Becca Luminous Skin Color sheer foundation

4.0

378 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Propylene Glycol, Homosalate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Octyldodecanol, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Triethanolamine, Cetyl Alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Persea Gratissima (Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil Unsaponifiables), Talc, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Phenoxyethanol, Magnesium Myristate, Kaolin, Cocoglycerides, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Lactate, Sodium PCA, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Allantoin, Panthenol, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Palmitate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol, Sodium Benzoate, Lactic Acid, Parfum. May contain: Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, Ultramarines CI 77007, Red 36 CI 12085, Red 7 CI 15850.


on 7/1/2015 3:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I found out that my mother is using an old bottle of this that belonged to my sister, observed that the colour looked like it will match me well, and decided to try it out today...

Colour: Shade I have access to is Tobacco. For reference, I am between NC45 and NC50 in MAC (NC48 if it existed), and the Warm and Maple shades in Stila Stay All Day fit me best. Tobacco fits me even better if that were possible.

Finish and coverage: Very, very sheer! So sheer that I barely feel like I have any makeup on even though I applied two pumps of this. I'm not sure if it's buildable either. I don't think the makeup makes any visible difference to my appearance, apart from giving my face a barely noticeable glow. You can definitely see all the flaws in my complexion. Absolutely no transfer.

I cannot comment on longevity, because it's a very light coverage foundation and I can't see what it really does as I'm wearing it. It smells like baby wipes! It's a bit offputting, but you stop noticing it after a while...

I'm giving it 4 stars because of the wonderful colour match and good value. I might consider buying it if I was only requiring light coverage, but I need medium to full coverage because of hyperpigmentation and dark circles, so I wouldn't buy it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/23/2014 9:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I do foundation matches for clients all the time, and my biggest annoyance is the lack of color range. Here's the retail logic: they make what people buy, and they see that a ton of white customers buy foundation from any line, so it's a guaranteed sell and they don't have to worry about the products expiring before they've sold, but since women of color have a hard time finding good foundations, the cosmetics companies throw in a few dark shades and call it a day, and since they don't match, the women of color don't buy them, the products expire, and the company and retailers conclude their isn't enough demand to provide it.

If you're white, you can basically find hundreds of foundations that a) match your skin tone well and b) address your skincare need. But if you're a woman of color, that becomes infinitely harder. If the companies provided a wider range, women of color would purchase their products just as frequently as anyone else (making it even more profitable for them), but so far nobody seems motivated enough to really focus on solving this completely unnecessary problem.

Anyway, done with the rant. Becca's color payoff is AMAZING and they have a wider range of colors than many brands. It is a thicker formulation but builds beautifully and doubles very nicely as a concealer. Every person I match with this ends up buying it right away because it's really that great.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2014 10:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I disagree with the majority of negative reviews concerning this product. My fair skin is reactive to almost every product, so finding foundations and bases is an incredibly difficult and arduous task. With that said, I've been using this product consistently for approximately two weeks and have not experienced any abnormal breakouts or skin issues that are cause for concern. My skin is incredibly sensitive, so (typically) any product-induced acne occurs within days or within a week. To be fair, I am not 100 percent positive that I'm in the clear until a month of consistent usage, so I will update if there are any changes.

Since my first concern with any products I will be applying to my face is their potential for inducing acne, I am overjoyed to say that not only does this product meet that criteria (it does not cause blemishes), but it provides a very beautiful and dewy finish. If you do not have perfect skin, as many mentioned, you will absolutely need to use other products if you're attempting to create a doll-like or flawless finish. I apply this product in Porcelain, wait several minutes, apply a sheer layer of Lorac Natural Performance in NP1 (using a slightly damp sponge), and then cover any blemishes with Makeup Forever concealer (shade 4). The result is incredibly natural and child-like skin. My skin has literally never looked so flawless, which is particularly impressive, considering I'm in China for the summer, where my skin typically behaves badly.

As far as longevity and sun protection, this product also delivers. The flawless finish remains for approximately 8 to 12 hours, which is typically suitable for my "schedule." If I apply this in the morning, before I go out in the evening I use a tiny bit of concealer to touch up any uneven spots. Concerning sun protection, I disagree with other reviewers. I spent 7 hours in the very hot Southern China sun today, and forgot to apply lotion on my back. My back is literally bright red, but my face, which I generously applied this to, is not burnt or displaying any signs of damage.

To conclude this review, I should note that this product is now discontinued. I purchased it for about 17 dollars from a discount website, and have just purchased 2 more bottles as back-ups. Unfortunately, once I've used these three tubes, I will once again be back to the drawing board. Until then, I am very, very pleased!

PS: If you want one-step, quick coverage (assuming you don't have perfect skin), you should not purchase this. I believe people are mislead by the title of this product, as foundations typically offer more coverage. However, this truly does function as a foundation in the truest sense, as I literally apply this as the foundation for my other products, and it enhances and elevates their performance. (The most comparable product to this that I've found is Chantecaille's Just Skin, which is labeled as a tinted moisturizer and has a very similar finish. However, at over 60 dollars, this product is not nearly as good. It also causes cysts on my chin, so I still have a half-used tube.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2014 2:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Of course as soon as I fall in love with this, it gets discontinued. I don't wear foundation much these days, but this is extremely light and makes me look glowy and pretty. Like my skin, but better. The only thing I don't like about it is the smell, which tends to linger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2014 10:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don't have a lot to add to the reviewers below. This is a very light coverage and it goes on very smoothly. HOWEVER: this broke me out horribly. I stopped using it for a few days and then started again just to be sure it was the culprit. It was. If you have sensitive skin, I would beware of this product. A super light coverage is sort of pointless if it breaks you out so bad you end up needing to wear something with more coverage. Very disappointed.


on 2/23/2014 11:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've always been a fan of Becca and The Luminous skin color is no exception! The name for this product is spot on! light coverage dewey foundation. I personally prefer a light coverage foundation and more coverage in areas need like under my eyes for example. Although it covers only minor imperfections it gives off a polished looking healthy glow to the skin. It looks like my skin but better! something I love as I'm not a fan of cake up look or a mask. I've tried other brands that claim their BB cream, CC cream looks like skin but better but BECCA luminous skin color has them all beat. I will definitely buy this again, as I have since BECCA is discontinuing this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2013 9:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First I would like to start out by saying I have never written a review before on this site or any other site as it relates to makeup. However, I do visit these sites frequently to read others review prior or after buying a product and I must say the reviews on this site have helped me out tremendously. On to the review about this product, I have always had great skin (not to sound cocky) but I have never had ANY problem with acne and I often get complimented on how nice my skin is. Within the past few years I started wearing makeup and not for coverage but mainly for color because I like to look tanner than I am. Just to get an idea of my skin tone, in mac I wear NC45. Because I never really needed the coverage I absolutely hate the makeup look and I hate to look like I am wearing makeup. I like to look like myself but with a face full of makeup I don’t feel like I do. I have tried every makeup you could think of and I don't care about price because I don't mind to splurge if it’s for my skin and especially if it's going to give me what I’m looking for. Just to name a few of the products I've tried. (Dior Nude BB Cream, Mac skin, Mac Mineral, Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, Nars tinted moisturizer, Tart BB Cream, Bobbi Brown BB Cream, Bobbi Brown Luminous Foundation, Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturizer, and that's just to name a few) . Don't get me wrong some of these foundations are nice such as the Dior Nude BB Cream and Mac Mineralize Foundation which I was using prior to trying Becca) , but I was still searching for something that would give me a hint of color but still VERY NATURAL WITHOUT ANY COVERAGE, BASICALLY LIKE YOUR OWN SKIN. This brings me to the Becca foundation. When I googled searched natural luminous makeup a YouTube video of an Asian girl popped up and I thought it was great since I am half Asian and the girl also had great skin. Once I watched the video and read the reviews on Makeup Alley and read the reviews on Becca’s website I wanted to run to the nearest Sephora. When I got off of work I hurried to Sephora and tried on the product. The sales girl told me how great of a product it was and how great it looked on my skin, which I had to agree and she gave me a sample. I was in love with this foundation! I went back days later and purchased the full bottle. After wearing this product for one week I had fallen in love with it because it gave me EVERYTIHNG I always wanted in a foundation but sadly enough days after loving this product I begin to notice cyst like bumps on my face which was very strange but I just simply ignored it and figured it would go away because I have never had a bad reaction to any make up. Well as I tried to ignore it the bumps persist and I was livid. My skin was broken out so badly which I have never had a breakout not even when I am on my menstrual. But I was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO in love with the make it because it does offer EVERYTHING it says it does and some. Very luminous, no coverage, hint of color, and very natural, it looks just like your skin but better! So me being crazy once my skin cleared up a bit I added the product but without using lotion because once it had broken out the first time I came to this site to see if anyone had experienced the same problem and some had and advised not to use any lotion to prevent breakouts and so I thought I’d give it another try. And let me tell you for me to do that I had to REALLY love the product because I would never jeopardize my health or skin for beauty. So I gave it another try without any lotion prior to applying the make-up. Well that was dumb of me because what happened…….. more cyst like breakouts! I was so doleful that my face had turned for the worse so I stopped using the product all together and planned to return it to Sophara because all of this happened within a three week span. So I washed my face with my cetaphil face wash and applied my Mario Bedescu Honey lotion and just worked on my skin to get it back the way it was before using the Becca Foundation. Also, I ended up buying the Clarasonic Mia 2 to help bring my skin back to life. By the way, that thing works miracles! Not only does it clear your skin but it makes it SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO soft and luminous. I have been working on my skin and using the Clarasonic Mia 2 (which I use once a day, at night) and my skin is back!!! I would NEVER recommend the Becca Foundation to ANYONE with combination or oily skin because I truly believe my skin type is what caused the very bad cyst like breakouts OR it could be something that is in the ingredient. If this product had not broken out my skin I probably would have used it FOREVER. So I am back to using either my MAC MINERALIZER NC 45 FOUNDATION or the DIOR NUDE BB CREAM. Honestly since this experience I am afraid to try anything else. The once make up sample fanatic who used to go to Sephora, Mac, Bobbi Brown, Chanel, and Dior make up counters and just try different foundations, tinted moisturizers, and BB creams and never had any type of reaction at all is afraid to experiment since this incident . The first time I’ve had this type of reaction and I’ve done this for years because I was always trying to find the next best thing for the type of makeup I really wanted. Which was what Becca offers for me but it does not agree with my skin. Because of this mishap I don’t think I will experiment with makeup the way I used to and will probably go a few months without it to give my skin a break. Ladies this was my first review and I really hoped it helped. Also, if you have not purchased the Clarasonic Mia 2 please do because it is a great investment. Honestly, if this had never happened to me I probably wouldn’t have purchased it, but I was looking for something to bring my skin back to life and to get rid of the cyst bumps from using the Becca foundation and that’s exactly what it did.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm ok with light coverage foundations or tinted moisturizers, in fact I quite like to use them when my skin's in good condition, what this foundation really annoys me is that it feels tacky and greasy and doesn't dry or set, sometimes it even caused some rub-offs. Also, just like their shimmering skin perfector, it sort of disappears only within a few hours.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2013 12:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in cashmere and have persisted with it or the last 6 months, the main problems I have is that it is way too yellow...I look like I have mild jaundice and it makes the redness in my face look worse, I soo wanted this becca product that I ignored the fact I'd spent 40 minutes trying to find a match, I just couldn't believe the shade range was so poor, it's now consigned to the drawer.


on 2/28/2013 1:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Why did I not try this long ago? It's exactly what I've been looking for to wear on days when I don't want to wear a heavier foundation/full makeup look. Nude is a great match for my fair-medium complexion--I thought Camel would be better, but it's *really* yellow. Anyway, this goes on like a dream--fingers work great, no brushes needed. It feels wonderful on the skin--very light and moisturizing, but not *too* moisturizing. It gives a glowy but not greasy look, and wears well all day (although I don't know how it'll do in desert summer heat). I use this, Becca concealer to cover imperfections, Becca Baroque Shadow, and Becca lip and cheek Tint in Fig for a natural yet polished look. I just add a bit of liner, mascara, and a sheer lipstick, and maybe a touch of powder to set the concealer and I'm good to go. Sometimes I use it alone just to even out my skin tone and that works great, too. Excellent product, and I will repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top