New York Color • Long Wearing Nail Enamel - Broadway Burgundy 116 • Polishes

rated 4.5(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 10/20/2012 4:49:00 AM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely, bright, cool toned red that reminds me of jelly apples, aka candy apples to others. Sheer and magenta-red in one coat (and too streaky for one which is the norm for most polishes in my experience), you get opacity in 2 coats. However, 3 coats really brings it to life showcasing the warm red micro glitter which really borders on shimmer ( they're that small).

This does not need another color under, works very well on its own, though is also good for layering over other shades. Beautiful shade for winter, great cheap thrill as it cost a mere 99 cents (U.S). I have only worn bright reds as pedicures. I wear nudes or deep burgundy/wine shades on my hands yet I wear this shade on my hands and its mesmerizing! Be forewarned, not a shade for wallflowers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 artsypirate on 5/26/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by artsypirate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous red jelly with red micro glitter. I have no idea why this is called a burgundy. It's not really a deep red imo and the glitter is only really obvious in bright light as the previous reviewer mentioned. Opaque in 2-3 coats but even better over another polish. I've found it can be made varying shades of red depending on what you layer it over. On white it's a bright red and over pink it's mid tone red, but over a dark red or black it's a deep vampy red like it's name implies. Dries super glossy which I love because I can skip a top coat if I'm in a hurry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sensiblenails on 4/22/2012 8:34:00 PM more reviews by sensiblenails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Broadway Burgundy Frost is a misnomer because this certainly is not a frost. What it is, is a burgundy pink jelly base with bright red glitter. The glitter is just large and plentiful enough that it makes the polish look bright red in natural light and in flash photography. I'm tagging it red because that's what it ends up looking like. The jelly base is also thin enough that if you touch your nail after the polish, you can feel the particles of shimmer so use a top coat to smooth it out and keep it from chipping.

Application was easy; it is a thin polish but I found it easy to control. It is sort of sheer despite the richness of the color so a coat of a red, pink, or black base might be a good idea. Also, more coats just creates better and better color in my opinion and considering the first coat's color is gorgeous, this is only an improvement.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 p3ischarmed13 on 8/7/2011 5:22:00 PM more reviews by p3ischarmed13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A gorgeous deep slightly shimmery burgundy that always gets me compliments when I wear it. Does chip fast though. For its price, you can get a decent polish that looks great with a little work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kragey on 4/19/2010 1:27:00 AM more reviews by kragey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a beautiful color--one of the few reds I'll wear--but it's the only NYC color that chips on me like woah, even with a topcoat. Hence, I can't rate it highly and I wouldn't buy it again. I will definitely use up my current bottle, though, because it's opaque with a single coat, costs a mere $1, and isn't streaky or goopy. I wish I could rate this polish higher, but the major chipping makes it impossible for me to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bolesie75 on 3/24/2010 4:57:00 AM more reviews by Bolesie75

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the formula for this product. I only used one coat and it came out quite opaque. Make sure to use a top coat though because it chips really quick on its own! I wouldn't go so far as to claim that it is "long-wearing" as the package states. I had it on for 2 days and it was chipping already.
Overall it is a good polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissRiss on 11/2/2009 2:04:00 PM more reviews by MissRiss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this color!! I'm drawn to this kind of color every fall/winter. Goes so well with my coolish skintone. I always get compliments with this. Base, 2 coats, top coat and wears for 4 days, pretty good for how cheap it is. Love it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IceIceBubby on 2/5/2009 10:13:00 PM more reviews by IceIceBubby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this color!
It always looks good for any occasion

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessicaho on 3/24/2008 9:00:00 PM more reviews by jessicaho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful shimmery jewel-toned red for less than 2.00CAD. I have shaky hands, so I can make it a teensy bit streaky on the first coat, but you'd have to stare at it to notice and that can be easily fixed by adding an extra coat. But when my hands are quite still, one coat can give me an even layer of the bottle colour. Quite amazing. Beware of putting this on too thick or else it will never dry properly, but with the right thickness, it dries pretty quickly. I've never been one to like red polish, but I bought this to expand my collection of colours since it's so inexpensive, and I think I've fallen in love with this red on my fingers. Five lippies for standout colour at a great price and will be definitely repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 5/8/2006 11:30:00 AM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Gorgeous, medium-deep, slightly pinked red shimmer. It looks to me like a pinkier version of OPI's I'm Not Really a Waitress. Two quick and easily applied coats gives you the bottle color. Really nice quality, especially considering the CAD$1.49 price tag.

Pics:NailsSwatch

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More New York Color products

More Polishes products