Alba Botanica • Hawaiian Gardenia Hydrating Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.4(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 iEuphoria0 on 7/7/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by iEuphoria0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've mentioned before that the regular price for these is ridiculous, but you can almost always find them on sale. The bottle is also frequently hard to handle. But I found that these conditioners really work for me! I have fine hair and a lot of it. I apply a tablespoon or so of conditioner, run a comb through my hair while it's soaking in, and then rinse it out. My hair smells awesome (I'm a sucker for realistic floral scents) and tangle free! I mix up the smells depending on my mood, but I'm always sticking to this brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 2/26/2013 12:57:00 AM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I found this BOGO at my supermarket ...so I got the shampoo and conditioner and used them together. The shampoo is sulphate free but lathers very nicely which made me think would clean my hair too. I was wrong...left my hair "gluey" feeling. The conditioner has some silicones but towards the end of the list...detangles nicely but makes my hair really flat. The second day my hair looked really oily and had to wash it again. Used them separately too and same results. After 2-3 washes I gave up and stopped using them...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleBear23 on 4/9/2012 7:37:00 PM more reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. It's a conditioner and it smells nice in the shower. That's about it. The scent doesn't last once you get out of the shower. I have fine, thick, straight hair that's color treated. It's barely damaged from the color, but still I need more moisture than this provides. It would probably be ok if you have fine, straight, thin, virgin hair. Otherwise, I think you'll need more moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauboo on 4/26/2011 12:47:00 AM more reviews by dauboo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff, it's one of the only conditioners I've ever bought more than once. When I first used it, I noticed how my hair seemed to turn to silk when I was rinsing it out in the shower. Shortly after, more than one person randomly commented on how shiny my hair was.
Only problem is that it builds up. After a few weeks of using it, you'll no longer be going oooh and ahhh as you run your fingers through your hair. For that reason, I stopped using it for a while... until I stumbled on the solution: clarify. Since I started doing weekly vinegar rinses (that is, mix a splash of vinegar in a big cup of water and rinse your hair with it), I tried this stuff again and it was like the first time I'd used it! I've also tried mixing a splash of red tea into this conditioner with even more fabulous results.
Bottom Line: I like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 12/8/2010 9:22:00 PM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my favorite conditioners! I have fine textured hair that gets weighed down easily by product, but my hair is still dry so I need something very hydrating - it's hard to get that combination right - but this one does!
first of all, it hydrates really well - the day after I use this my hair is shiny, less frizzy, and manageable. it also gives my hair a lot of bounce and makes it look healthy. it smells wonderful - like a tropical vacation. and, it's not too expensive. It also doesn't contain much silicones - it does contain one, dimethicone, but it far down the ingredient list. So I feel this keeps my hair healthy and it can actually absorb into the hair shaft since it is not just a concoction of silicones like many conditioners.
The only problem with it - the texture is too thick. it's hard to get out of the bottle, and it can take a lot of product to spread on the hair because it is so thick. But, I can put up with that since it leaves my hair looking (and smelling) so nice. Btw, this gardenia conditioner is better than the Alba Coconut conditioner in the same line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CosmeticConfessions on 6/28/2010 10:31:00 PM more reviews by CosmeticConfessions

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have very thin, limp hair that is prone to being oily so this conditioner works well for me as it does not weigh down my hair. It does not feel super moisturizing when I put in on in the shower but when I rinse it out my hair feels soft and smooth. This product also smells amazing! My one main complaint is that the hard plastic of the bottle makes it difficult to squeeze the conditioner out of the bottle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ADelicateFlower on 1/7/2010 8:53:00 PM more reviews by ADelicateFlower

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product before and found it to be just okay. It has a thick consistancy which is nice and smells like fresh gardenias but beyond that this conditioner is just a glorified detangler. Nothing special and it hardly did a thing for my dry ends.
Bottom line: good if you want to detangle your locks with something all natural and very nice smelling, but not conditioning enough for any heavy lifting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zedar on 9/7/2009 1:21:00 AM more reviews by Zedar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner works better after I use Nature's Gate Biotin Shampoo compared to the various BWC shampoos that I used to use.

The fragrance and consistency of Hawaiian Gardenia conditioner remind me of a prototype Alba facial cleanser that my friend sourced in the early '90s from the dermatologist creator of Alba.

I like the gardenia fragrance fine, but this is not a favorite conditioner of mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rooks on 8/20/2009 12:15:00 PM more reviews by rooks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this conditioner a lot. I'm surprised more people don't like it. The smell is divine, and it makes my thin, tangly hair manageable and soft. It is a bit thick in consistency, but I find that diluting it with a bit of water helps and makes it more cost-effective, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TiareFlower on 8/12/2009 9:03:00 PM more reviews by TiareFlower

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Even though alba Botanica's parent company Hain Celestial has their reps say that AB's conditioners have no silicones, all the conditioners in the Hawaii line have dimethicone and lots of it. It's about a third the way down on a long list of ingredients. I've found that whenever Hain Celestial buys a natural product company, the quality suffers. They bought Maranatha nut butters, a company w/ a sterling track record, and after they did, Maranatha had to recall a run of tahini for salmonella contamination. The ethics of these folks seems questionable. My guess is that they put impossible pressure to lower expenses on their subsidiaries, so the companies are forced to buy cheaper ingredients and cut back on quality control.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Conditioner products