Stila Lip Glaze Stick in Apricot

3.9

10 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/25/2011 9:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Considering how popular Stila lipglazes are, I'm surprised at how underrated the lipglaze sticks are. Non-sticky, sheer, and surprisingly shiny, these chubby sticks can often be had for bargain prices and are well worth the cost! (I should also add that they're really fun to apply.)

Apricot is a very sheer, shiny peachy-pink. The touch of color really brightens lips without looking "makeup-y."



on 7/24/2010 8:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm reviewing the stila lipglaze stick-not the gloss, which comes in a twist-up form-which comes in the form of a fat pencil. (I've included a pic..I believe some reviewers have mistakenly reviewed the gloss not the 'lipglaze stick').
I received this as a lovely extra, so I have no clue what the price was and it seems stila's discontinued the product. What a shame! I really love this-and I wish I could've stocked up. Apricot is the perfect barely-there peachy gloss that comes in the form of a stick. It's pure genius actually. The product has the feel of a gloss, minus the stickiness, and comes in an easy-to-use format. You just apply it to your lips like you're applying lipstick, just swipe and voila! instant glossiness. It's convenient for when you don't have time to carefully apply your gloss, and as long as you don't sharpen it to a point (keep it dull), it'll probably last you quite a while.
Apricot is nice used alone for a MLBB shade, and it imparts some color. But where it really shines is on top of other lipsticks. You know how some people use clear gloss over matte lipsticks? Well, I use this lipglaze stick. It lasts forever, has a nice 'slip' to it, feels comfortable, is never sticky, and doesn't ruin the lipstick underneath. It also doesn't add the super shiny in-your-face glossy look either, which I usually prefer. Instead, it imparts a nice, barely there glossy look and your lipstick doesn't look super glossy, but it doesn't look matte either. The included pic is Apricot used on 1/2 my bare lips. As you can see, it imparts some color, but mostly a nice shine.
There is a sweet fruity scent that is a tad cloying, but for the most part, it dissipates within a few minutes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2009 8:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE the color--however, the amount of product you get is shockingly little for the price, and it is very sticky. Also, the twist-up applicator sucks. I had to throw my first one out because the applicator stopped working, and I had only used 1/4 of the gloss. What a waste of money.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love this product because I was looking for a sheer and nude colour and this worked on me!

It's a nice coral shade with a little sheen and glitter and isn't as oily and sticky as the glazes, something I like.

I thought it smelled more like peach but I've got no complains about the smell anyways.

Haven't got into the sharpening part yet but thought it might be messy as the shavings will touch the soft glaze and I'll have to waste the glaze to clean off the shavings.

But overall, I'll purchase this (and other shades of glaze sticks) again because I can get it cheap online!

I'm really using this SLOWLY as it has been discontinued in my country, Singapore. ):


on 4/24/2009 11:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I haven't already reviewed this product. This is one of my favorite lipglosses - though the texture is more of a sheer lipstick. I'm also a bit sad to see the low reviews, but at least I'll give you my input. I love this lipstick/glaze! It is a beautiful sheer coral. Mine doesn't have any hints of glitter at all and just goes on with a bit of a peachy sheen. If you are looking for a very pigmented lipgloss/stick you aren't going to get it with this, but it is a perfect color if you are doing a smokey eye look.


The scent is that of sweetened apricots which I happen to love. I can see it possibly offensive to some but I find it rather pleasant. I actually love the "pencil" like applicator. I find I can get a much more precise application than the regular glazes and of course, this product is much more moisturizing and much less sticky than the glazes.


As far as product wastage, I never sharpen it all the way. I usually leave about a milimeter of product above the pencil itself (more of a flattened top not pointy) so it applies more like a lipbalm. I have already repurchased this product thanks to beautycrunch I didn't have to pay full price (not affiliated) since it is on the pricey side retail wise. I have almost finished my wonderful stick and have become thoroughly addicted to all but a few of the lip glaze sticks from Stila.


If you are a fan of a muted lipbalm/sheer lipstick that is moisturizing and not sticky at all, I think you'd love these, I know I do!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Background: This is my second adventure with this particular, Apricot version, having decided to give it another go around. My first experience with this was a little frustrating, because the color itself was so squishy, and against the harsh pencil, there wasn't a lot of give between crushing the contents during application. Also, the constant sharpening became an annoyance that I could have done without.

Color/Shade: Definitely a soft apricot shade, on the coral/orange side. Creamy, rather than heavily sparkly. Thicker consistency compared with the more sheer formulations (such as Grapefruit). Has a sheen, rather than a gloss.

Flavor: Again, apricot, and quite strong, initially. A nice burst of apricot indulgence, but could prove to be a bit cloying, especially if you don't like specific fruity flavors.

Wearability: Does not last long. Frequent re-application required!. A wonderful shade for weekend wear, but not something that I'd wear for work.

In all, worth a try, but not worth paying full price to experiment with, unless you're sure (like me) of your preferences. In addition, as I'm in my 30s, I think that I'm a bit beyond Stila's target market, now :)


on 3/24/2008 7:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got it from my friend!!
I lurve it!,it almost clear but it tastes so delicious,and it doesn't dry my lips(I have such a sensitive Lips,which easily dried and chapped).
it's a great stuff!.


on 9/17/2006 3:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Like the other reviewers this is essentially just shimmer. So disappointing because the soft pinky-peach color looked gorgeous in the tube and on my hand :( The formula seems very nice so I think this is going back to Sephora for the plum color which looked like it would offer more color.


on 9/2/2006 12:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

A cool idea over all, but a messy one. Aplication is great, the gloss feels even less sticky in this formula. The only problem is sharpening. Wehn I do it, it's a bit of a mess -- but when you've got kids in the house, forget it! One time, my little cousin decided to sharpen it without asking me, and about half the gloss poured right out. It was a huge mess, and just isn't worth it. Stick with the click pens.


on 5/23/2006 11:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

ITA with the previous reviewer-completely colorless! It's basically a clear gloss with a glittery shimmer. It may work well on top of a lipstick but there are much cheaper options if that is all you need. There are plenty of Lip Glaze Sticks with color so don't waste your money.

I keep nicking the top of the pencil when I replace the cap I hate that!! But the price is great and it comes with a sharpener.


Popular Lip Glosses


Butter Gloss
309 Reviews
Lip Junkie
78 Reviews
Kissing Potion
12 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top