Shiseido Gentle Sun Protection Lotion for Sensitive skin and Babies

3.6

37 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

MEDICINAL INGREDIENTS: zinc oxide 13.9% w/w titanium dioxide 3.3% w/w NON-MEDICINAL INGREDIENTS: cyclomethicone - water - butylene glycol - dimethicone - hydrogenated c6-14 olefin polymers - pentaerythrityl tetraoctanoate - glycerin - polybutylene glycol/ppg-9/1 copolymer - polymethacrylate - dimethicone copolyol - dextrin palmitate - xylitol - methyl gluceth-10 - trimethylsiloxysilicate - dipotassium glycyrrhizate - scutellaria baicalensis extract - zinc myristate - thiotaurine - ectoin - disteardimonium hectorite - aluminum distearate - aluminum hydroxide - isostearic acid - silica - trisodium edta - tocopherol - phenoxyethanol


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product for ~ $40 plus tax - quite expensive for me, but worth it if it can be everything that I want in a sunscreen.

Last year I tried shiseido's spf 55 ultimate sun protection lotion for face & body and loved everything about it, with the exception of how extremely waterproof it was. It was amazing - smelled great (nothing like your typical sunscreen smell at all), wasn't the slightest bit greasy, didn't break me out, was really protective, no white-cast...but I just couldn't get it off at the end of the day without scrubbing pretty hard. They make an oil cleanser to remove it with, but that's just ridiculous to me. If i'm going to spend $40-50 on a sunscreen, i'd better NOT need a $40-50 bottle of oil cleanser to get the stuff off at the end of the day. I tried olive oil but nothing but scrubbing worked.

This year I decided to try the baby sunscreen as I was hoping it would be everything I loved about the spf 55 sunscreen, but less waterproof. It's definitely less waterproof, and I can get it off with just cleanser (dove beauty bar) and water. It smells just as great, no white cast, no breakouts or allergic reactions so far...but it is a little bit greasy. Sigh.

It's better than the ultra waterproof version just because I can get it off, but I'm really disappointed by the greasiness. Good, but not HG. Not sure if I will repurchase.



on 5/1/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried more than 10 sunscreen products and this one is my favorite!!! I have severe redness and some acne. This product improves my skin gradually. Love it!


on 4/27/2015 9:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've gone through 2 bottles of this stuff, which is saying a lot. It's fantastic for my combination skin and somehow does not aggravate my acne-prone skin. I've accidentally napped without removing this sunscreen and thank goodness, my skin did not react at all. It can feel a little tacky after application, but a light dusting of loose powder will fix it. For removal, I use a micellar water (Bifesta) and it seems to come off just fine.

Most definitely my HG sunscreen!


on 2/1/2015 11:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was really surprised how much I disliked this product. If you have dry skin like me, it just makes it worse. I'm not sure what ingredient mattifies your skin, but for older gals (particularly with drier skin) we like the dewy look. This is an all mineral sunscreen and so I thought great, I can put this over a good moisturizer and be both moisturized and protected. Wrong. It will suck up the humectant in your moisturizer and whatever else it can get out of your skin...really uncomfortable....and it's expensive. DHC has a lovely mineral fluid sunscreen that I'm going back to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2014 1:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my go to sunscreen for the past few years due to it's ease in finding it readily in department and drugstores in Canada. It's a pure mineral based sunscreen mixed with several types of silicone and a bit of alcohol. It definitely leaves a white layer but has protected me very well even when I don't get a chance to reapply.

My bottle is expired but I still use it no problem. It has that trademark Shiseido scent that I really like though it's the most pricey sunscreen I purchase. It does leave a greasy feeling on the skin but is liquidy and spreads easily. The container is shaped to fit the hand easily so you can dispense with one hand but some oozes out the sides. I put it in a ziplock bag when I'm out along with a damp hand towel. It's rated SPF 33 and I haven't gotten dark using this but it's water resistant.

Due to the silicone base, it's really hard to remove but I've discovered that cleansing oils remove sunscreen quite well. I guess that would explain why Shiseido makes one themselves though it's really overpriced for something that is mostly mineral oil. I use the ones that don't clean my face really well along with my Body Shop Flannel cloth.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In Asia, there are two gentle spf 30 sunscreens. One is called the Gentle Sun Protection Lotion and the newer one is the Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 PA+++. I have used both and the newer Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild doesn't match up to the Gentle Sun Protection Lotion, especially in terms of texture.

If applied on freshly cleansed skin the Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild is sticky even after absorption. However if applied over skin that has been toned and moisturized it gets really sticky and doesn't seem to absorb at all. It dries dewy. A nightmare in a hot humid environment.

Meanwhile the Gentle Sun Protection Lotion is lighter than its SPF30 counterpart and dries semi matte. My only complaint would be the slight tackiness after it dries and absorbs. It's not labeled anywhere as water or sweat resistant but it doesn't come off easily with a regular foaming cleanser. A cleansing oil would be ideal to remove this sunscreen.

Another good point about this sunscreen is its oil control capabilities. Must be the work of the silica and silicones. My skin doesn't get dry using this sunscreen and so far I have suffered no breakouts. Protection wise this sunscreen holds up well and I have not gotten any sun burns. A perfect sunscreen for day to day use.

I have this feeling that Shiseido might discontinue this sunscreen in Asia as the newer Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild is more profitable for them. Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild comes in a small 50ml tube and costs RM130, while the Gentle Sun Protection Lotion comes in a generous 100ml size and costs only RM115.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2013 7:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this product for almost 3 years and absolutely loving it. I have an acne prone skin and this lotion doesn't break out my skin. I have several black spots, but after using it, there is no appearance of new spots. The lotion does it's jobs. I usually use this product every morning before applying makeup. I live in Indonesia with tropical climate, and i found that if I wear the lotion for outdoor activity, my face will get greasy and shiny. And it's not sweat proof, so I have to reapply it after several hours. But if I stay indoor, the lotion will last all day. The product is expensive, but it's still worth the price since you'll get 100 ml. One bottle will last for 6-8 months if you wear it thinly everyday. Sadly, the product sale was discontinued in Indonesia 2-3 months ago, so I have to buy it in Singapore or Hongkong. In overall, this is a lovely product and worth buying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2013 12:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a pretty good sunscreen. I used the Shiseido Urban Environment one before this (the white one) and that made my face into a greaseball. I have really oily skin unfortunately and this one was better at keeping the oils at bay. However, I do still get oily after a few hours (just not as oily as the Urban Environment). Still on the search for a good oil-controlling sunscreen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2013 2:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to skip over the pricey department store sun care products and would try to find a drugstore sunscreen that wasn't goopy, greasy, and in a monster-sized bottle (the sun doesn't shine too often in Vancouver, and because it's cold pretty much throughout the academic year I'm usually covered up). While I found that the Hawaiian Tropic Sensitive Skin Face Sunscreen fit the bill, I've only seen it at one Shoppers location around me (though if you can find it and you're on a budget I highly recommend it!). Then there are the sunscreens that have been imported from Japan, but they require a bit of work to find, and they often come in the tiniest bottles ever (30mL? That's for one entire adult body!). Fed up, I decided to take the splurge and buy a sunscreen from Shiseido. At the time that I had bought it, the sun had been shining for a week straight, but the day after, the weather had gone back to its usual cloudy. Frustrating, yes, but once the sun came out again, I gave the product a try. The bottle is nice to hold, but once I opened it and squeezed out some sunscreen, I noticed the mess all over the bottle's mouth, which was not of the kind that looked like it was modelled after the Krazy Glue spouts. The formula is runny and once applied, it dries to a smooth finish. It has to be rubbed in well to keep the sunscreen from ransferring onto dark clothing too much (that was a letdown). The product leaves a slight white cast, which I don't mind, but it may be a problem for darker-skinned users.

(I have yet to try this on my face, but I'm worried about it turning my makeup orange, plus I usually use BB cream to protect my skin there.)

They really mean it when they say this sunscreen is water-resistant! It literally sticks to your skin and doesn't budge. I don't burn, so I can't say whether this would work for those who are prone to burning, but it certainly kept me from tanning.

Again, since this product has so much staying power, it needs to be removed with something oil-based. I used plain old olive oil for this, which was fine.

Aside from the packaging issues and the oxides rubbing onto my clothes, this product is a keeper. Finally, no more sticky drugstore sunscreen for me!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2012 6:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i really love this ss, it doesn't break me out. at first i thought oh my so liquidy. but then it doesn't make my face oily at the end of the day like it usually is. so I'm very happy and it is the best match to my shiseido serum without breaking out my face :) the only thing I'm cringing at s the price... omg... $59 for 100 ml... ok i hope it last for a while

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Shiseido Products

image

Facial Cotton

204 reviews
image

Eyelash Curler

1100 reviews
image

eyebrow pencil

62 reviews
Back to Top