DevaCurl Low Poo

3.3

43 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous Extracts of: Achilea Millefolium, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Cymbopogon Schoenanthus, Humulus Lupulus (Hops), Melissa Offcinalis (Balm Mint), Rosmarinus Offcinalis (Rosemary), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, PEG-75 Lanolin, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, PEG-7 Amodimethicone, Polyquaternium-10, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Polyquaternium-7, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methyl Paraben, Propyl Paraben, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance.


on 6/24/2015 7:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I was hoping it wasn't this product but I started using DevaCurl Products back in March and I noticed my hair started falling out in clumps - I mean handfuls in one wash! At first I just thought it was getting use to the whole CG method but it hadn't stopped - Last week I decided I wanted to go back and try the WEN I was using - used it for a week and my hair stopped falling out - ok - still, thought maybe it was just getting use to everything - started using DevaCurl products again and guess what, my hair started falling out in clumps again. So guess I won't be using their products again -



on 11/29/2014 1:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really had high expectations for this. I've been using DevaCurl's Styling Creme and Gel for a while and LOVE them, so I figured, why not try their Low-Poo? Big mistake. While it smells nice, and has a slight lather (more than I expected, actually), it left my hair feeling like slightly slimy straw. I also was left with a HUGE matted clump in the back (I didn't wash my hair any differently than usual. I gently squeeze the suds through the hair). I have never had any shampoo leave my hair in such awful shape.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This product isn't anything special. I have a hair stylist friend who raves and raves and pretty much demanded that I get this for my 3A/3B curly hair. Never have a spent this much on a shampoo (for such a little quantity) but I decided to give it a try because I had an ULTA giftcard.

At first I thought it must just be that your hair had to get used to it. But after using up my conditioner (I still have about 1/3 of a bottle of shampoo left) I know I won't be repurchasing. It did nothing special for my hair, and I just cannot wrap my mind around spending all that money for such a small bottle. I use the Pantene Curl line and it works much better for me and I get twice as much for less than half the cost.


on 4/7/2014 10:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this at a time when I was still ironing my hair straight, and felt guilty about it since it isn't the best thing for my hair. Eventually, I stopped feeling guilty, then I stopped ironing altogether because I decided it was too time-consuming and the results weren't particularly good. So even though I've had this shampoo for a while, I thought I might like it better now that I'm embracing my curls. I don't. First, the smell is weird. It smells like an alcoholic beverage. Second, my hair feels slippery after I use it. I don't necessarily expect it to be squeaky but it doesn't feel clean. Third, my curls don't look any different than when I use any other shampoo. If I'm inspired to use shampoo for curly hair again, I would go with either Ouidad, Bumble & Bumble or Aveda.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have pretty curly hair (type 3B) that is often dry and frizzy. I've been using this shampoo now for almost a month and my hair is much less frizzy and more moisturized! It doesn't have a great lather (hence the Low Poo) and it's taken some getting used to, but I think it's been helpful. My curls are more defined.

The smell is a bit funky, but nothing too bad. I have noticed that my scalp and the hair on my scalp can be a bit greasy if I don't scrub well. The shampoo isn't too moisturizing either, so use a good conditioner. However, it is way less drying than "traditional" drugstore shampoos. Overall I'd buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the way my hair feels in the shower after I wash the shampoo out. Doesn't feel tangly, stripped our dry. Make sure to use one conditioner right after. Makes such a difference. My curls love this stuff!!

Edit: I'd like to put in a follow up review after using this for 3 months noticed my hair starting to fall out! Not sure why????

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2014 10:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have used 2/3 of the bottle of One conditioner and have had a horrible experience! At first I thought the extra dry scalp was due to weather, but the weather warmed and my scalp only got drier and drier. Then my hair started falling out in clumps! I have a couple of bald spots and very thin hair that resembles someone who has been having radiation treatments! It feels like straw and my scalp feels like it has been burned. I am horrified! I moved to an Alterna product 4 days ago and the clumps of hair loss has become less, but still far more than in a usual bathing.


on 2/10/2014 5:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is terrible. I have used it for two weeks so I think I've given it enough time. The entire line is crap. My hair has no definition and is a giant fuzzball. Not a good look. Especially not in red.


on 11/14/2013 4:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I only used this shampoo (along with DevaCurl One Condition) a handful of times but I couldn't continue. I have red dyed hair over natural blonde, oily roots and dry ends (mid back length). I found it impossible to get my scalp clean and used about 1/4 of the bottom each time trying. It dried my hair out severely and had spotted a few split ends (I've not had them before) even along with the One Condition conditioner.
I am also not a fan of the smell, it reminds me of bathroom/toilet cleaner.
I had it shipped to AUS from the US so I really wanted it to be my HG shampoo. I will keep searching.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2013 2:16:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My scalp is dry and sensitive. I wash my dry, short, curly, color-treated hair twice a week. DevaCurl Low Poo has a good amount of lather, but it's not a very moisturizing shampoo and it irritates my scalp, causing it to itch.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
Shampoo
416 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
Shimmer Lights
335 Reviews
Luxury.Wash
Luxury.Wash
10 Reviews


Back to Top