Unlisted Brand • mystic tan • Self Tanners

rated 3.6(72 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 trishz on 12/27/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by trishz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried every self tanner under the sun :) I am allergic to sulfites so a lot of them make me itchy (st tropez) but it's still worth it to be bronzed. I never go out in the sun without sunblock so I depend on sunless to give me a little color. I used the mystic for a long time and stopped because the closest one to my old house was just too far and now I live really close to one! So i started again. For me, I load on that barrier cream on my hands, palms, bottom and tops of my feet.. When the tanning is over I use baby wipes to take off the cream and then I kind of buff some of the left over tan from my arms onto my hands and from my legs onto my feet to give them a little color. It works really well for me and I don't think it looks like I spray tan. I use the Light version of the mystic. These are expensive but the unlimited is an okay value. I don't think they smell at all and I haven't seen it transfer to my sheets!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Rawlins1 on 12/4/2013 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Rawlins1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

With a health condition that leaves me unable to be in the heat, it's practically impossible for me to get a tan. I am very pale and I wanted to have some color for my prom, so I went the Mystic Tan route. (I would of preferred to have someone spray me, but being from a small town, I couldn't find anyone who does them.) I used tons of buffing cream, after hearing horror stories, and the young, ditzy girls at the salon told me to go with shade Light, so I did. I didn't notice a difference until the next day when my hands and feet were orange and muddy looking. The tan was uneven. I was told I could go back for 2 more sessions, but with only days left before my prom I was hesitant and decided against it. I ended up exfoliating several times and scrubbing off what I could of the tan and my makeup artist did a really good job with bronzer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeupstuffs on 6/5/2013 7:54:00 AM more reviews by makeupstuffs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

What a load of old ****. Im shocked at just how bad this is. Never again. Such an uneven result and I followed the instructions exactly. Next time i will make sure i do it myself with my tanning products and mitt and save a hell of a lot of money too! Luckily I have a day to sort myself out (remove this crap, before my ball).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SunnyAntia on 5/7/2013 1:37:00 PM more reviews by SunnyAntia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've always been extremely pale; never in my life have I had a nice natural tan. I just have the type of skin that burns or freckles but never goes brown, especially on my legs. A coworker of mine has a similar skin type and she came to work a couple of weeks ago with a mystic tan in the color "Glow". I thought it looked nice, and considering my inability to get a tan naturally I thought I'd give it a go.

It being my first time, I found the process a little unnerving. The woman giving me directions was quite snitty and seemed annoyed that I kept asking her questions. She told me to go for the color "light" even though I was a little apprehensive about choosing something darker than the lightest shade. Anyways, the actual spray process was pretty quick but a little freaky, I wasn't given any nose plugs so I did end up inhaling some of the tanning solution but the woman there assured me it was fine. When I got out I was sticky and I stunk to high heaven, definitely don't make plans to do anything strenous or social afterwords.

I noticed a small amount of color at first, but nothing major. By hour four my body was developing a small amount of color, my face on the other hand looked like I had rubbed a mixture or dirt and orange face paint all over it! It was so awful me and my mom just stood there and laughed, luckily after I scrubbed my face and used an astringant the color lightened into a nice glow. The next morning I showered, scrubbed my face again (as it had darkened even further over night) and moisturized really well.

Honestly, I'm still not sure how I feel about the color, I think it might just be because I was SO pale going in. I've never actually experienced having a tan on my body and it just looks so unnatural and foreign to me. I will say though, the color isn't especially dark and I'm glad I went for "light" instead of "glow", but the tan definitely has a sort of orange cast to it that i'm not especially thrilled with. I was told not to put the barrier cream on the bottom of my feet and now the soles of my feet look like tangerines haha. My hands on the other hand are very white (I used a ton of cream) which I suppose is better than them being orange, but they definitely look a little weird next to my darker for arms. I might try putting a little bronzer on them.

My biggest gripe with the process is the price. I live in Canada, and after opting out of the bronzer and the scent (although I did by the extender) they charged me $46, which to me is absolutely bloody ridiculous and totally unreasonable considering the results were just okay and it only lasts a week. I won't be doing this again, for $46 dollars I'm definitely willing to embrace my pale skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laurakathleenox on 4/7/2013 5:01:00 PM more reviews by Laurakathleenox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just did a tan yesterday and I am not all the happy. Color not very even and much darker on my legs than arms one arm is also tanner than the other and I'm not sure why . I will try again and hopefully the next one will work a little bit better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 savannah1996 on 3/16/2013 6:05:00 PM more reviews by savannah1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really loved my Mystic tan! I'm literally the color of copy paper and I had a very nice tone to my skin. I wish I could look that color all the time! I got the medium cartridge, and although I was very skeptical about it at first, it looked great. Very dark, but not orange. I loved it.

The whole process took only 2-3 minutes to do. The spray was cold at first, but I quickly adjusted to it. However, I felt like I needed to hold my breath the whole time because I felt like I was breathing in toxic fumes (don't worry, they're harmless!). I just tried to take quick, deep breaths when the nozzle wasn't aimed near my face.

Apply a LOT of barrier cream, or your hands and feet will turn bright orange, and I mean BRIGHT. Apply it all over the soles of your feet and your toes, and ALL over your hands. I would've dipped my hands in the barrier cream container if I had the option, haha. Just make sure that all of your knuckles and cuticles are covered very generously, the skin between your thumb and index finger, and your palms (that's where I had the most problem).

The technician said that my tan should take 4-6 hours to develop, but mine took 8-10 before I saw a big difference, and by 24 hours I looked like I had laid on the beach for weeks. Don't wear any makeup, lotion or deodorant the day of your spray tan. I took a shower the night before (exfoliating my whole body) and shaved. They give you a hair cap if you don't want the solution in your hair, but it won't turn your hair a weird color if you decide to leave it off.

I would definitely recommend it! The price of my Mystic was $20, which didn't seem very expensive to me but could accumulate very quickly. It lasted around a week and a half for me with decent upkeep.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tarapickholtz on 8/24/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by tarapickholtz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

My experience with the Mystic HD has been good! I've actually only gotten the light color. I always buy the deepest/darkest shades available from brands like L'Oreal and Neutrogena, so I was worried it would be a waste of my time getting the light, which is what they recommended for me when I was a first-timer. I bought the unlimited monthly package (for Mystic HD and Versa Spa), so I figured why not. Surprisingly, I got a good amount of color! Comparing Mystic to Versa, I can see Mystic being a little more orange, but it still looked very natural on me. Scent is pretty similar. I didn't do any of the add-ons for scents or moisturizer. It was easy to do. I don't do any special preparation either.. I moisturize at least once per day and that plus using the barrier cream on my hands and feet was enough. No streaks and it looked very even, and fast! The scent of all self tanners isn't great to me (unless it's a very low amount of DHA), but it wasn't terrible or anything. I'll be curious to try adding a scent sometime. I've taken body spray to mist myself right after though, and that helps some. Although I've been using the Versa more often lately, I would definitely do Mystic HD again. They are both pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 al218 on 8/9/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by al218

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I did the mystic. I was absolutely not impressed by the young idiots working the salon in New Jersey but the product and the outcome is nice. I didn't put the barrier cream evenly enough on my feet and forgot to do the bottom of my soles so they look funny. My body is nice and tan. The face is even. I am white as a ghost but did the light one. The 2nd darkest. It's REALLY tan but not cheesy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 plasticbambi on 7/12/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well let me start off by saying I'm not a fan of self tanners. I know going to the tanning bed and laying out is awful for you but, I feel that I get a much richer longer lasting tan that way but, none the less I hit a tanning plateau and I really wanted to be insanely dark for a weekend with my boyfriend so I decided to "double dip" and tan in the tanning bed then get a spray tan..
The attendant told me that I only needed to do a medium and I would get insanely dark. This however is not true. I did get dark but, not as dark as I wanted...
I'm Italian, Native American, and French. So I'm light-medium naturally with an olive like complexion. I got close to being "dark" but, I could wear MAC's Matchmaster in 5 and match up perfectly. That level isn't really that dark. I was hoping for more of a 7.5-8.
Also I did have an orange tint. Not anything horrible...not guido status or anything but, a hint of orange.
And the color faded off in like 4 days and claimed to last 7.

Long story short this is OKAY...maybe I'd like it more in the "dark" but, there are much less expensive at home self-tanners I'll probably try first.

*Biggest benefit is perfect application
*Biggest set back is the cost

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akharri785 on 5/18/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by akharri785

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a LONG review but if you're a first timer and super nervous, read this, it will help. I promise! :)
Here's my story; previously, I never cared about being tan and have never, ever been in a tanning bed. Essentially, my mother once read me a six page spread in Cosmo about skin cancer when I was a kid and I was basically terrified of the sun, haha. While I still slather on SPF 45 or higher when I go outside for a few hours, I have started to feel that desire to be tan. I am on a college campus and being tan is HUGE here. Girls are all about the beds and self tanning. I was still on the fence for years and finally, for my college graduation, I thought I needed a little color for all the pictures that would be taken and thought, "Why the hell not?" So I did hours (seriously, hours! haha) of research on what type of spray tans were the best. I watched countless YouTube videos, mined through dozens of blogs, and read reviews like crazy. Finally I settled on getting a Mystic. I then spent the next hour calling all the salons in town to figure out which ones offered Mystics and who had the best deals. After that, I settled on my local Planet Beach. I found their girls to be the nicest and they had the best deal. (Some places I called, the girls seemed almost annoyed with how to explain a spray tan and what to do.) Also. many of my friends recommended Planet Beach, so I made my appointment there. I moisturized heavily for two days before my spray tan and exfoliated the day before and the day of (not heavily, just a gently but thoroughly!).
I arrived terrified but freshly-shaven and showered and with ZERO lotion on. The nice woman walked me through how it works (I'd already seen countless videos but listened to her patiently anyway because she was just so darn nice!) and explained all the products through the Mystic line. Finally, after settling on a package and my color (I went with "Glow" for the first time, it's the lightest color you can select... and I'm one pasty woman, haha!), she led me to the room. It had a giant Mystic booth in it and all the supplies I needed to prepare. She explained what to do and left for me to undress (the rooms are private and lock, so don't worry!). I quickly stripped and repeatedly read the instructions on the poster on the wall. I seriously was freaking out and questioning my whole life, haha. I put on the barrier cream super thoroughly (this is THE most important part!) on my feet, between my toes, over my pedi, on my ankles, on my hands, between my fingers, and on my mani. I did not put any on my elbows or knees and didn't find that they collected any extra since I exfoliated REALLY well before coming. Remember, DO NOT rub in the barrier cream... it's supposed to be super thick and just sit on top of your skin. It looks crazy, but trust me, that's the best way to apply it. Naked, barrier creamed up, and with my hair net on (pull it back a little so it's not covering your hairline); I nervously stepped into the huge booth. I swiped my hand in front of the censor and the robotic lady began talking to me. From there, it really was a breeze. There are numbers on the floor that tell you where to put your feet and the lady always tells you when/how to rotate and there's always enough time between sprays. You basically just stand there with your arms a little bent out from your body and fingers spread wide apart (cupping them can cause product to build up and leave your with orange crevasses) and let it spray you twice on the front in the two positions, and then twice on the back in two positions. But when you turn to the back, keep the same body position but put your hands slightly in front of your tummy so it doesn't get your palms. Aside from that, it's really easy, just make sure to try not to breath in deeply while it's spraying because it can be pretty intense. It was literally over in like a couple of minutes. The machine dries you and the spray is not cold, so it was pretty pleasant. Once you get out, you take off your hair net and carefully wipe off your barrier cream. I also "feathered" the cream while taking it off so my tan would blend nicely into my wrists and ankles and not look weird and have obvious lines. It worked really well. I gently towel-dried off (don't worry about it removing your tan because it won't) to prevent any streaks and changed in to my loose, dark clothes I brought.
It seriously was so easy. I was ready to go once I was dressed. From there, you just make sure you don't get wet (from rain or shower) for at least four hours but I usually wait overnight. I also washed my hands and feet carefully an hour after the spray tan to make sure I got all the barrier cream off. (Also, I use a Noxzema pad on my face before going to bed since my face always tans more than my body. This gently removes a little tanner and helps to match your face to your body more.) I woke up the next day, showered, and it looked great! I was terrified I'd look in the mirror and see Snooki, but it was just a nice, golden me! I seriously recommend this. It's so easy and after the first time you do it, it's not scary at all. I also found that the Mystic fades super nicely. But I usually do buy the accelerator to add to my color cartridge. I don't care if it speeds up the tan or not, but it helps it looked more "airbrushed" and to fade a lot more evenly. So I highly recommend buying that too.
I gave this all 5's in each department except price, because they are kind of expensive (anywhere between $20 - $40, depending on what type of package you get) BUT they do last a LONG time and are very quality. They usually last a week for me and fade nicely if I don't do any upkeep. Since they are expensive, I also use a gradual self tanner once a week or so between my twice monthly Mystics just to keep it looking good.
I usually use the second to lightest cartridge and it looks so natural and sun kissed. In the end, I seriously recommend the Mystic Tan! :)

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Self Tanners products