Guerlain • Meteorites powder for the face in Mythic 01 • Powders

rated 3.9(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 nhwhazup on 4/20/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by nhwhazup

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the pressed powder version of this powder. First of all the compact is beautiful albeit very heavy. I really wanted to like this powder but it did nothing for me. It didn't control oiliness on my T-zone, nor did compliment the finish of my foundation. For me it made my face have a glow but looked greasy instead of healthy. The other thing I didn't like was the smell. Others like it, but I prefer fragrance free cosmetics and this one really bothered my eyes. I won't be purchasing again. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurore44 on 2/9/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by laurore44

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the way this powder looked. It gave a soft brightening effect to my skin, and I think it would make a great finishing powder. Also, I adore the packaging-- I've been wanting to buy this product for years.

Unfortunately, I had to return it because it made my face sting. I'm not sure what the ingredients are, but I've read that it may contain bismuth oxychloride. That is an ingredient often used in "illuminating" powders and mineral makeup. Unfortunately, many people including myself are sensitive to that ingredient and cannot use products containing it.

I gave it 3 lippies because I do think it is a good quality product as long as you're not allergic to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tokiomama on 1/19/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by tokiomama

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PRICE/PACKAGING: -1 lippie
This product runs for about $60 plus tax. Which is why I'm a bit disappointed with the packaging because it is cardboard. (I believe that's no longer the case and it's actually metal now) but the one i own is cardboard and the powder goes ALL OVER the place if it's in my make up bag floating around (even when it's tightly closed),so that was a let down. I wish it would be a screw on top to prevent that. But we can't have EVERYTHING for $60 lol

SMELL:
Not offensive but my SO thinks it smells like "old lady" lol i rather like the smell, it's not strong and once it's on your face you can't smell it. So i don't think it's a reason to not buy this product.

WEAR:
These ballz have a generous amount of fine milled shimmer to them but are barely detected on my NC25 skin. This particular shade does leave a very slight (and barely detectable) white cast to my skin when im a bit more tan. (NC30). It's a very light powder and you cant feel it on the skin, you can really pack it on and it wont look cakey like most powders will, which is why i think this is such a loved product. I do NOT see any color correcting miracles with this, it has no coverage, doesn't cover redness, my dark circles or even out my skin but it is a very nice powder for setting matte-fying skin and great for ladies with dry skin.

Overall:
The mythic ballz i would not purchase again. Besides the fact that one set of ballz will last you 20 years, this particular color didn't suit my skin tone.I think it might suit N20- and lighter skin tones much better, and there are better ballz for warmer/olive ladies!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 grkangel3 on 12/1/2012 10:13:00 AM more reviews by grkangel3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

this is a great powder. its not enough if you have oily skin though (you can wear it on its own but you will get shiny). but sweep some over your makeup when its done and you will get tons of compliments. and it lasts forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 11/18/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was reluctant to buy this product because it seemed so expensive. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It is probably the best finishing powder I ever used. It has a lovely scent and gives you a soft radiance. The only negative is that if you pull your brush out of the package too soon, some of the little balls come out with the brush, but otherwise a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maggc on 11/17/2012 12:49:00 PM more reviews by Maggc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Best finishing powder! I bought this in travel size from DFS Bangkok and I love it! It was packaged with the meteorites blush. Lovely packaging and scent aside, the effect of this product is subtle but not subtle at the same time. It is meant to be applied over the entire face as a finishing powder. I apply it all over my face, focusing a little more on the T-zone and cheek bones. It does not make my face look oily even after an entire day outside. It adds a soft glow and it shows up well in photos. Expensive but definitely HG item! Love love love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 4/24/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Boy, these things are just the best. I will never, ever find a replacement for Mythic, but the rest of the Meteorites line is *almost* as fabulous. I've never used much powder, but Guerlain has absolutely outdone themselves! Glowing, lovely, smooth skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missDeeblue on 2/15/2012 11:22:00 AM more reviews by missDeeblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I own the Travel touch version of this product (the sponge topped travel pots) in Mythic 01
Was at first unsure if a already blended powder in a pot, would match up to the performance of the individual coloured balls. They do!

The colour is amazing - great colour shift, from pearl pink to golden in different lights and illuminating slight glisten

It does airbrush your skin into soft focus. I wouldn't say the mythic 01 travel touch is as colour correcting as the traditional balls, but they are truly luxurious, with the subtle scent of parma violets

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 5/28/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I cannot believe I have not reviewed these before. I adore them, so I assumed I had reviewed them. I'm NW10 (cool-toned PPP), and they work really well for me. They give a soft radiant look on my skin. One thing I love about these balls is that it is hard to over use them. I tend to over apply loose powders (I prefer loose powders to pressed -- I get a better effect with them). T. LeClerc Loose Powder and Mythic balls are my holy grails. With the Meteorites, I don't over apply (usually -- unless I start playing with them and then overuse them). The older I get, the more important NOT over applying product is IMHO.


I started using these in my 30s and now, at 43, still love them. Because of my devotion to Mythic, I was concerned when they discontinued them. I'm one of those people who actually LIKES the cardboard packaging. I just swapped for the new Teint Rose, and they do indeed seem the same, but for the outer packaging.


My concern about these has been the older I get, will they work as well. The answer, if my mother is any indication, is a RESOUNDING "yes!" When I was running low on a tub, I gave my mother the one I was running out of and got another. She was a little before 70 at the time (is now 72), and she loves them, too. Since then, I've ordered her her own full size. They look great on her. Not obvious, just soft and glowy.


When they discontinued Mythic, it made me realize how much I do love this powder. I always thought Mythic would be the only one that would work for me with my coloring. And it is the best. But I've gotten others, including Pucci, the bee ones, the mini Pink Fresh (use as a blush), and, most recently, Beige Chic. And Beige Chic works REALLY well for me, too. Gives me a little warmth and pop of color. Like a pale bronzer.


If you missed out on Mythic, get Teint Rose. They are the same, in the new packaging. And if Mythic works for you, Teint Rose will work as well. They claim Teint Rose is new and improved, so maybe they'll work better, but I do not see much difference in the two.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 5/28/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I cannot believe I have not reviewed these before. I adore them, so I assumed I had reviewed them. I'm NW10 (cool-toned PPP), and they work really well for me. They give a soft radiant look on my skin. One thing I love about these balls is that it is hard to over use them. I tend to over apply loose powders (I prefer loose powders to pressed -- I get a better effect with them). T. LeClerc Loose Powder and Mythic balls are my holy grails. With the Meteorites, I don't over apply (usually -- unless I start playing with them and then overuse them). The older I get, the more important NOT over applying product is IMHO.


I started using these in my 30s and now, at 43, still love them. Because of my devotion to Mythic, I was concerned when they discontinued them. I'm one of those people who actually LIKES the cardboard packaging. I just swapped for the new Teint Rose, and they do indeed seem the same, but for the outer packaging.


My concern about these has been the older I get, will they work as well. The answer, if my mother is any indication, is a RESOUNDING "yes!" When I was running low on a tub, I gave my mother the one I was running out of and got another. She was a little before 70 at the time (is now 72), and she loves them, too. Since then, I've ordered her her own full size. They look great on her. Not obvious, just soft and glowy.


When they discontinued Mythic, it made me realize how much I do love this powder. I always thought Mythic would be the only one that would work for me with my coloring. And it is the best. But I've gotten others, including Pucci, the bee ones, the mini Pink Fresh (use as a blush), and, most recently, Beige Chic. And Beige Chic works REALLY well for me, too. Gives me a little warmth and pop of color. Like a pale bronzer.


If you missed out on Mythic, get Teint Rose. They are the same, in the new packaging. And if Mythic works for you, Teint Rose will work as well. They claim Teint Rose is new and improved, so maybe they'll work better, but I do not see much difference in the two.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Powders products