Cover Girl • Lash Exact Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.9(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* husserl on 3/9/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by husserl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to love this mascara because 1) black was a true black 2) the neat rubbery applicator wand made very easy to get every single lash (hence, I suppose the name "lash exact!") and 3) removal was a snap (I used a generic dual-phase eye makeup remover).

Unfortunately, I'm starting to think that waterproof mascaras in general do not agree with me. I haven't had any luck with any waterproofs, no matter the brand. This particular one transferred to my upper lids and smudged on my lower lashes after about two hours of wear. It doesn't seem to matter whether I used eyeshadow primer or whether I'm in a humid or dry climate...it smudges and transfers no matter what. Since waterproof mascara is oil-soluble, I'm starting to think that my particular skin type tends to break down waterpoof mascara. My skin isn't the oiliest I've ever encountered, but it must be too oily in the eye area for waterproof mascara.

In sum, I think if you've had the issues I've described with waterproof mascara in the past, this mascara probably won't be an exception.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blanca009 on 10/24/2013 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Blanca009

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

This is my everyday mascara. I use the waterproof in very black. I LOVE it. The brush is thinner which I like, makes it much easier to get the bottom lashes. It really is waterproof...no smudges, no nothing. But it can be a pain to get off at night. This also doesn't clump which is nice. My lashes are pretty long naturally, and with this on top I constantly get compliments on my lashes. People actually think I have false eyelashes on. I would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poppylove93 on 10/23/2013 6:04:00 PM more reviews by poppylove93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

From all of the mascara (high end and low end) I tried - Lancomb, Chanel, Estee Lauder, MAC, Maybellin, ELF, NYX, I must say this one is the best one yet!

The reason that drawn me to buy this was the packaging. Okay, maybe just the bright pink color! I just got to try it (tsk tsk on me for being so easy). But I'm so glad I did. This mascara gave me not too much, but just enough volume and length! Not many mascara could do that I must admit (well for me personally). It was never just right.

I read on a blog that mascara is something you should throw away after 3 months and I agree completely. I use to get irritated eyes which stopped me from using mascaras, but then I started to buying expensive ones like Chanel and Lancomb that i just cannot allow them being thrown without fully finishing them. Now, I learned from the same said blog that all of the formulation on mascara by both high-end and low-end is essentially THE SAME. There is no difference whatsoever and the high-end that charges 6 times more is only because of their brand and packaging. I can careless about that. I just want quality product at a reasonable price, and this is it!

Although I cannot give it a 5 lippie, because I really get annoyed with those celebrity endorsements that cover girl does. I know they pay millions on advertisement but I just think they should spend those money into reinvesting in better quality, offer more quantity per pack, or lower the price. I usually cringe at products that have heavily celebrity endorsements. It just makes me feel like do they really think we are suckers who buy whatever the celebrities use? (Okay, I admit, it made me look, but usually I get let down by how crappy the product actually is.)

Bottom line: Not a huge fan of cover girl cosmetics, but this mascara is a winner for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jccmz on 10/19/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by jccmz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For "Asian" lashes (short, point straight down, thin, sparse, etc. ;-), this is a pretty good mascara and MUCH better than CG Lashblast Volume because of the wand. The wand is plastic but much smaller/thinner so you can coat lashes without the wand getting product all over the place. I'm not crazy about plastic wands and this is no exception. Like the waterproof version of CG LB Volume, this is a wet formula that takes a month before it becomes much better at adhering to straight, small, thin lashes. It is buildable, but with limits. You won't get a false lash effect, but it will do a great job of defining and some lengthening of lashes.

If the Maybelline Colossal Cat Eyes in waterproof did not exist, I would probably "work with" this mascara. But the Cat Eyes has a better, smaller/thin brush (curved natural bristles) and the formula adheres easily to lashes, is more buildable and works great from the first moment you open the tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Girlybunny13 on 8/19/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Girlybunny13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My mom bought this for me it makes my lashes so long and pretty

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Glimmerous on 7/24/2013 11:37:00 PM more reviews by Glimmerous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:

Holds a curl
Separates lashes
Adds length
Doesn't come off when sweating or swimming

Cons:
Doesn't stay through salt water (beach)
Wand tends to clump up

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lcwoo on 7/12/2013 6:06:00 PM more reviews by lcwoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my go to mascara. I have tried soo many mascaras and none holds a curl like this one.. I have stick straight short asian lashes. This defines, separates, volumizes and holds curl. Lashes look natural - not spidery...so if you want super thick, dramatic lashes - this may not be for you. It doesn't flake or smudge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xjayle on 4/22/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by xjayle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great waterproof mascara. It doesn't smudge or come off at all. The brush is a little weird & leads to a couple of clumps. But it's still a pretty good mascara.

Even though it's waterproof, I don't recommend wearing it swimming though. It will smudge.. But either way, it's great. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Spamstuff on 1/17/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Spamstuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This ranks right up there with one of the worst mascaras I've used. What a clumpy, globby, icky mess! It ended up under my eyes, on top of my eyelid, and it made my lashes stick together. WTH???

I keep trying Cover Girl mascaras....WHY?? WHYYYYY??? Try Jordana Lash Extreme: $3 and it makes this stuff look like motor oil!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cewkittylover on 1/6/2013 10:11:00 PM more reviews by cewkittylover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Based off of reviews on MakeupAlley, I purchased Cover Girl's Lash Exact Waterproof and Maybelline's Full 'N Soft Waterproof for a direct comparison. I wanted a product that didn't give me raccoon eyes.

I loved the sturdy wand and how the brush kept my lashes apart without clumping.

Clumps? - no
Defining? - yes
Flakes? - no
Raccoon Eyes? - no
Lasting? - yes
Voluminous? - yes

I threw away my Full 'N Soft and kept my Lash Exact.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products