Quo Foundation Brush

3.4

37 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/5/2014 8:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of the worst brush I ever used! The ferule as come loose with time and it simply does not apply foundation properly.

The bristles are too long, to short and too slippery making it unprecise and streaky. The only use I found for this brush is to apply face masks.

Save your money on that one



on 2/28/2012 7:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was quite impressed with my Quo foundation brush, It blends foundation quite well and doesn't leave streaks. It also has a great shape for blending in spots such as the nose creases, under eyes, and jaw areaPicks up a lot of foundation so be aware of that because it also makes it a bit harder to clean. Started shedding its hairs after a few months which I had hoped it would have lasted longer. The hairs are very soft, but also very absorbing. Therefore, it absorbs a lot of the product, cleaner, water, so I would safely bet that it absorbs oils and moisturizer from your face. I find it is hard to clean and takes a very long time to dry. I recommend a good soak before an actual cleansing, and have another brush on stand by because the drying process can take up to 24 hours.
PROS: great shape, soft, blends well, absorbs product well, no streaks left behind, durable, isn't overpriced (probably the best professional quality brush for under $20)
CONS: takes a long time to clean, long time to dry, hairs will shed after awhile, handle is a bit long for my personal taste,


on 1/29/2012 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For the most part, I like this brush. It does a pretty good job and is very soft and seems well built. It doesn't shed and can be streaky, but it's easily blendable. My biggest issue is that it's a huge drag to clean because the product gets really stuck on the bristles and it takes several washes to clean properly.


on 3/22/2011 11:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Bleugh. This starts off as a very average brush, and degrades over time. On the plus side, I had zero hair loss when washing this brush. However, even fresh from the package, it doesn't do a great job at application. The bristles feel like they're a little too long, and have a tendency to flick back-and-forth when using the brush. This could be why this brush creates such a streaky look, rather than blending the foundation properly. I always had to touch up my foundation with a sponge after using this brush, until I finally realized how silly that was, cut out the middleman, and stuck to just using a sponge.


Another problem is how difficult this brush is to wash. As I said, I had no loss of the bristles in the whole time I used it. However, I could never get the brush quite clean, although I washed it every night. I though this might have been my fault, but reading some of the other reviews here, I'm reassured to learn this wasn't a unique phenomenon. Over time, more and more of the bristles began to clump together, creating an even streakier finish every time I used the brush.


Although Quo brushes are sold in the drugstore, they're certainly not dirt-cheap. There are plenty of serviceable, cheap brushes out there if you're looking to save some cash (Annabelle and Ecotools come to mind). It could be that I'm also bitter that I paid full cost for this brush, as I did all my Quo brushes, before I found out that Shoppers Drug Mart has these brushes on sale for 40% all the time (But although you could be buying your brush the day before that sale, the salespeople at SDM will never tip you off). I have a few other Quo brushes I like, but I give this one a pass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2011 12:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a revised review from 2008. Edited for more clarity and added insight into the product and my experience using it. Most is from the original review, with some things re-written just to be clearer, and what is added is what I remember from my experience with the product.


- Skip down to 'My Results' and 'Final Consensus' for short summary of overall thoughts on product -


What it Claims:
"For seamless foundation application."


Claim - True or False?
Seamless application: False. .


Packaging:
There really isn't much to the packaging. A little plastic pouch-like package that can be reclosed. Nothing to really be concerned with.


Construction:
From what I can remember, the brush itself was pretty smooth and soft. Never itchy. The handle was perhaps a bit uncomfortable while using, but seemed sturdy enough. With other brushes from this brand that I've used, I've noticed that they can wear out pretty quickly, but a lot of them won't. Just depends on the individual brush.


Ease Of Use:
I'd say that it is best used to apply a sheer layer of liquid foundation, as it tends to not blend makeup all that well. It's easy to get into small spaces and to spread makeup over the face. It can be a big pain to clean though, as foundation seems to simply stay caked in the bristles.


Bang For Your Buck:
While I do not want to call this a rip-off, that really is the best word for it. There are plenty other brushes that are similar but that provide better results, either for a better price or a similar price. Considering this brush gunks the makeup in there so easily, it's not worth the price.


My Results:
Works fine to put the makeup on the skin, but did not really apply the makeup well. Would be streaky and heavy - using my hands would work better for application. I remember using it with a few different foundation as well, so it is likely just the brush itself being too stiff or slippery to really blend it in well.


Final Consensus:
A mediocre brush for a decent price, best suited towards those still playing around with makeup and who would like to practice and get the feel for makeup application. Would not personally recommend.
-Pros: Mostly affordable, soft, gets into small areas of the face.
-Cons: Hard to clean, doesn't apply makeup very well, a bit uncomfortable to hold.


Overall Rating: 2/5
Price: 3/5
Packaging Quality: 2/5
Would you buy this product again? No


on 8/8/2010 11:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I agree that it is too expensive and does not distribute the product well. it is also hard to clean, can't wait to get my coastal scents synthetic buffer brush and forget all about this one. been using it for 2 years and i am frustrated.


on 4/26/2010 5:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have the new professional line foundation brush with the black handle.
the difference from the regular Quo brush is the bristles are softer, closer together and there are more of them.
This brush is amazing! for only $40 it will last a long time and it works better than my Red Earth foundation brush.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is too expensive for the quality. It's hard to clean, and does not spread my foundation well. I try to was my brushes regularly, I even have special solution. However, the product seems to be stuck in the brush, and is hard to clean off. I have bought 5 dollar brushes that are of comparable quality. Will not repurchase.


on 4/10/2010 10:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

At first, I thought it would be great and nice without streaks and easy to clean because the hairs are so smooth. Was I ever wrong. You could see every single hair mark in the foundation applied, and it didn't like to spread it evenly either. After that, I just applied with my fingers.
Then comes the worst part. I try washing it, and it's OILY. I'm certain it's not the foundation because it doesn't do that when I use a sponge, but the brush was very hard to clean because the oil repelled the water. I have no idea why it's oily. Even with lots of soap, the oil just kept coming and I have no idea where it's from. I'm kinda grossed out by this brush now and I won't be using it again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely adore this brush. It is incredibly soft. It is not flimsy, but not brittle, so you can apply foundation effortlessly along your face. If you have washed your foundation brush every night (which you should) than this brush does not streak at all. Best of all: I've had this brush for approximately 6 months - wash it every day - it hasn't shed ONCE! I love this brush!




Back to Top