E.L.F. • Super Glossy Lip Shine SPF 15 - Watermelon • Lip Gloss

rated 4.0(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JuliaSYarwood on 12/28/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by JuliaSYarwood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely shimmery pale pink/peach. Quite a thick consistency, but this gives it staying power. Great that it is SPF as well as daily use I take it on holiday to protect my lips in the sun. Price is unbelievable for what you get! Good packaging in a slant tipped tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wifeandmama on 10/2/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Wifeandmama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Glossy, slightly sticky, cheap little pinky pop of color. Smells fruity, lasts a couple of hours, fades away evenly. What's not to love?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 11/13/2012 2:38:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

ELF says that their Super Glossy Lip Shines will "leave your lips with a healthy, glossy glow". These basic glosses are part of ELF's Essential line and are available in twelve shades. I have two, Honey Do; a sheer red, and the subject of this review; Watermelon. These glosses contain SPF 15 and absolutely no beneficial ingredients. Super Glossy Lip Shines are essentially a mixture of mineral oil, mica, parabens, and pigment. Each Super Glossy Lip Shine contains .35fl oz and sells for just $1. I bought both of my ELF glosses from the brand's website, but if you're looking to buy in store ELF can be found at select drugstores, Big Lots, Kmarts, Targets, and Walmarts. ELF is a cruelty free, vegan friendly brand. This gloss was made in China.
ELF describes this gloss' packaging as "the perfect on-the-go tube that is mess proof for easy application anywhere, any time." I wouldn't call this squeeze tube perfect, but I do really like it. Its transparent, the name of the product written on the front in silver lettering. A full ingredient list can be found on the back of the tube. A twist on clear cap seals the tube off. Removing the cap reveals a plastic slant tip applicator that dispenses and applies product wonderfully. I've never had an issue with this tube leaking, combine that with the compact size and this gloss is perfectly purse or pocket friendly. Not the cutest tube of gloss, but ELF isn't exactly known for squee inducing packaging.
In the tube, Watermelon looks like a medium, warm pink, but on my lips its more of a nude pink, almost a "my lips but better" shade, but a bit darker than my natural lip color. There seems to be a slight tan undertone to it that can only be seen when worn in a thin application on the lips. ELF's Watermelon Super Glossy Lip Shine doesn't have any visible shimmer to it, but it has a lovely, interesting pearly sheen and a very glossy finish that come together to give a gorgeous effect. Watermelon is a surprisingly opaque lip gloss, even the tiniest dot can give off a fair amount of color. I think this shade can be universally flattering.
I love the feel of this gloss, it isn't sticky, slick or tack. The best work I have for it is 'smooth'. This is probably one of the most comfortable glosses that I own. Despite not being an especially sticky gloss, ELF's Super Glossy Lip Shine has pretty good lasting power. I get about an hour to an hour and a half of wear. I could probably get this gloss to stick around and last even longer, but lets be honest, I'm never quiet or still enough to get any lip product to stay put. Super Glossy Lip Shines have a generic, fruity flavor and scent that is neither pleasant nor bothersome, in my opinion. ELF describes it as "grape vanilla" which sounds about right to me.
I'm really loving ELF's Super Glossy Lip Shine in Watermelon. I've had this gloss for a while but I never reached for it until recently. The color and fantastically flattering. The finish is pearlescent, definitely not what I expected. I also didn't expect the level of pigmentation this lip product had to offer. I love the feel and wear I get from this gloss as well. Watermelon is quickly becoming a new favorite of mine. I suggest ELF's Super Glossy Lip Shine line as a whole. I certainly plan to buy more of them and will probably buy a backup of Watermelon. This gloss is excellent, especially considering it's $1 price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 7/15/2012 10:19:00 AM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This gloss has a thick consistency and is very sticky. I don't feel it's comfortable on my lips at all, it almost feels like it dries them out. The color is an reddish-orangy-pink that is surprisingly well pigmented. It has a grape scent that stays for five or ten minutes after application. I bought this last summer and kept it in my beach bag and when I wanted to use it this year for the first time the tube burst open so I just tossed it in the trash. It's ok for a dollar but I would definitely not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Taralovesmakeup on 6/29/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by Taralovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

The price for this tube lipgloss is amazing. I wear this in the summer because it has SPF 15. I also wear this when i can't be bothered with lipgloss and lipsticks. I carry this around with me everywhere i go. It feels quite sticky at first then it just becomes okay. I'll probably keep on buying it everytime it runs out because i love it. I recommend this for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klckelso on 5/12/2012 12:29:00 PM more reviews by klckelso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have heard alot of great things about this lipgloss so I decided to pick it up. I must say I'm glad I did! This colour is more like a nude pink color on my lips (my lips are quite pigmented) and it smells good too! It has a very fruity scent :) usually I don't like sticky lipglosses but I'm loving this so far! If you're thinking about trying it, DO IT! It's only $1 and works great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loobs202 on 2/29/2012 11:42:00 AM more reviews by loobs202

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe that ELF claim this isn't sticky! Felt horrible and gloopy as soon as I put it on. Good thing it was cheap so I didn't waste much money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetjaime on 12/31/2011 7:42:00 PM more reviews by sweetjaime

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this gloss soooo much! For years I swore off lip gloss because I hated the way my long hair would get stuck to it in the wind, and the way so many glosses get all gross in the corners of your mouth. Not anymore though!
This lipgloss is the perfect bright pink on me, and is so pigmented it shows up on my very pigmented lips ( no small feat for a lipgloss let me tell you!) The best part is is just kind of fades away, so reapplying is easy because you don't have to wipe the yucky left over gloss off your lips first!

Pros:
-light fruity smell ( this may be a con to some, but I personally don't like unscented glosses because they tend to pick up scents)
-Super pigmented
-CHEAP ( um $1 - how can you go wrong!?)
-smooth texture and feels moisturizing on the lips
-no nasty lip gunk!

Cons:
-Some might not like the scent, it just smells like fruity gum to me
-packaging isn't anything to write home about ( but heck it was only $1!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* admilly101 on 10/24/2011 7:17:00 PM more reviews by admilly101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

BEST LIP GLOSS EVER!
Its such a perfect lip color for my lips/face. It isnt overly thick like some of the other super glossys....
this is my new everyday lip gloss :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 turnthisaround on 8/24/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I own two other glosses in this line and since I'm a fan, I decided to buy Watermelon. I wanted something a bit darker that made my lips pop and this is it. It's a darker pink that's very close to my actual lip color.
It's very shiny, goes on smooth and sticks to the lips great without any balms or primers. Just like the others in this line, the squeeze tube is very controllable and I love that it sucks some of the gloss back in the tube after squeezing so you're not getting a glob of gloss and waste it.
It does not rub off on my hair and does moisturize a good amount. It's lasting ability is amazing, if you don't eat or drink with this on. It will not hold up at all, which is why I took a point off because I have other glosses/lipsticks that can hold up much better to such things.

Especially for the price, the quality is great. you get a large amount considering and the colors are pigmented. This reminds me a lot of a Stila gloss I have, it could very well be a dupe for it.

I will buy again and would recommend to everyone who wants an inexpensive gloss that's versatile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Lip Gloss products