Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 amberortolano on 2/20/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by amberortolano

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use the Walmart brand Witch Hazel, and it is literally a life saver - I would bathe in this stuff if I could (not really, but you get my point).

I currently use the st. ives green tea gel cleanser (with the st. ives blemish/blackhead clearing exfoliator a few times a week), this as a toner, a topical antibiotic, and then this as a moisturizer (sounds odd applying something twice, but my skin loves it).

I don't know what I would do without this stuff. It moisturizes my oily sensitive skin, whilst clearing up acne, preventing new acne, and helping old acne scars fade - what more could you ask for? When I have a pimple, I soak a small piece of a cotton round and set it on there (I repeat this a few times) and it seriously helps so so much.

If you haven't tried using Witch Hazel yet, I would highly recommend that you do (especially since it is only about a dollar!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 1/29/2014 8:43:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My relationship with witch hazel has been kind of blah. I don't find it to be amazing or life saving and I was totally one of those bad kids who uses alcohol on my blemishes while my mom would yell at me to use witch hazel. But I don't think it does that much to combat my blemishes. I have come to realize that I can't use chemicals or too harsh of products, and have toned down the use of alcohol, but I do use it in sulfur spot treatments (they have alcohol in them). I find tea tree to be harsher than witch hazel and lavender oil to be more effective. However, I do sometimes dilute my lavender in witch hazel to use as an overall toner, but don't want to over dry my skin so I usually don't do this all over method. But recently I started using cold cream which is nice and makes my skin soft, but since I still experience some break outs, I've read that using a mild toner might help to make sure the cold cream is all out, so I am back to trying this mixture of witch hazel with lavender and we'll see if it helps. I may also pick up the Burt's Bees Rosewater toner which has aloe in it. (I tried my moms and liked it ok)

UPDATE: So the Witch Hazel with lavender was good for getting the last bits of Cold Cream off, but I think it's still a little too harsh. I've kind of been sticking to just using it as a spot on either high oil areas or already-there acne spots. I did get the Burts Bees (which has a little witch hazel in it) and I like that more. I also might just use the Cold Cream in the am and skip toning. If I over dry I break out more. I usually have witch hazel around, but I'm not going to run out and get it as a standard beauty item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strakale on 1/6/2014 4:32:00 PM more reviews by strakale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this stuff!! I am currently using the cheap, generic brand from Walmart, and it works great. I think it is 14% alcohol, which seems about standard for witch hazel (I think it improves shelf life).
The packaging is nothing special, but works just fine. I'm neutral about the smell...it doesn't bother me, but I don't love it, either. I think it's an acquired scent. (For those it bothers, I'm currently infusing a fresh bottle of witch hazel with some dried rose hips & dried lavender, for the scent and the beneficial properties- so I'll update if that goes well :) )
I use this both directly out of the shower to tone (I clean my face with a wet microfiber cloth and exfoliate with the St. Ives green tea scrub) before rose hip seed oil as a moisturizer. In the evening, I use this after I cleanse with EVOO. It doesn't seem to dry out my skin, but removes any excess product/oils from cleansing, and it has helped clear my hormonal breakouts! Love it!! I think it's especially great because I use long wearing foundations that can be difficult to remove, and this ensures that I'm not leaving trace amounts on my skin overnight.
For reference, I have combo/dry skin with hormonal breakouts and aging skin under my eyes. It's a lot to contend with, but I'm loving this combination!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LockMorgan on 12/27/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by LockMorgan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is such a godsend for me!! I've been dealing with the aftermath of the sudden development of an allergy to benzoyl peroxide, which gave me crusting and super dryness. This meant that I couldn't use any acne treating skin treatments of any kind, so my face was breaking out so much and it was just brutal. So, in a desperate effort to cope, I picked some of this stuff up and started using it in moderation with the oil cleansing method (that's how desperate I was). However, as my skin recovered, it was getting so much better! Way better than any antibiotics, birth control, or topical stuff ever made it, and I don't think I have to worry about reactions or drying. I still use a salicylic acid cleanser in the morning, but witch hazel has absolutely saved my skin, now that I use it as a toner twice a day. The smell is a little strong, but I don't mind it. My skin is still not perfect, but it is so much better than it was, and I'm certain it was from the witch hazel more than anything else!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterglue420 on 12/24/2013 7:56:00 AM more reviews by glitterglue420

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what it is about witch hazel but it's the ONLY thing that clears up my forehead acne (that I pretty much haven't been able to get rid of in years). Dickinson's, drugstore, it all works fine. But it also isn't too drying. Benzoyl Peroxide works on stubborn acne but I can only find 10% creams and they are so drying (especially since I have eczema). On a cotton ball, it's a fantastic toner for almost all over the face and on itchy rashes. I always apply sunscreen daily on exposed areas, and have started putting vaseline on my face to keep moisture in and condition my brows & lashes. I know for a fact my eyebrow hairs are growing much faster than normal. The only other acneic products I use are a homeopathic topical gel (Adult Formula Acnevir - Acne & Redness Relief Gel--witch hazel does in 3 days what Acnevir has done in 3 weeks!) and the Almay concealer that has more salicylic acid in it than any other drugstore concealer, and I love it. The foundation is wonderful too by the way. Anyways, I've realized witch hazel is a must, especially for those of us who are prone to clogged pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 11/22/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

A must have in everyone's beauty arsenal! If you can tolerate the smell that is, reminds me of straight vodka--which is highly unpleasant. Luckily, it dissipates quickly and doesn't linger very long. I use it as a toner when my skin becomes more oily (usually the week of my period) and it greatly diminishes the excess oil when used once-a-day. It's also my savior for body blemishes, just rub it on with a cotton round and it speeds up healing time and works on "angry" face pimples too! Definitely can be overdrying when used too often, everyone's skin is different and it's all about finding the right amount for you. Being that my skin is sensitive/acne-prone I'm very careful not to overdo it because it burns skin like crazy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kodancerbabeee on 10/15/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by kodancerbabeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've only used one other toner before, and I found that witch hazel is a much cheaper solution! I hadn't noticed a huge improvement in my skin from the toner, so I never really found a need to try again. However I had a spurratic breakout the week before homecoming and pulled every skin care trick I knew out of the bag. I remembered reading online that witch hazel could be used as a toner so I figured why not-- this was a great gamble! Within days, the three monstrous pimples had receded and my skin was back on track. I now use this daily and think it works wonders! Amazing quality, comparable- if not better, to brand name toners! I will definitely continue to use this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rcblinn on 10/7/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by rcblinn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love witch hazel for it's anti inflammatory properties. When I have an angry, red volcano on my face, this calms it down right away. Have to be careful though as too many frequent applications can cause my skin to become dry and slightly flaky in certain areas. I use only water to wash my face with (warm water at night and cold in the morning) and I swear cutting out all synthetic cleansers have made a world of difference. But when I get the occasional hormonal pimple, witch hazel has been a life saver.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coolfreshair on 10/6/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Witch Hazel is amazing! Since using it on my skin it has become soft, smooth, my pores are visibly less prominent and it has done more for my skin than any of the other expensive branded toners out there - and for a fraction of the cost.

I decided to use witch hazel as a toner after using a more expensive toner. Although the toner had been fragranced I detected an undertone of witch hazel which it turned out to be it's main ingredient - a bit of a £35 rip-off considering it was just witch hazel. Why pay all that extra for an expensive dressed up brand when the best is sitting right under your nose?

I will forever use this. It's kind to the skin, gentle and works like magic - I'm positively glowing. The smell is a bit weird, but not overly unpleasant. This is not something which bothers me however, when the benefits are so good.

5/5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 5/21/2013 1:02:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't really use toner, but when I tried using witch hazel I thought it did a good job. It didn't cause any extra acne to my acne prone skin and it really helped clean up the product that wasn't removed by my face wash. This also has a nice refreshing feel.


I don't tend to use it much as a toner. I will sporadically, but not daily....mostly out of laziness. I will use it sometime to clean off makeup when I am too lazy to go to the sink at the moment. It isn't super great as a face cleanser, but it is better than nothing.


What I have been using it for lately is to clean up my eyebrows after I apply self-tanner. I just apply it to a q-tip and rub it along my eyebrows back and forth. I also use it to clean up my finger nails so I don't ruin my manicure from the sunless tanner. I will also carefully add a few drops of this to my palms to clean up any tanner than mistaken made it on them. Note that I do wear gloves so I don't know how well this will clean up hands that were used to apply tanner....I wouldn't risk it personally.


Over all I enjoy witch hazel. It has a weird scent, but I have grown to sort of like it. It is super cheap and I would say something to try out. If you don't like it you really aren't out much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products