Bobbi Brown • Brownie Shimmerbrick Shimmer Brick Compact • Highlighters

rated 4.5(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vassy0909 on 6/5/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by vassy0909

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

3 of the stripes have plummy tone to it and on my nc20 in the winter appears like a have abrused cheeks.But in the summer, shifting to nc30, very tanned, that's the most amazing rose/bronze color. Amazing blush/bronzer that makes my cheek bones look fabulous and nice silky glow. No glitz, just very nice glow. One of the stripes does great hightlighting job. Love love love. Extremely pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tacobelle88 on 1/15/2010 1:15:00 AM more reviews by tacobelle88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this brick...too bad it was only LE. i do adore the purple/mauve tones to it - i use it as a bronzer/ blush for my medium dark skin! and it definetly works for eyeshadow aswell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laquiche on 8/6/2009 9:25:00 AM more reviews by laquiche

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My favourite shimmerbrick! I love the plum undertones which make this shimmerbrick perfect as an eyeshadow for my green eyes! When I don't want to put much make up on, I put this over my whole eyelid with a 188 brush and it's perfect! It makes my eyes pop! it is of course lovely to give a glow to cheeks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 4/10/2009 8:35:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love BB Shimmerbricks .. so when Brownie hit counters, I was there with lightening speed to statch mine up and while I've been disappointed with some of them .. Brownie is a little piece of delicousness in a compact! It's like all her other shimmerbricks in that it's 5 strips of color that can used individually or swirled together. On my NC42 skintone, this is amazingly a gorgeous bronzer! It has a slight tinge of plum in it to keep it from appearing muddy on my skin .. but still remains brown/bronze enough to work as a bronzer on my skintone. It's not overly shimmery when applied, which is why with a light hand I can use this as a bronzer without my face looking like a disco ball. I can't imagine ever hitting pan on this because it's huge, but i'll definitely repurchase this if I ever manage to use it up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hounddog1 on 2/16/2009 6:56:00 AM more reviews by hounddog1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I cant think of any other nicer bronzer for me than this one. If youre familiar with Nars Multiple in malibu, this gives you the same color bronzing effect, it is not peachy or colorally or yellowy at all. It is shimmery of course and much more pigmented than you would expect especially if you have had other Shimmerbricks that are more sheer. I must admit I do not use this everyday but I cannot bring myself to get rid of it either because it is the only think that has a believeable color of bronzer, I do not really mind looking shimmery because at summer I see other girls wearing some shimmery bronzers I really prefer the look to those who are wearing something matte and streaky. I think shimmer often helps the product spread easier and avoid streaks if youre not a makeup artist and can apply stuff properly, as most of the people really arent pros. So yey for shimmer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katemvirginia on 8/6/2008 10:51:00 AM more reviews by katemvirginia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am PPP. I love this! It give me a natural glowy look. I get compliments whenever I wear this. I got this in a swap & am so glad I did! So much better than Chanel narcisse which I swapped for!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jacobowski on 6/29/2008 2:43:00 AM more reviews by Jacobowski

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After reading all the rave reviews here and on beaute-test in France I had to have this and ordered on eBay as this shade is no longer on sale. How I wish I'd have saved the money and spared the time trying over and over and with every brush one can think of (blender brush, 187, fan, you name it) to make this work for me! The shimmer is no shimmer but a glitter - I can see the seperate gold flecks on my skin. I makes pores look not only large but enormous I'd no idea I even have pores there as my skin is nearly perfect thanks to Erno Laszlo. And the packaging is ridiculous. Only someone who seems to have assistants who carry their make up would create such an ugly, bulky thing that is three times bigger than the actual product. This crap is my first Bobbi Brown item ever and it will for sure be the last! Everyone who wants subtle shimmer fork out for Becca, it is a thousand times finer milled and will never make any pores obvious, def. worth every penny!

EDIT: After coming back from a holiday and now being a C5 I finally found out how to make it wearable for me! With MAC Virgin Isle (which is a strong coral/peony cream blush) heavily underneath and applied with the BB blender brush that I first swipe gently over the product and then wipe on a kleenex, it looks quite nice with no more gold flecks to detect. As it still is enlarging pores I will not up it more than to two lippies. Still crap for a product that I paid 65$ (its 41 EUR in Germany) for!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tmilstein on 6/27/2008 2:40:00 PM more reviews by tmilstein

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm fair-medium and this color looks better on my olive-skinned cousin than it does on me. I was using it last summer, it being the only "bronzer" that I felt comfortable wearing. It is a bit shimmery (thus, the name), but most of the time, that's fine. Apricot is too light. I had rose, which I just didn't like. Too bad this isn't part of the normal line. My favorite is pink quartz - it's got more pink, but still bronzish. It's better for fairer skin people, like me. Sometimes I wear these with a blush on underneat, like you're supposed to. But, that's a lot of work and I'd like them to work properly on their own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* warfreakbaby on 6/19/2008 12:24:00 PM more reviews by warfreakbaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this shimmerbrick made me realized that im loosing half of my life in ignoring shimmerbricks when im at the BB counter.

very very nice color!!! one mua'er suggested this to me since we both love chanel mocha. according to her, the two have similarities.

im NC25-30 and this blush is sooo glowy, healthy and close to perfection. this shimmerbrick doesnt have sparkling white shade like the rest of the shimmerbricks so it is not as shimmery as the other. i dont think i can use this as a highlighter because the color is very pigmented so i only use this as a blush.

OMG!!! i just cant live without this. i used this for almost one week since i dont have time to choose or think what blush should i wear on my clinical duty (imagine, waking ap 3am in the morning and at 4am i must be ready to go)
i got 10 compliments on the first day and i cant count anymore for the following days. its unbelievable!!! when i fetched my daughter from school, one mommy asked me what is my blush, i said its BB brownie shimmerbrick. the next day, she told me that she went to the mall and look for it and she just learned that it was LE! oh my, i cant believe that she really liked it and she needs to travel 2 hours just to look for this blush! its that AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dana on 6/10/2008 3:57:00 AM more reviews by dana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The shimmerbricks are gorgeous to the eye- the gradients of color, the dazzling glimmer, all make it a feast for ones eyes. The grouping is not entirely practical, however, if one wants to omit a color, as the individual shades are rather thin on their own, and not conducive to using a blush brush on them.


The colors in this compact range from bronzes to more rosey hues. I found it highly pigmented, so much so that on my NW25 skin, I needed to use a very light hand. Unfortunately, this turned very orange on me, so I swapped it to someone who hopefully will like it more than I. The quality seems nice, as does the packaging, this just is not a good color for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Highlighters products