Guerlain • Insolence • Fragrances

rated 3.3(275 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 saddle57 on 12/20/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by saddle57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

OMG! I just sprayed Guerlain Insolence on for the first time, and I can't wait to wash it off! It's so sweet it's gagging me. I wanted a violet perfume, but this is a chemical, harsh, in your face mess of a fragrance. It has some violet notes, but the chemical components overtake it. I can't believe Guerlain would put out a fragrance this disgusting. I believe this would last for a good 24 hours, it's that strong. Just terrible…I purchased it online, and it's going right back. If you are interested in this fragrance, try it first before purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fogdew on 12/18/2014 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Fogdew

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh it's wonderfullllll... I think it's one of the best perfumes I have ever had. Sweet in just the right ammount. Different from these recent releases that seem to be all the same. It's comforting, feminine, I could smell it all day and I probably will.
I just wish it was stronger, but then again I wish it of all perfumes I own. The bottle is pretty but could be a lot more.
The color purple of the eau de parfum bottle is perfect, for the scent smells purple too.
Now I want a 500mL bottle of it please.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snkatha on 12/16/2014 12:14:00 PM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

It starts off smelling like candies. Berry candy. Then it gets quite powdery & the violets bloom. It smells like candied powdery violets. There's a whiff of citrus that develops the longer I wear it & It helps temper the sweetness in this perfume. I prefer the EDT of this to the EDP because it's less sweet & smells greener. It lasts a long time & has good sillage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 11/25/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! Sweet, rich, deep, delicious Violet mix. This is for the EDP. When it first came out (actress Hillary Swank of "Million Dollar Baby" fame was its muse), I bought it but never wore it, thinking it too strong, so I gave it away.

Recently, I repurchased it and am sooooo glad I did! It's been one of my most often-worn fragrances of Fall-Winter 2014.

Violet has taken over my life this Fall-Winter. Insolence EDP (due to its berry topnotes) is a sweeter, fruitier violet scent than either Tom Ford Violet Blonde or Balenciaga Paris, both of which I also have and have been wearing a lot. When I want a woodsier, more chypre violet I'll wear the TF or BP -- but when I'm in the mood for a sweeter, fruitier violet (but still deep & rich), I'll wear Insolence EDP.

Launched in 2008, here are the notes for EDP, per parfumo.net:

Top Note - Red berries
Heart Notes - Iris, Orange blossom, Violet
Base Notes - Woods, Sandalwood, Tonka bean

Insolence EDP is becoming addictive -- and my enjoyment of it has snowballed to the point that even when I'm wearing something else that I like very much -- Insolence EDP is sometimes quietly nagging me to come back -- and I find myself running to spritz it on again -- mmm! Too bad it's becoming difficult to find, because I plan to buy more when my bottle runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiwimakeuplover on 6/27/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by kiwimakeuplover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm currently in the throes of a love affair with all things Guerlain and one of my favourite aromas is the one that comes off their Les Voilettes translucent pressed powder. The search was on for a fragrance that smelled just like that. After checking with the Guerlain SA and googling, the consensus was that Insolence was the closest thing to it.
I ordered it and received it at the beginning of the week and I've worn it 3 times. I must say I really really do like this stuff ( I took a huge risk buying it sight un-smelled as it were, (they didn't have the EDP in stock at the only department store that sells it)) and more importantly I don't cause any offence or feelings of nausea when I walk past people. Just the opposite in fact: my husband likes it (and he's fussy), my daughter likes it (she's got good taste!) as do the friends I've bumped into and wafted my wrist under their noses. As for me, I'm walking around with my wrist glued to my nose enjoying the violet aroma ,for most of the day, when I think no-ones looking (don't want people thinking I'm weird now do I?).
Would I buy it again? Well bearing in mind that I do have a few perfumes lurking around the place, I think in all honesty, that I would!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 surfcowboy on 3/29/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by surfcowboy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this because I thought it smelt of violets, sweet, powdery like Guerlain meteorite balls.... that scent of Chowards violet candies but wow, so far from it.

At first, I was so bummed!! It smelt like a air refresher spray. Not a fan. BUT, after a week of using it, it really has started to grow on me and no longer reminds me of air refresher spray. It really smells amazing on my skin and the powdery notes are definitely there and a little hint of sweet violets....its a unique scent that isn't for everybody.

I really did not like it at first but from past experiences, I know to give something a week at least to say whether I hate it, love it or like it. I was hoping for a deeper violet scent with more powder that was similar to Guerlains meteorite perfume.

Its a very sexy scent though..... staying power is great!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alison1986 on 2/11/2014 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Alison1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my signature perfume and the only perfume I have bought twice as I have not yet got sick of it. I absolutely adore this perfume. It smells of violets and once I have out this on I feel so feminine and pretty. My friend at first did not like this but now she loves it. It lasts ages! Definitely my favourite perfume!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlamourGirl on 6/26/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by GlamourGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I will admit that this is very strong. I apply very carefully as "a little goes a long way" is an understatement with Insolence. If you use a full spray you may end up with a headache and a stomach ache. Which is a shame because when used lightly it is divine. The fragrance had me at violet. And I swear I think there is also heliotrope, which for me, is a scent that reminds me of my childhood. Of all the violet fragrances I've used through the years this one by far has been my favorite. I adore the sweetness and the fact that it doesn't end up feeling like a one noter. Not that a one note is a bad thing. Some times I am in the mood for that and I will grab Love in Black. Insolence is the most feminine fragrance and I feel like a bombshell when I wear it. I have the EDT and it lasts all day on me. I love how it leaves its mark on my pillowcases and scarves. The name is just wrong to me and I still cannot understand the association between it and the fragrance. Because it is so very strong and sweet I can understand that there seems to be either those who love it or those who hate it. For me, this is a true sensual fragrance for those who flaunt their femininity. But flaunt lightly, LOL!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vferent on 12/15/2012 2:25:00 PM more reviews by Vferent

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay so not everyone is going to like this scent. But I love it! It reminds me of Parma violets and there's just something so great about it. I started wearing it when I was 14, in Greece and four years on it always makes me feel nostalgic. Someone described it to me as smelling of 'Unicorn farts' ha haha, and the thing I like most is that you only need a couple of sprays and the strong scent lasts all day! Lavely! Not expensive either

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lola452 on 11/5/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by Lola452

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this fragrance. That said, I can see how it's such a polarizing scent. It's an intense, powerful fragrance that probably wouldn't be for everyone. To me, it smells primarily of candied violets and raspberries, which I think is lovely. And let me tell you, this is a sillage and longevity MONSTER! This was still going strong 15 hours after I put it on. There is something very familiar about this scent, too, although I can't put my finger on what it is. I find the bottle very pretty - looks as nice on your dressing table as it smells!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Fragrances products