Sisley • Eau du Soir • Fragrances

rated 3.9(57 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 VanillaTea on 9/4/2014 7:12:00 PM more reviews by VanillaTea

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I am absolutely loving this perfume.
I also bought the lotion, but have not tried it yet.

My husband said "Wow that is amazing!"
I love it when he totally enjoys my perfume. Makes me love wearing it even more.
We both enjoy!

I love perfumes and have explored many many perfumes over the years.
I might not have appreciated Eau du Soir when I was younger, but now I see it as a Masterpiece.

Very elegant and it holds it's own.
It remains stunning even after hours.
Some perfumes turn into another animal after some time, but Eau du Soir is beautiful from beginning to end.
And it lasts and lasts!

What a treat!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 7/8/2014 1:15:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Eau du Soir falls in the same "soigné" category as 24 rue Faubourg. It is Aromatics Elixir reinvented and elevated to ultimate finesse. AE is the earthy, loamy, fragrance of the people tending the crops and working the soil. Eau du Soir is the perfume of the crops mingled with cool breeze, rising up to the terrace of the the villa overlooking the gardens and orchards below. I don't like to describe a fragrance as smelling "rich" or "like money", because having money doesn't mean you have good taste. Eau du Soir smells of nobility. Eau du Soir is the epitome of good taste and refinement: both classic and modern at the same time. Understated class with nothing to prove in a bottle. I'm glad I didn't smell the original because I read post after post about how everyone is so disappointed with the reformulation. My guess is the oakmoss is what has been taken away. Which is fine by me because oakmoss walks the finest of lines with my body chemistry. It gets 5 lippies across the board. Yes, even the packaging.


After testing this fragrance numerous times, I finally bite the bullet and buy a 50mL bottle. I was so excited! I take it home, open it up and spray it on. Oh no! This is not the same fragrance as the tester. This is an oakmoss BOMB. I tolerate oakmoss because I love my vintage chypres but this is beyond my oakmoss tolerance! My best guess is the tester is the new formula and the bottle I purchased is the original formula prior to reformulation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 10/31/2011 12:59:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love this. Wearing it is a treat to myself! A lovely blend of chypre, coriander and a sort of "amber-y" element. Sophisticated, elegant and unusual...as an earlier reviewer said, this is "pure class" and in a whole different class from the glut of "celeb-u-scents" that are, quite literally, flooding the market.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hriz on 10/29/2011 6:46:00 PM more reviews by hriz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really loved it at first, but after half an hour it become unpleasant, spoiled-smelling. Didn't react well with my chemistry. So wear it for awile before buying if you can.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 g on 7/19/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by g

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smells of pure class!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sayers on 12/26/2010 12:20:00 AM more reviews by Sayers

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If ever there was a refined chypre this is it. This is a throw back to the days when certain fragrances were meant to be paired with fur, impeccable wool suits and good jewellery. The kind of scent whose sillage left other women wishing they were the wearer of such elegance. But it is the musk note that runs through this stunner that gives it it's modern twist. This deserves to be worn after the sun goes down and the romance fires up. A definite jewel in the fragrance world.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 12/6/2010 11:30:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

3.5
Eau du Soir is one of those fragrances that evolve and evolve to give you many glimpses of many visions. If you focus on it, it can grab your attention like a favourite novella. On my skin, the fragrance opens with a hot greenhouse blast where flowers mixed with vegetal aromas offer the most powerfully scented steam, like that of my beloved Kenzo Ca Scent Beau. From this cloud, the most beautiful lemony smell emerges. Although lemon is not a note that I'm particularly fond of, this one smells truly sparkly and magical. Is it spicy ginger mixed with tangerines? I can't distinguish any particular notes during the heart phase but it offers something that would go with every pastel colour that comes to my mind. This is a chameleon phase that could handle the most elegant party in a long velvet dress as well as a casual look with a loose white shirt and a black cardigan. After this, the fragrance starts to heat up on a mossy base and becomes a sillage monster even with a single spritz. I have no complaints but have received very negative comments about this from my family, so it is strictly a solo entertainment for me. Elephantine sillage and tenacious lasting power of over 10 hours. Therefore, it is indeed a very economical fragrance.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 6/21/2010 7:51:00 AM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Although Luca Turin trashed this perfume in his book, and with all due respect, I couldn't disagree more! Eau du Soir smells beautiful! It is soft and elegant, Mr. Turin describes it as a "cheap chypre". "Cheap"?! To me it is one of those fragrances like 24 Rue Faubourg that scream money! I mean, I just totally am at a loss at this review after smelling the perfume (I read the review first)! Eau du Soir is beautiful! I thought it very refined (though I could live without the tacky gold cap. If Sisley wants to do something artsy like that, they should go all the way and create something beautiful, like the bust bottles of Promesse de l'Aube, and just nice, tasteful plain caps for those who don't want to spend $600/bottle). Eau du Soir reminds me of a slightly more formal version of Annick Goutal's Eau du Sud. It has excellent lasting power, and passes the test of my harshest critics--my teenagers--with a "that's nice, a little soapy--in a nice way, Mom!--so take that, Mr. Turin! :-) So my advice is, the books can be a great guide but nothing's better than smelling a perfume in person! Give Eau du Soir a chance, perfumistas!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tricksi on 3/3/2010 6:08:00 PM more reviews by tricksi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Spicy, somewhat old fashioned smelling at first application. I find the florals overtake any citrus at the opening. Musk evident close to the skin as the fragrance wears. Then it kinda takes over and that's pretty much all I smell. The musk note is such it straddles that fine line between good musk and stinky, fake smelling musk. It does get better as it wears since the fragrance continues to soften. Ultimately I do like it but not enough to justify the cost of a full size bottle. Worth trying though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tabloid on 10/9/2009 1:05:00 PM more reviews by tabloid

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

If this fragrance were a woman, she would be a very elegant, very sophisticated woman of a certain age (meaning, not in her 20's but possibly in her 30's, 40's or 50's - she takes such good care of herself it's hard to guess her age, but she's no ingenue!); she's well-spoken and cultured, is well-mannered but does not suffer fools.
Men who are successful, self-confident and well-educated are intrigued by her, as mesmerized by her conversation as by her stunning good looks. Men who want someone to look up to them are intimidated by her.
This spicy green chypre is not everyone's cup of tea, but that's a huge part of its charm. Unlike the generic, all-smell-the-same mass market scents which pop up and disappear, this is a true classic, an original which demands to be noticed, but in the nicest way.
Update; I just read Luca Turin's review and I cannot believe the nasty things he has to say about this scent. Then, again, he is a huge fan of (most) Estee Lauder fragrances, which I cannot stand, which I guess just goes to prove how subjective our tastes in fragrance are - one person's masterpiece is another person's stinker.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sisley products

More Fragrances products