Becca • Luminous Skin Color sheer foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(376 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 milevamaric on 7/19/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by milevamaric

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I disagree with the majority of negative reviews concerning this product. My fair skin is reactive to almost every product, so finding foundations and bases is an incredibly difficult and arduous task. With that said, I've been using this product consistently for approximately two weeks and have not experienced any abnormal breakouts or skin issues that are cause for concern. My skin is incredibly sensitive, so (typically) any product-induced acne occurs within days or within a week. To be fair, I am not 100 percent positive that I'm in the clear until a month of consistent usage, so I will update if there are any changes.

Since my first concern with any products I will be applying to my face is their potential for inducing acne, I am overjoyed to say that not only does this product meet that criteria (it does not cause blemishes), but it provides a very beautiful and dewy finish. If you do not have perfect skin, as many mentioned, you will absolutely need to use other products if you're attempting to create a doll-like or flawless finish. I apply this product in Porcelain, wait several minutes, apply a sheer layer of Lorac Natural Performance in NP1 (using a slightly damp sponge), and then cover any blemishes with Makeup Forever concealer (shade 4). The result is incredibly natural and child-like skin. My skin has literally never looked so flawless, which is particularly impressive, considering I'm in China for the summer, where my skin typically behaves badly.

As far as longevity and sun protection, this product also delivers. The flawless finish remains for approximately 8 to 12 hours, which is typically suitable for my "schedule." If I apply this in the morning, before I go out in the evening I use a tiny bit of concealer to touch up any uneven spots. Concerning sun protection, I disagree with other reviewers. I spent 7 hours in the very hot Southern China sun today, and forgot to apply lotion on my back. My back is literally bright red, but my face, which I generously applied this to, is not burnt or displaying any signs of damage.

To conclude this review, I should note that this product is now discontinued. I purchased it for about 17 dollars from a discount website, and have just purchased 2 more bottles as back-ups. Unfortunately, once I've used these three tubes, I will once again be back to the drawing board. Until then, I am very, very pleased!

PS: If you want one-step, quick coverage (assuming you don't have perfect skin), you should not purchase this. I believe people are mislead by the title of this product, as foundations typically offer more coverage. However, this truly does function as a foundation in the truest sense, as I literally apply this as the foundation for my other products, and it enhances and elevates their performance. (The most comparable product to this that I've found is Chantecaille's Just Skin, which is labeled as a tinted moisturizer and has a very similar finish. However, at over 60 dollars, this product is not nearly as good. It also causes cysts on my chin, so I still have a half-used tube.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OoBrittany on 6/21/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by OoBrittany

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Of course as soon as I fall in love with this, it gets discontinued. I don't wear foundation much these days, but this is extremely light and makes me look glowy and pretty. Like my skin, but better. The only thing I don't like about it is the smell, which tends to linger.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Avawelles on 3/3/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by Avawelles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't have a lot to add to the reviewers below. This is a very light coverage and it goes on very smoothly. HOWEVER: this broke me out horribly. I stopped using it for a few days and then started again just to be sure it was the culprit. It was. If you have sensitive skin, I would beware of this product. A super light coverage is sort of pointless if it breaks you out so bad you end up needing to wear something with more coverage. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sayoko on 2/23/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Sayoko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been a fan of Becca and The Luminous skin color is no exception! The name for this product is spot on! light coverage dewey foundation. I personally prefer a light coverage foundation and more coverage in areas need like under my eyes for example. Although it covers only minor imperfections it gives off a polished looking healthy glow to the skin. It looks like my skin but better! something I love as I'm not a fan of cake up look or a mask. I've tried other brands that claim their BB cream, CC cream looks like skin but better but BECCA luminous skin color has them all beat. I will definitely buy this again, as I have since BECCA is discontinuing this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 niachoi on 9/27/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by niachoi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First I would like to start out by saying I have never written a review before on this site or any other site as it relates to makeup. However, I do visit these sites frequently to read others review prior or after buying a product and I must say the reviews on this site have helped me out tremendously. On to the review about this product, I have always had great skin (not to sound cocky) but I have never had ANY problem with acne and I often get complimented on how nice my skin is. Within the past few years I started wearing makeup and not for coverage but mainly for color because I like to look tanner than I am. Just to get an idea of my skin tone, in mac I wear NC45. Because I never really needed the coverage I absolutely hate the makeup look and I hate to look like I am wearing makeup. I like to look like myself but with a face full of makeup I don’t feel like I do. I have tried every makeup you could think of and I don't care about price because I don't mind to splurge if it’s for my skin and especially if it's going to give me what I’m looking for. Just to name a few of the products I've tried. (Dior Nude BB Cream, Mac skin, Mac Mineral, Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, Nars tinted moisturizer, Tart BB Cream, Bobbi Brown BB Cream, Bobbi Brown Luminous Foundation, Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturizer, and that's just to name a few) . Don't get me wrong some of these foundations are nice such as the Dior Nude BB Cream and Mac Mineralize Foundation which I was using prior to trying Becca) , but I was still searching for something that would give me a hint of color but still VERY NATURAL WITHOUT ANY COVERAGE, BASICALLY LIKE YOUR OWN SKIN. This brings me to the Becca foundation. When I googled searched natural luminous makeup a YouTube video of an Asian girl popped up and I thought it was great since I am half Asian and the girl also had great skin. Once I watched the video and read the reviews on Makeup Alley and read the reviews on Becca’s website I wanted to run to the nearest Sephora. When I got off of work I hurried to Sephora and tried on the product. The sales girl told me how great of a product it was and how great it looked on my skin, which I had to agree and she gave me a sample. I was in love with this foundation! I went back days later and purchased the full bottle. After wearing this product for one week I had fallen in love with it because it gave me EVERYTIHNG I always wanted in a foundation but sadly enough days after loving this product I begin to notice cyst like bumps on my face which was very strange but I just simply ignored it and figured it would go away because I have never had a bad reaction to any make up. Well as I tried to ignore it the bumps persist and I was livid. My skin was broken out so badly which I have never had a breakout not even when I am on my menstrual. But I was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO in love with the make it because it does offer EVERYTHING it says it does and some. Very luminous, no coverage, hint of color, and very natural, it looks just like your skin but better! So me being crazy once my skin cleared up a bit I added the product but without using lotion because once it had broken out the first time I came to this site to see if anyone had experienced the same problem and some had and advised not to use any lotion to prevent breakouts and so I thought I’d give it another try. And let me tell you for me to do that I had to REALLY love the product because I would never jeopardize my health or skin for beauty. So I gave it another try without any lotion prior to applying the make-up. Well that was dumb of me because what happened…….. more cyst like breakouts! I was so doleful that my face had turned for the worse so I stopped using the product all together and planned to return it to Sophara because all of this happened within a three week span. So I washed my face with my cetaphil face wash and applied my Mario Bedescu Honey lotion and just worked on my skin to get it back the way it was before using the Becca Foundation. Also, I ended up buying the Clarasonic Mia 2 to help bring my skin back to life. By the way, that thing works miracles! Not only does it clear your skin but it makes it SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO soft and luminous. I have been working on my skin and using the Clarasonic Mia 2 (which I use once a day, at night) and my skin is back!!! I would NEVER recommend the Becca Foundation to ANYONE with combination or oily skin because I truly believe my skin type is what caused the very bad cyst like breakouts OR it could be something that is in the ingredient. If this product had not broken out my skin I probably would have used it FOREVER. So I am back to using either my MAC MINERALIZER NC 45 FOUNDATION or the DIOR NUDE BB CREAM. Honestly since this experience I am afraid to try anything else. The once make up sample fanatic who used to go to Sephora, Mac, Bobbi Brown, Chanel, and Dior make up counters and just try different foundations, tinted moisturizers, and BB creams and never had any type of reaction at all is afraid to experiment since this incident . The first time I’ve had this type of reaction and I’ve done this for years because I was always trying to find the next best thing for the type of makeup I really wanted. Which was what Becca offers for me but it does not agree with my skin. Because of this mishap I don’t think I will experiment with makeup the way I used to and will probably go a few months without it to give my skin a break. Ladies this was my first review and I really hoped it helped. Also, if you have not purchased the Clarasonic Mia 2 please do because it is a great investment. Honestly, if this had never happened to me I probably wouldn’t have purchased it, but I was looking for something to bring my skin back to life and to get rid of the cyst bumps from using the Becca foundation and that’s exactly what it did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 voodoodolly330 on 9/2/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by voodoodolly330

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm ok with light coverage foundations or tinted moisturizers, in fact I quite like to use them when my skin's in good condition, what this foundation really annoys me is that it feels tacky and greasy and doesn't dry or set, sometimes it even caused some rub-offs. Also, just like their shimmering skin perfector, it sort of disappears only within a few hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 colodon on 3/31/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by colodon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in cashmere and have persisted with it or the last 6 months, the main problems I have is that it is way too yellow...I look like I have mild jaundice and it makes the redness in my face look worse, I soo wanted this becca product that I ignored the fact I'd spent 40 minutes trying to find a match, I just couldn't believe the shade range was so poor, it's now consigned to the drawer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 2/28/2013 1:45:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Why did I not try this long ago? It's exactly what I've been looking for to wear on days when I don't want to wear a heavier foundation/full makeup look. Nude is a great match for my fair-medium complexion--I thought Camel would be better, but it's *really* yellow. Anyway, this goes on like a dream--fingers work great, no brushes needed. It feels wonderful on the skin--very light and moisturizing, but not *too* moisturizing. It gives a glowy but not greasy look, and wears well all day (although I don't know how it'll do in desert summer heat). I use this, Becca concealer to cover imperfections, Becca Baroque Shadow, and Becca lip and cheek Tint in Fig for a natural yet polished look. I just add a bit of liner, mascara, and a sheer lipstick, and maybe a touch of powder to set the concealer and I'm good to go. Sometimes I use it alone just to even out my skin tone and that works great, too. Excellent product, and I will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaykre on 2/27/2013 9:40:00 PM more reviews by kaykre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tend to gravitate towards sheer foundations that have a natural finish and look like skin. I had read about Luminous Skin and decided to give it a go. Immediately I noticed the huge shade range on Becca's site. There is also a helpful chart that divides the foundations, concealers, and powders into depth and undertone to help you select the correct shade. I also like Becca's theory on foundation and found it similar to my own. In a nutshell, they say that you should use a very sheer foundation all over, then conceal as needed, and set with powder. In my experience this looks far better than slapping a full coverage foundation on all over. I also like that you get 1.7 oz (as opposed to the traditional 1 oz size of most foundations).


Packaging
The packaging is a nice pump that allows you to adjust the amount you want (meaning it doesn't squirt out a huge amount if you press gently). Like other Becca products, the packaging is sleek and minimal which I love. I really hate bulky, overdone packaging (like Benefit) to this is right up my alley.


Color
I range from NC15-35 in MAC but am more olive and less yellow than a true NC. Because my skin tone changes throughout the year I buy two shades of most foundations that I buy: one that matches me at my palest and one that matches me at my darkest. I read that the yellow shades in Becca were extremely yellow and that the neutrals leaned yellow but not extremely so. I ordered Nude and Olive to mix as needed. Nude is about and NC20 and Olive is around an NC30/35.


Texture, Coverage, and Finish
When I tried Luminous Skin I immediately liked it. It's very sheer with a dewy finish. It does smell like sunscreen but I quite like that. I prefer applying this with fingers rather than a brush because of the thin consistency and like to use it along with the Becca stick foundation (on red areas) and their Fine Loose Setting Powder.


Staying Power
Despite this being dewy I find it lasts well on my combination skin even in 100F heat. It lasts about 8 hours on me but I need to blot about halfway through the day.


In a Nutshell...
This is a great foundation if you don't need or want much coverage and you like a dewy finish.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbgwy1 on 2/11/2013 5:02:00 AM more reviews by kbgwy1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I have this in the colour tan, and love this for a basic everyday makeup look - I hate the feeling of heavy foundation especially just during the day and this is just enough colour and coverage to keep me comfortable and even out my skin tone. The shades are really forgiving as they're so sheer so you can afford to go a bit darker to tan up the skin a bit. Also smells amazing! Worth the money as a bottle lasts several months. Best TM I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Becca products

More Liquid products