Neutrogena • MoistureShine Lip Soother in Shine • Lip Gloss

rated 3.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sammycansing01 on 8/20/2011 6:35:00 PM more reviews by sammycansing01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I went to Ulta today because I had a coupon so I wanted to buy something. So, since I am a sucker for lip products in tubes, I decided to try this gloss out. I didn't like the price of this gloss for how little product you get. I payed $6.99 for it which is expensive. This gloss has a watermelon pink tint but it comes out pretty sheer on the lips but that is normal for tube lip products to do. I like that it has a cooling effect and SPF in it. The gloss is moisturizing but dries out in under 20 minutes, leaving the lips with that tint or just your natural color lip. I'm on the edge if I would purchase this again but I am happy about this product at the moment so I will repurchase when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 9/25/2010 3:06:00 PM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up this gloss hoping for a nice tint, as well as moisture and gloss, the SPF was a bonus. But it tasted bad, plastic, minty, fruit? The gloss disappeared in 10 minutes and it had no color whatsoever. It also started to separate within two weeks of getting it and no matter how much I shook it, I just got disgusting rancid water. HATE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixistikchik on 4/25/2010 12:04:00 AM more reviews by pixistikchik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this gloss up about a week ago when the sun broke through the clouds and I remembered that I should have something with SPF on my lips. I was pleasantly surprised by the light fruity scent (kind of fruit-punch ish, only noticeable while I'm applying it) and the nifty cooling sensation once it's on my lips. Over the course of the next few days, I noticed that my lips were feeling a lot smoother than usual, as well.

This is pretty much a straight-up gloss; there isn't any noticeable pigmentation (at least for Shine - I haven't tried any of the other colors). It's got a sticky feel at first that becomes less noticeable after about 5 minutes. And it lasts for a LONG TIME, a couple hours at least. As long as you're not eating something that you have to wipe directly off of your lips (and therefore taking the gloss with it), I'd say it would easily last half a day, which is a huge plus for a product with SPF. Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnwfoster on 1/2/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by dawnwfoster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am generally not a fan of glosses because in my experience they do not provide moisture or SPF. My favorite lip moisturizer is the Burts Bees lip balm in "pomegranate", which I use every night. However it does not have SPF, and I have struggled to find a product that I can use during the day. Most lip products with SPF have a white cast, and can make lips look ghostly or greyish. Sometimes they can even be drying to the lips, or require constant re-application. This neutrogena moistureshine lip soother is fantastic because not only does it offer SPF, but it is very hydrating, and has lasting power. I have mine in the color "shine" and it is a pretty corally pink. It does not put down a lot of pigment to my lips, so if you're looking for a highly pigmented gloss, skip this one. The texture is quite thick, which makes it sticky. The stickiness makes it stay put without slipping around or sliding down my chin - which would probably cause breakouts. Applying too much will make your lips appear goopy, so stick with a sheer coat. I don't wear anything else on my lips (lipsticks are too drying for me). The gloss just adds a bit of healthy color to my lips. Since I started using this Neutrogena product I have not had chapped lips at all. Hours after I apply it, my lips are still soft and pillowy. I don't even have to exfoliate my lips, because this product keeps them baby smooth. I love this product and will continue to repurchase it again and again.

UPDATE:
after using this for a couple of months i noticed that i was getting a lot of pimples on my chin and around my mouth. i realized it was because of this lipgloss. even though i wipe it off before washing my face at night, there must have been some oil residue that would get transferred to the skin around my lips and cause breakouts. once i realized this i threw it out and will not be repurchasing this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 judostar18 on 1/3/2009 8:02:00 PM more reviews by judostar18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this gloss. It's nice and moisturizing, but not gooey or gloppy. I am obsessed with lip stains, but generally the little tubs of gloss that they come with are sticky and/or drying. I much prefer to top my lips with a moisturizing gloss of some sort. I love the smell, and the fact that it has SPF is really nice too. :) Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Smashbox80 on 6/12/2008 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Smashbox80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this gloss but it seemed too good to be true - shine, moisture, tint and SPF protection in one? I had doubts but was so excited about the sun protection i had to try it. And i am very dissapointed. This lip gloss is slippery with no color, the cooling sensation is weird and it makes my lips dry and peely when it fades. I don't like the taste and the formula makes my mouth dry. Will not ever buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RitaPerfect on 2/5/2008 10:19:00 PM more reviews by RitaPerfect

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

This has absolutely no color at all. Maybe the other ones have a tiny bit of a tint, but it's not very noticeable. So just think of this as a clear gloss instead.
Pros: It smells sooo good -- I love fruity scents! Depending on how you like your lipglosses, it gives a ton of super wet looking shine (great if you like the extremely glossy lip, but bad if you prefer a more natural sheen.) And though I don't find this stuff is particularly moisturizing, it does prevent any moisture loss by sealing in lipbalm you put under it, which is what I do.
Cons: I don't notice much "cooling", as the name suggests. But I do feel the tingle on my tongue when I accidentally lick my lips. It's also very very thick. It's not sticky or tacky, just feels heavy on your lips. It doesn't last very long either, but by the time it fades away, I'm glad to have all that heavy lipgloss dissapear from my lips.
This was a fun product for me to try. Probably would not buy again though. I need something that's more pigmented and less thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rach227 on 11/28/2007 2:06:00 PM more reviews by rach227

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! It looks and tastes great, and gives your lips a cooling sensation. The only thing I don't like about it is that you need to use a lot of it with each application to get a glossy look. Other than that, it's great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rolanda on 11/25/2007 1:56:00 AM more reviews by rolanda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a lip balm junkie. I hate having chapped, sore lips, and since I live on the East Coast, winters pretty much guarantee chapped, sore lips. Like this a lot. Doesn't have any color, and could last longer, but it's easy to apply, cheap, and protects my lips from the harsh winter wind while looking pretty. I don't find it too sticky. It also feels great in the summer and i loooove the SPF. Not crazy about the smell or taste, but overall not a bad lip balm at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 omibunnydotcom on 10/13/2007 10:31:00 PM more reviews by omibunnydotcom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I am always on a quest for "the perfect lip gloss". Unfortunately, i consider this one a loss. It's goopy, i feel that it is sticky, and it doesn't last very long. While i was at work, i counted how many times i had to "freshen up" my appearance with this gloss, 4 times to maintain that glossy shiny look. At least this product does not cause serious dry-out of the lips. Though Neutrogena claims this is a "gel", its more like a thick paste in its consistency. Also, i guess for my skin/lip type, this does not "glide" very well, leading to uneven application on my lips. I would only buy this again in a pinch when other products i like are not available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Lip Gloss products