best liquid highlighter i have ever come across, this is not a glittery highlighter, more a subtle glow kind of thing.
My all time favourite is NARS Albatross, this is like a liquid form of that and probably even a touch more subtle.
I apply foundation, then blush, then this on the highpoint of my cheeks and my skin looks like they glow from within.
Absolutely beautiful highlighter, expensive but heaps of product, if i have any complain i would say 1 pump is really too much and would prefer the bottle dispense less product.

ETA, I am fair-med skin tone, wear MAC NW20, Chanel#20 foundations

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 12:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is an excellent cheek highlight if you have pale skin. It creates a very natural shine. Although it does contain glitter, the glitter pieces are so tiny, it doesn't look like you have glitter on your face. Just a nice shimmer on cheekbones. I was using the Nars multiple in copacabana, and I much prefer this.

I have a lot of rednesss in my cheeks, so I use a heavier foundation to cover them - which leaves me with a very matte looking skin. The becca shimmering perfector adds just enough of a sheen to make my face look naturally dewy, and makes my foundation look so much better.

The packaging sucks. The pump delivers way too much product. Even trying to do a half pump, I still have way too much. It's so wasteful, especially when the product is so pricey.

Being a liquid, it blends really easily and isn't drying. (and I have VERY dry skin)

It's the best cheekbone highlight I have found. It's pricey, but will last a VERY long time. You get a lot of product, and you only need a tiny bit. I have been using for nearly a year, and have lots left. No signs of separation.

If you are looking for a dupe, try the Boots No7 Illuminating lotion. I did think the boots lotion worked fairly well, and is considerably cheaper. Mine didn't last long, it separated and smelled a little funny after a few months though.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2014 11:24:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought a holiday gift pack with 3 shimmering skin perfector highlighters. This is my review for each.

Pros (for all 3 colors)
- I really like the fact that all of Becca's highlighters provide a metallic glisten to the skin as opposed to a glittery/sparkly ones that some other highlighters provide.
- I also liked this holiday gift pack that provided me with 3 different color options. I find the full-size Becca shimmering skin perfectors to be too big ; I would rather have 3 color options to play with than 1 big product that I am stuck using.
- I had a really nice highlighter from Josie Maran that was a spectacular color and wonderful finish, but I hardly ever ended up using it. I think that was down to the fact that it became monotone after a while only using one highlighter color. Therefore, if & when I buy my next highlighters, I hope to find them in a color set like this one.

Cons (for all 3) - sometimes they were too neutral and barely noticable. Which is fantastic if you're going for a natural finish. But at times, I felt like I had to reapply lots to get an effect. This may also be a factor of the mini-sized products that I got which dispensed a lot less product than the full sized ones with a pump do.
- Expensive

Pearl - white color - the most neutral and fits with everything & anything you are wearing. I liked putting this one under my eyebrows and around my eyes the most because it was so neutral. I reached for this color most often.

Opal - rosy color - wonderful color, great for highlighting cheeks. But because of the latter statement, I also found that I did not reach for this color as much as the other ones which I used on different areas of my face, not just cheekbones).

Champagne Gold - gold color - I did not expect to like this color, but surprisingly it was a very nice gold that I did not mind wearing. It actually ended up being my "2nd favorite" based on which product I reached for most often. This one reminded me the most of the Josie Maran highlighter I had previously, except less "glittery" (the Josie Maran one wasn't that glittery, was also great) and more subtle than the JM one.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this as a light subtle highlighter. I've used benefit highbeam before and this reminds of it, except the consistency is more watery and the glitter is lighter.

In the directions it says that you can mix it with foundations, but I don't find the glitter fine enough to do so.

It's also on the pricier side, except you get so much product... lol you probably never have to buy highlighter again. It would be awesome if they came out with a travel size version like they do with moonstone and opal shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2014 12:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

YES! I got this in a sample from Sephora and I'm in love! What a wonderful highlighter! It's light and blends well. Great for highlighting cheekbones and browbones. Great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top