DevaCurl • Low Poo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 thestyleduckling on 8/12/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by thestyleduckling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product isn't anything special. I have a hair stylist friend who raves and raves and pretty much demanded that I get this for my 3A/3B curly hair. Never have a spent this much on a shampoo (for such a little quantity) but I decided to give it a try because I had an ULTA giftcard.

At first I thought it must just be that your hair had to get used to it. But after using up my conditioner (I still have about 1/3 of a bottle of shampoo left) I know I won't be repurchasing. It did nothing special for my hair, and I just cannot wrap my mind around spending all that money for such a small bottle. I use the Pantene Curl line and it works much better for me and I get twice as much for less than half the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 4/7/2014 10:52:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this at a time when I was still ironing my hair straight, and felt guilty about it since it isn't the best thing for my hair. Eventually, I stopped feeling guilty, then I stopped ironing altogether because I decided it was too time-consuming and the results weren't particularly good. So even though I've had this shampoo for a while, I thought I might like it better now that I'm embracing my curls. I don't. First, the smell is weird. It smells like an alcoholic beverage. Second, my hair feels slippery after I use it. I don't necessarily expect it to be squeaky but it doesn't feel clean. Third, my curls don't look any different than when I use any other shampoo. If I'm inspired to use shampoo for curly hair again, I would go with either Ouidad, Bumble & Bumble or Aveda.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calliopemusic on 3/31/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by calliopemusic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have pretty curly hair (type 3B) that is often dry and frizzy. I've been using this shampoo now for almost a month and my hair is much less frizzy and more moisturized! It doesn't have a great lather (hence the Low Poo) and it's taken some getting used to, but I think it's been helpful. My curls are more defined.

The smell is a bit funky, but nothing too bad. I have noticed that my scalp and the hair on my scalp can be a bit greasy if I don't scrub well. The shampoo isn't too moisturizing either, so use a good conditioner. However, it is way less drying than "traditional" drugstore shampoos. Overall I'd buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 editanazaryan on 3/6/2014 3:37:00 AM more reviews by editanazaryan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love the way my hair feels in the shower after I wash the shampoo out. Doesn't feel tangly, stripped our dry. Make sure to use one conditioner right after. Makes such a difference. My curls love this stuff!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elizabeth67 on 2/28/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by Elizabeth67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used 2/3 of the bottle of One conditioner and have had a horrible experience! At first I thought the extra dry scalp was due to weather, but the weather warmed and my scalp only got drier and drier. Then my hair started falling out in clumps! I have a couple of bald spots and very thin hair that resembles someone who has been having radiation treatments! It feels like straw and my scalp feels like it has been burned. I am horrified! I moved to an Alterna product 4 days ago and the clumps of hair loss has become less, but still far more than in a usual bathing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Corrinne on 2/10/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by Corrinne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is terrible. I have used it for two weeks so I think I've given it enough time. The entire line is crap. My hair has no definition and is a giant fuzzball. Not a good look. Especially not in red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Hyleonie on 11/14/2013 4:50:00 AM more reviews by Hyleonie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I only used this shampoo (along with DevaCurl One Condition) a handful of times but I couldn't continue. I have red dyed hair over natural blonde, oily roots and dry ends (mid back length). I found it impossible to get my scalp clean and used about 1/4 of the bottom each time trying. It dried my hair out severely and had spotted a few split ends (I've not had them before) even along with the One Condition conditioner.
I am also not a fan of the smell, it reminds me of bathroom/toilet cleaner.
I had it shipped to AUS from the US so I really wanted it to be my HG shampoo. I will keep searching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 9/5/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My scalp is dry and sensitive. I wash my dry, short, curly, color-treated hair twice a week. DevaCurl Low Poo has a good amount of lather, but it's not a very moisturizing shampoo and it irritates my scalp, causing it to itch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tempescape on 7/6/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tempescape

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Worked fine the first time. Made my hair soft and clean. It took 3 days for the first zit to appear on my hairline. By day 5 my whole forehead looked like a teenager with severe acne. I've never had such an awful spotty reaction to anything. I used this I n conjunction with the One Conditioner that goes with it. Washed my hair and I could even feel zits on my scalp. Ew.
UPDATE DAY 6: I thought I could just leave it until next wash my it's the next day after I washed my hair with this and One Conditioner (the shampoo never felt like it washed out of my hair properly even though I washed my hair for over 30 minutes). Today though, if I thought yesterday's zits were bad today everywhere I had touched my scalp/hair then rested my hands (chin, chhek, forehead, neck) there were zits coming up. I could actually see them on my scalp sooooo of course I had to rewash my hair. I just used a cheap drug store shampoo/conditioner and I could see the bumps starting to dissapear as soon as my hair was dry. Weird that a $3.99 shampoo worked better than one that costs over double that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katayoun on 6/1/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by katayoun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

chris00111 gave a very accurate review. My hair is super curly in places, and wavy in others. This shampoo is nothing special, actually, it is pretty awful. It might seem nice after 1 use, because it is something new, it is sulfate free, blah blah blah. HOWEVER, it isn't cleansing, and won't remove product from your hair. After about two weeks (I wash my hair approximately every three days, but condition daily), the product buildup is so bad, you'll need a clarifying shampoo to get rid of it. For me, this product was a total waste of money. I will not re-purchase.

UPDATE: I continued to use this shampoo, and grew to really like it! So much so, that I'm on my third bottle. You just have to learn how to use it. Personally, I use a generous amount of product, as I have A LOT of hair. Once I mastered cleansing with this shampoo, I am left with soft, clean, shiny curls :) Of course, I still use a clarifying shampoo about once every two to three weeks. I am sure there are similar products for cheaper out there, but this is easy for me right now. Really glad I gave it a chance.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DevaCurl products

More Shampoo products