L'Oreal Telescopic Mascara

3.6

889 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Aqua, Paraffin, Beeswax Cera Alba, Stearic Acid, Carnauba/Carnauba Wax, Acacia/Acacia Senegal, Palmitic Acid, Triethanolamine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Aminomethyl Propanediol, PEG-40 Stearate, Sodium Polymethacrylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Simethicone, BHT, Polyquaternium-10, Panthenol, Iron Oxides CI 77492, Iron Oxides CI 77499, Iron Oxides CI 77491, Ultramarines CI 77007, Chromium Oxide Greens CI 77288, Chromium Hydroxide Green CI 77289, Mica, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Carmine CI 75470, Ferric Ferrocyanide CI 77510.


on 7/1/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like the final look this gives, but I don't enjoy using it. There is something about the wand that makes me grit my teeth when I pull it through my lashes. Yikes.

Good for length, gives absolutely no volume. Could be (a lot) darker. Wears well, doesn't flake or irritate my contact-wearing eyeballs. I see why a lot of people like it, but I'm not gonna repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/27/2015 7:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great at lengthening (NOT volumising), but gives a really unnatural look. The wand makes it impossible to coat evenly!


on 6/23/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE HOW the teeth of the mascara glide thoroughly through each eyelash. Worth the money. Some people might think 10 or 9$ for it might be too much, but it's really not. It definitely makes the job done. My eyelashes were so long after one application (ONLY). I was very surprised that L'Oreal sold such a great mascara! No need to pay for an expensive brand, when you have this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS MASCARA OMG
i literally made an account for this website right now just to talk about this product.
Now i do have naturally long lashes and before this i used maybelline colossal volume express (the yellow package) because thats the one my mom got me.Im new to make up. But i saw a video on how to make your lashes look big by my favorite youtuber carli bybel (watch her!) and her eyes looked awesome. She recommends this mascara. So being the first mascara ill actually buy i bought it. I love it! My eyes and eyebrows play a big part to my makeup because m not a fan of caked up face and like it as natural as i can and this is the perfect mascara. I only use one coat when i go to work because it really fans out your lashes. I hear it clumps but only if you use like 3-5 coats and you really put it on sloppy. I put it like evenly and fanning type and it separates and really coats them. A great example and review would be from the youtuber. Just search her name Carly bybel mascara and something should come up. I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants their eyelashes to pop. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2015 9:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

its very dramatic in lengthening. i'm not crazy about the brush because it clumps easily so hard to go over it twice. that being said def a night time wearing mascara. my eyelashes look fake they are so long with this stuff

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my second foray into the L'Oreal mascara line. I tried the Voluminous one but the formula was way too wet and messy and I wasn't thrilled with the outcome Ś clumpy, spidery and messy-looking lashes (I'm blaming my skill set as much as the mascara itself though. Just didn't have the patience to figure out how to make it look good as me and wetter formulas usually don't mesh well).

I recently received a deluxe sample of the Lanc˘me Hypn˘se Drama and I loved that one so much that I was planning to plunk down the big bucks for a full-sized tube; however, I wanted to see if maybe there was a drugstore-priced alternative first. This seemed like a good candidate, so I picked up a tube to see how they compared.

The brush bristles were unexpectedly short and I was skeptical that such a wee brush could lengthen so well, but it really worked at separating my lashes while somehow making them much longer. How, I don't know! But, neat trick. It literally just took one swipe to achieve a fairly dramatic increase in length, BTW.

It's not a volumizing mascara, but that's fine with me, as I love the light and fluttery look Ś so pretty! Ś that it creates with just one coat. It's impactful without being overwhelming. I found the formula to be neither too wet nor too dry. Interestingly, the reviews are all over the map on this Ś some say it's too wet, some say it's too dry. For me, it was just right. For reference, I purchased the Telescopic Original formula in Black (905).

Overall, it ended up outperforming Hypn˘se Drama in terms of the look I was shooting for, at 1/3 of the cost. However, I have a hunch (untested) that Hypn˘se Drama is capable of creating more dramatic/fuller looks in the right hands (I'm a one coat kind of girl, usually).

Very happy so far and likely to repurchase if initial impressions remain true over time.

EDIT 6.28.2015: Dinging this a lippy because I'm finding that the formula isn't working quite as well for me now. I still like it a LOT but there are some days when I just overshoot a little bit and then, clump city. Hypn˘se Drama is the one that I'm comparing this against because the effects are somewhat similar (fluttery, separated, pretty lashes!); however, HD is proving to be the more consistent product on a daily basis, or at least the one that's harder to screw up. I'm relatively new to both formulas and still learning the nuances of each though, and still haven't decided which one is the best for me on a value/ease of application/outcome matrix.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Definitely one of the better mascaras I have used, this is my favourite for lengthening. The tube is very pretty, it's gold and I like how it looks like a little telescope. The brush is unusual - it is rubber and has very tiny little bristles, but it does a wonderful job of lifting my lashes and making them long and black. It does provide volume as well, but the standout feature is length. The formula is very wet, but I find it easy to work with, and it doesn't smudge or flake. Would recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2015 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG! I go back to this every time I run out. I was iffy when I first bought it because the brush is so tiny and weird but it does magic to my eyelashes. It's definitely a wetter mascara so you need to let it dry in between coats. I have found they look fuller and longer when I do that and actually have time for that. It doesn't flake, clump, works well with other mascaras, doesn't cause black circles under my eyes. I just LOVE this stuff! I can't say anything bad about it.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have naturally long full lashes so I will say that first but honestly........this mascara is AMAZING at bringing them out because they are very light. The lengthening IS dramatic and it also thickens......NEVER have a clumping issue. My eye lashes literally touch my eyebrows. I usually use Lancome Oscillate first and then use this to separate- it is amazing for non-clumping, lengthening lashes. I LOVE this. I have tried probably 50 plus mascaras, all the top brands and I stand my this one as the one that makes your lashes longest!!!!!!!!!!


on 5/29/2015 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great lengthening mascara! So far my fav!




Back to Top