Bare Escentuals • Faux Tan all-over face color • Bronzers

rated 4.4(147 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babyblue59 on 4/19/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by babyblue59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this when Ulta was having their 21 Days of Beauty sale and I only paid $10 this is. I liked this color better than the warmth shade because it seemed less orange in undertone and more red. It is surprisingly blendable on the skin and really does look natural, like you have an actual tan. I am extremely fair and thought this was for sure going to look crazy on me. But as long as you use a small amount and really swirl it into your brush, it is actually a really good bronzer. However for everyday I prefer something matte and a little lighter in color like Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil or Benefit Hoola. But when I want a super tan, bronze-y look in the summer this will be perfect! And for $10Ö you canít beat that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 4/11/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great bronzer that gives an incredibly natural look. It is a matte medium brown with a very slight reddish hue. I use this to contour and give my face a bit of color. I am NW15 and it looks very natural. You can apply very sheer or build it up darker. It gives a true "been out in the sun" look, rather than "shimmery bronzer-fest." The only downside is the slightly messy application. I love this and I will definitely repurchase when I finish this off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linneahurtig on 2/14/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by linneahurtig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me first state: I love bronzer. High end? I've got them all. Or well, maybe not.. but yeah, I've bought a few over the years.
This is a lovely bronzer, it has the perfect acutual sun-tanned look. Its warm, but not orange; it's a perfect amount of brown with added copper tones to give a natural tan. I actually didn't want to like this bronzer as much as I do just because of the crappy packaging which ends in a big mess all over my vanity everytime I use it (and the fact that I've splurged on so many other more expensive bronzers).
I use this as I would use my Guerlain 4 seasons 02 in brunette: on the actual high points of my face, where I most likely would get a more intense tan. If I'm lazy and want a more contoured bronzer without using a contour product I'll go with something less coppery like Tom Ford Terra bronzer, or Nars Laguna, but for an acutall tanned and warm look or to enhance a tan this is awesome! Im NC20 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kimmiebat on 1/18/2014 7:44:00 AM more reviews by Kimmiebat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful color for that all over sun kissed glow. For that purpose, I like it even better than warmth-but it's a close second for me. This is probably not a good contour color for lighter, paler skin tones as it is a very warm color. Hoola bronzer is a much cooler color. Some people might have a better result contouring with a taupe eyeshadow. Natural shadows are gray. Taupe is brown-gray. Hope this helps someone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautykrazy on 6/9/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by beautykrazy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot say enough great things about this, really, the ONLY downside is the messy application. The perfect product for faking a caught-by-the sun look or enhancing a tan. It's looks completely natural and this is largely due to the flawless texture that is undetectable on the skin. You need a light hand and a good buffing brush (I like the large Ecotools Bronzing Brush or Mac 109 w/ it) as it very pigmented and a little goes a long way, but once buffed in you literally cannot tell it's there on the skin. Never looks powdery, patchy,dull, or cakey. It's a matte bronzer but still gives a radiant glow without sheen or shimmer. It's a beautiful pick-me-up product and suits everyone from tanned to pale.
The reddish tones in this mimic the pinkish hue of skin that's just been caught by the sun, so it gives a really natural looking tanned look to the face and the body. I wish it were easier to use liberally as I love using this with a big bronzing brush over the body. It's beautiful run over the chest, arms and legs, and lasts forever on the skin.
It's a gorgeous contouring bronzer, warming and sculpting the face. You can even skip blush with Faux Tan, it's so pretty. If you're into cool or neutral bronzers like Benefit Hoola you may not like this, but I urge you to at least have the BE sales peeps to try it on you. Once you try it and get the hang of it of applying Faux Tan, I think you'll love it as much as me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 auraborialis on 2/7/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by auraborialis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to bring down the rating... but this looks horrible on NC20 skin! It turned red on my face. Not a flattering shade of "I've just been out in the sun exercising" red, but the 1997 brick red that everyone was wearing on their lips kind of red. And that's really gross. I can't contour with it and I can't put that kind of color on my eyes either. Maybe my skin is just too yellow for it? I don't know. I wanted to love this product but it looks TERRIBLE.

The only pro about this is how smoothly it goes on the face. It has great texture and color payoff... just wish it had less red in it. Urgh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 12/28/2012 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So the first time that I used this, I did not like it at all. Now that I am using it with the BE original foundation, I am in love. I am NC30 but perhaps not as yellow as MAC categorizes my skin. I wear BE original in Medium Beige, which is a neutral shade. This on top makes my skin glow... Not too shiny or greasy looking. It looks like I got a great tan and my face is golden versus appearing muddy or dirty. It does not cast an ugly orange on my face either. I have tried a lot of bronzers and my favorite had always been NYC Sunny but this beats Sunny. Highly recommended, especially if you are wearing BE foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amyelizabeth7 on 8/6/2012 8:29:00 PM more reviews by Amyelizabeth7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love this product!!! I'm very fair and warmth just didn't ever do it for me! The faux tan has more of a brown undertone where as warmth was orange. It looks extremely natural and gives a sun kissed look and not orange cheeks!! I use this in the hollows of my cheeks, jaw line, temples, chine and dust it across my nose and it looks fantastic! I was recently at BE and a sales associate told me it was being discontinued but she had to have been mistaken because way too many people are in love with this product! Just a heads up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zhaya on 6/27/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by zhaya

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I never thought I'd end up using a "bronzer." I hate most bronzers because of all the glitter that seems to be in almost all of them. I am naturally olive, and tend to get very dark in the summers since I'm lazy about using sunscreen. But now at my age, almost 60, I am trying to start taking better care of my skin, and have been using products that lighten age spots and even skin tone. So when I go out unshielded I end up undoing all that I've been striving for. But then I had this problem- sort of the reverse of a Farmer's Tan. My arms, legs, neck, shoulders, chest are all brown, but my face is several shades lighter. I was leery about trying this product, because many of the Bare Escentuals have a shimmer that seems magnetically attracted to my wrinkles. I usually use a very light consistency cream foundation or BB. But I decided to give this a try one day while at the Bare Escentuals counter.
It is great stuff! More matte than most of their original products, but not quite as matte as the new line. For me, the color is great- not too orange, not too dirty, not too shimmery-- just right. It made my skin look lovely when very lightly dusted over my foundation. I smoodged it down below my jawline and into my neck so as to diminish the difference in color between the two areas.Yea! It worked! So I bought it, and have been happy with it.
I found accidentally that it is also wonderful for making skin-tone look very even, and blends in areas where you have tan lines. When I wore a strapless dress the other day, I had strap marks from my tank tops. I fluffed on the Faux Tan, gave it a couple of coats, and voila, tan lines virtually gone.
I have now begun to use it routinely on my legs when wearing skirts this summer because even though I am dark, my legs have age-spots and uneven coloration. Faux Tan evens me out and gives a very faint healthy glow with NO shimmer.
The only drawback is the usual one with mineral products- it makes a mess. Can't keep that powder off the bathroom counter. But at least with this product, if some gets on my arms or neck, that's just fine. I just buff it in and look even better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DanseMacabre11 on 6/9/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by DanseMacabre11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love Bare Minerals, and I had always used Warmth since it is the standard bronzer. However, I switched to Faux Tan about a year ago and will never go back! It is much more natural than Warmth, less orangey. It lasts forever, especially when set with the Mineral Veil.
The best part is obviously the contouring effect. This product makes it look like I have amazing cheek bones, which I love.
Overall, a PERFECT product! And remember, you only need a tiny bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Bronzers products