beautyblender • the sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(607 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 12/18/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

$19USD at sephora. pink in colour. have tried the real techniques due and this was better.
wet the sponge until it inflates and then use a towel to take out excess moisture.
i have used this with most of my foundations and those that are water based, it does a great job for. it blends liquid foundation flawlessly into my skin, and it feels nice too because its a dabbing motion- a brush has some drag.
its also very quick to apply liquids. you can build coverage in specific areas without caking up because the damp sponge is mixed with the pigments in the foundation.
blends concealers easily into the skin for highlighting and blemish covering purposes. i tap the concealer into the desired areas, and then blend with the sponge. the top tip is great for the under eye. the rounder bottom and the sides are great for larger face areas.
the packaging is a little plastic cylindrical tube that can be used to place the sponge on and let it dry. travel friendly.
only downside is cleaning it- its harder to clean than a brush and must be replaced every 3 months.
i don't have the designated beautyblender cleansers. i used my mac brush cleaner to clean it - soaked it in the cleansing liquid then squeezed it out and the foundation came out. the sponge is still stained though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Missmartinez1014 on 12/18/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by Missmartinez1014

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had previously liked the beauty blender after using it and used nothing else to apply my foundation as I never received the same flawless look. I think I took it for granted. Mine sort of fell apart after some time and so I didn't have time to go to sephora and picked up a knock off beauty blender...NEVER BUY A KNOCK OFFS!!!! The beauty blender is the most amazing beauty sponge out there and it cannot be recreated. The $20 is very much worth every cent. I can't live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 12/17/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm late to jump on the BB bandwagon but like it so far. I've used it with tinted moisturizers, foundations, cream compact foundations, and even Laneige BB cushion, because I don't like the flat spongey applicator included with the compact. My foundation looks natural but the sponge seems to absorb a lot of product. I can never get this thing clean though, no matter what I use. After cleaning, there's always a blob of foundation stuck on the fat end of the sponge that I can't remove, but that's probably user error. I like BB, but I was previously using the Shu Uemura lightbulb foundation sponge to apply my makeup, which I like better due to its smoother texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 12/14/2014 6:39:00 PM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am so late in finally purchasing this product! with different foundations, i use specific brushes for each one to get a specific coverage. My mufe hd has been sitting in my vanity untouched because i just didnt like how thick it looked on my face, but the beauty blender really blends it nicely! i just need one squirt of foundation, use my BB damp and voila! seamless

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jakelovesmakeup on 12/11/2014 7:41:00 PM more reviews by jakelovesmakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was reluctant to buy this seeing I can get a good foundation brush with my MAC discount for this price. I finally caved and bought it. It is a nice change from the traditonal brush. Blends foundation beautifully. I dont love the sponge, but I do like the addtion to my kit. It's a nice option to have, and does create a flawless look. Although, nothing you cant recreate with a brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 monmellow on 12/11/2014 12:01:00 AM more reviews by monmellow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use a stippling brush to apply my MUFE HD foundation but since getting this have become a convert.

It gives me a really nice airbrush finish and application time is very quick! A definite bonus for a non-morning person like me who gets ready til the last minute before running out to catch the bus!

i use the pointy end to apply undereye concealer (tarte creaseless concealer) and am very pleased so far. A little goes a long way if you're looking for that everyday, natural yet flawless look.

I think part of the reason this works well for me is that my products are on the thicker side. I can see it wasting a lot of product if it's very watery. I must admit I was worried it would absorb most of my foundation but I use almost the same amount (probably slightly more) with the beautyblender. I also love how you can build it up in layers, giving you more coverage without cakiness.

I have the white version and when I wash it with my face wash it looks almost like new again. It's pretty durable so far, and so so soft that it doesn't bother sensitive areas like the under eye (I've had this problem with other, harder sponges).

Overall I really like this and will likely buy it again, but only if I don't find a good dupe because it is definitely overpriced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KilluhXCee on 12/8/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by KilluhXCee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

so I finally bit the bullet and tried the beauty blender and I will say...its good. Amazing for a reusable sponge but worth the hefty price tag? not so much

when I first purchased this product, it took a bit to get used too since I was so used to using brushes for my foundation for that max coverage, flawless look. So due to you having to wet the sponge and actually using it with the foundation, it was kinda off-putting since because like I mentioned earlier its a wet sponge, I personally felt like it sheered the coverage down a little but, that's not a bad thing. because as it sheers it out slightly, it makes it look alot more natural like second skin almost, and really gives that glowing / even look (best way to put it would be like shiseido advertisements / kpop korean glow). The BEST part about this is that because it sheers down foundations, its the BEST with cream / full coverage foundations that can be cakey if you overdo it (ex: kat von d lock it tattoo foundations / estee lauder double wear max and regular / mac full coverage or studio tech ). One thing I can TRULY appreciate is that because you have to get it wet to use it, you have to clean it after each use anyways seeing as you're gonna wet it under water anyways so in that aspect for lazy people like myself, its a no brainer "kill two birds with one stone" type of ordeal

it TRULY gives it a much more comfortable feel while remaining it to look more skin-like if you're go a little to heavy handed with foundations naturally. also I commend the brand but allowing us to recycle these things by sending it back to the company. NOW THE GRIPE I HAVE IS THE PRICE. yes in certain aspects it is worth it, cause I haven't found a sponge that is TOTALLY 100% SPOT ON as a dupe as of yet. The closest I have found is actually soho brand one from the drugstore / as well as from crown brushes despite that the shape isnt the same. personally though in times of desperation (and being a broke college student) I have ordered the ones from ebay for a $1 each and its not bad. but....its not a dupe it works but its just not the same at all

so would I say the beauty blender is worth it? in the sense yes but would I personally go out of my way to purchase it over & over again?.....sadly here and there when I have the cash to spare but seeing as I am on a budget with just how much I can spend I would say no. if you can afford it however yes totally go for it but if you have brushes that already works for you I don't think you NEEEEED to go out of you're way to purchase this. ITS DEF WORTH GIVING A SHOT THOUGH!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maiitaii on 12/8/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by maiitaii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

To be honest, I'm not loving this for foundation at all. My big thing with foundation is getting a natural, skin-like finish. My skin at the moment is really dry (it gets combo in the summer though), and I have mild acne and fine lines but no textural issues otherwise, nor am I someone who looks for full coverage. I just feel like it's much harder to control the amount/sheerness of your foundation with a sponge, and it always ends up giving me cake-face :( I'm not sure I like this better than fingers, let alone a quality brush. Granted, a good brush is a lot more expensive than this, but it'll last you for years.

On the other hand, I really like it for concealer! I guess it's because I like to tap on concealer (rather than blending it in, like foundation) and this is perfect for that. I'll probably buy the mini ones next, since they seem perfect for concealer.

Judging by how well this works with my concealers, and not foundations, I think the beauty blender is best suited for thicker, creamier formulations rather than the very liquidy, siliconey foundations I like. It's a good product overall (and definitely better than cheaper sponges) so I'll give it a 4, it's just not suited to most of *my* purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shinelikezizi on 12/3/2014 7:04:00 AM more reviews by Shinelikezizi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this sponge!!!
It is a must have for anyone who applies Foundation!

So i use foundation nearly everyday, and before i was just using a standard foundation brush from Estee Lauder, and it was so difficult to get in the corners around your nose, mouth, in between eyebrows. I hated how my foundation would come out patchy. So after watching many many You tube videos everyone always used the Beauty Blender.
So i ordered mine off Amazon, there was two in a box, and it also came with the cleanser. It was 24.99 which for a sponge is abit pricey but its soooo WORTH and i have not used a foundation brush since!! No streaks, no patches, just smooth flawless coverage!

Before using the beauty blender, make sure you wet it with warm water and it will expand.
Towel dry it
And your ready to use!

I start off with moisturiser all over my face- using Aveeno wih shea butter- great for dry and oily skin.
Then i use a primer- im using the Revlon primer and Giorgio Armani Master Primer- both are great and provide a smooth canvas to work on.
I apply my foundation using a pump on my hand and using the big side of the beauty blender i dab it onto my foundation, i then bounce the sponge on my face, just bounce! No dragging it across your face! Thats all!
You use the pointy side for round the nose area, corners of mouth, under the eyebrows, around the eyes.
I also like to use the pointy side to apply my concealer under the eyes, nose and forhead.
It does not leave any streaks, or patches. I dont think it makes the foundation cling onto spots, it kind of glides over it so it covers it. It doesnt make it look crusty.

Always make sure to wash it before using it again, and always remember to dampen it before using!
The beauty blender i got came with a cleanser so i used to wet the sponge then apply cleanser on both sides and massage it into the sponge and wash it out- hey presto! Its good as new!
If you dont want to buy the cleanser, you can use baby shampoo, its good and cleans the sponge just aswell.

Hope this helps!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wixter on 12/2/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this sponge for about a month now and I have to say that I love it.

This sponge applies my makeup better than the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge. Although I still love that sponge, and I will buy it when I cannot afford the BeautyBlender's $20 price tag, the BeautyBlender just applies my makeup more even.

This sponge is less dense and more "bouncy" than the Real Techniques sponge. I also found that it takes less time to blend in my foundation with the BeautyBlender than the Real Techniques sponge, and the sponge soaks up less foundation. It is also easier to clean it. What I also found peculiar is that this sponge dries faster than the Real Techniques sponge. By the end of the day, my BeautyBlender sponge is back to its original size, while the Real Techniques sponge took about 2-3 days to fully dry out to its original size.

This sponge has also outlived my other Real Techniques sponges. Usually about two weeks in, my Real Techniques sponge has rips and holes all of the place due to my long nails. But the BeautyBlender has stayed perfect, even though I clean it more aggressively.

The $20 price tag is cheap, but it is worth it. It has already outlived my Real Techniques sponge and blends my makeup better. I can see this lasting me a long time. I will replace this eventually as sponges, even when cleaned regularly, can get a little nasty. But considering how much easier this one cleans and lasts, I don't see myself replacing it as often as with the Real Techniques sponge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More beautyblender products

More Misc Beauty Tools products