beautyblender the sponge

4.4

634 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/24/2015 4:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have tried so many different blending sponges because I didn't want to take the plunge and spend $20 on a sponge. I found a lot of good, but not great knockoffs. After listing after this product for so long I finally decided to suck it up and buy it. I must say I am very happy with my decision. This is the best blending sponge there is. Trust me I've tried a lot. Wish I bought this one first instead of spending money on knockoffs. This gives a nice even finish and is the perfect shape.



on 2/23/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I was so so excited to buy this product. For like a year I have been wanting it due to the hype. My advice is: don't believe the hype! This sponge was very mediocre and it broke down so easily! I'm so mad at myself for giving in and spending 20 dollars on a freaking sponge, and 17 dollars for the beauty blender cleanser. So not worth it, one only had it for two days and it's already breaking down WITH the cleanser, absolutely ridiculous

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2015 9:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'll start this with a disclaimer that I have 2 BB's and both I got free in Birchbox and Glossybox. So I dont have the same negative feelings about price. I might feel differently if I had bought with my hard earned cash as they are pricey
I LOVE my BB - it beats any brush hands down for natural application. I use one for foundation and the other for cream blush and it blends them seemlessly. It also gives a v fresh glow
This wont apply to all but I often do my 60 yr old mums make up - I find foundation sits in her lines and looks cakey which is even more aging BUT with the BB this makes a massive diff as it covers any uneven colour but doesnt cake.

Cons
- price
- your foundation doesnt stay on as well IMO as it would with brush or hands


on 2/14/2015 9:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

While the Beauty Blender is a must in ensuring my concealer and foundation looks flawless, it is on the pricy side. In Canada, it costs me $26 to purchase a sponge. The quality isn't amazing, as it easily can rip and tear with daily usage. Otherwise, I don't have many issues with my Beauty Blender.


on 2/14/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If they lowered the price to $12 I'd be more likely to buy more because as another review stated, it's unsanitary. With that being said, "No rAgrets". I love it. When I apply foundation with a brush, it always kicks up some flakes from my dry patches because of the buffing motion, I also have to hurry up and blend the makeup before it dries. With the beauty blender you're just dabbing the foundation on so it really did make my face look flawless because I didn't flake and my makeup didn't get cakey due to the dampness of the sponge ,it made the foundation and concealer super blendable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

IT'S SO FLUFFLY I'M GONNA DIE!
Ok, on a serious note, I can't believe I spent $20.00 on a freaking sponge. It was just a momentanous moment of splurge because this sponge is EVERYWHERE on YouTube. Super hyped! Yeah, I get it; it is super soft and blends foundation and concealer like a dream, it is made of such soft porous material it expands tremendously with water, but really? Twenty-freaking- dollars?
I actually have a couple of problems with this sponge: 1) The steep price 2) How unsanitary it really is... I just clean it in microwaved hot water, also with anti bacterial soap, and I leave it to dry wondering if mildew is forming at its core, because I am never 100% sure it is truly dry even after it shrinks. 3) It is some delicate frail material. I know it will lose it's shape over time, and the pink color also fades. 4) With my great quality brushes I can achieve the same effect this product provides me. All in all, I feel it is a cool item to have just because everyone raves about it. You know what I mean? Not a god sent. Not worth twenty dollars.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 9:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this sponge because I read and heard so many good reviews about about it. Without this sponge I literally don't know how I did my makeup before. I really love this sponge because I can apply my concealer and foundation without it looking cakey. I stopped using foundation for everyday use and I just use concealer. I stopped using this sponge aswell for a while and just used a brush to apply my concealer and it was the worst decision ever. As I applied my conealer with a brush you can see streaks from the brush. Most definately try out this brush.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Although I absolutely love this application sponge and consider it a gift from the makeup gods, the only complaint I have is it is a little pricey. However, for the versatility of coverage one is able to achieve with just one sponge, I suppose it is worth it. As long as you clean it regularly, it lasts quite a while so maybe it almost pays for itself if you ditch your other disposable cheap sponges, etc,
Buyer Beware of cheap knockoffs! They will NOT give you the same amazing results as the original, authentic BeautyBlender (speaking from experience!).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG makeup "applicator." I have used many different brands and types of brushes/sponges and the Beauty Blender takes the cake. I thoroughly wet the BB then squeeze it with my hand then I give it a squeeze with a towel so it is left just a little damp. I apply my concealer with a little brush then buff it out with the BB and I dip the BB into my foundation and bounce it on my face. I also use it to apply Anastasia Beverly Hills Banana shade from the highlight and contour palette. I sort of dab the pointy end on the. Powder then bounce it under my eyes and it comes out matte but not actually powdery. It works well to blend out harsh cream blushes and bringers. I have already repurchased this once because my original went missing after a few months and I missed it so much I spent another $20 for a new one... So worth the price! If you think about it, a nice brush can cost at least that much and this serves as several brushes in my opinion. I can't say enough so I am going to end here!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The Beauty Blender are popular for good reasons. The first and most important reason: it leaves your foundation looking airbrushed and seamless. No more nasty cakey make-up!


That being said, I must admit that have never jumped on board with the whole Make-Up Sponge hype.

Shocking, I know.

Let me explain why:


Despite it's easy application and flawless finish it leaves on your skin, I greatly question the HYGIENE level of constantly having a damp make-up sponge. No, this isn't about foundation residue left on your sponge, this is about bacteria and mould!

Sponges, unlike the old-school brushes, simply takes too long to dry. The emphasis here is no longer the method of cleaning, but the method of drying. Why? It's simple. The longer the sponge stays damp, the greater the chances of it attracting bacteria and mould!

Some ladies I know aren't too bothered with that fact because they are assured of its cleanliness as long as it is physically clean of foundation residues and what not. As with anything in life:

Just because you can't see it, doesn't mean it's not there.

Here's some proof:

"The warm, damp and porous nature of kitchen sponges make them an ideal breeding ground for bacteria. In these conditions one bacterium can multiply to more than four million in just eight hours.
This can make them up to 200 times more infested than a lavatory. A study by the University of Arizona found that most sponges in kitchens hold large numbers of bacteria including E.coli and salmonella." - source

Granted, we're not talking about kitchen sponges here. Though the idea is the same - make-up sponges can be indeed warm, damp and they are in fact porous. Yes, even with the best cleaning solutions or microwaving it.

Additionally, the egg-shaped or spherical nature of the sponge further aggravates the drying time. Especially in the core of the sponge. So while it may be dry to touch, the centre of the sponge may still be damp enough to harbour unwanted bacteria.


Not convinced?


Ever found some black specks on your make-up sponge? Those are mould! It happened to me on the second day that I've bought one. Despite how new it was, I couldn't bear the thought of having mould come in contact with my skin. With great reluctance, I threw it out and never looked backed since.

Take heart, not all is lost!There is one way where you can have the similar flawless finish of a make-up sponge all whilst maintaining tip-top hygiene standards for your face.

Continue reading on how I do it here: http://claudlyy.blogspot.com/2015/01/the-one-thing-to-consider-before-using.html

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
65 Reviews
Mia
1028 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
25 Reviews
the sponge
634 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Easy Makeup Tutorial : Soft Smokey Eyes HD by beautybysantaana

Top Rated beautyblender Products

image

the sponge

634 reviews
Back to Top