La Mer Creme de la mer moisturizer

3.5

1697 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Seaweed (Algae) Extract, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Isohexadecane, Lime Extract, Microcrystalline Wax, Lanolin Alcohol, Sesame Seed Oil, Eucalyptus Leaf Oil, Magnesium Sulfate, Sesame Seeds, Alfalfa Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Powdered Almonds, [sodium, Potassium, Copper, Calcium, Duncecap, Magnesium, And Zinc Gluconate], Paraffin, Vitamin E Succinate, Niacin, Beta-carotene, Decyl Oleate, Aluminum Distearate, Octyldodecanol, Citric Acid, Cyanocobalamin, Magnesium Stearate, Panthenol, Limonene, Geraniol, Linalool, Hydroxycitronellal, Citronellol, Benzyl Salicylate, Citral, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Alcohol Denat


on 7/1/2015 10:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

**New review based on current use. My old review was negative, I didn't like it all the first time I tried it.**

Normal/dry skin, no acne/sensitivity.
I've been hunting for a hydrating barrier cream to use in the pm over my face oils. I need to combat some dehydrated/crepey areas that can creep up overnight. I've tried several products over some months. I stopped at Nivea blue, (Mexico). It did what I wanted quite well, was dirt cheap. It changed my view of mineral oil, actually.
I consider myself an informed consumer who isn't prone to falling for marketing hype or fanciful claims. I've spent good money on skincare items, and if they work, I've no problem repurchasing. I've just almost never found the higher end products to work any better for me than the simpler, lesser priced ones. I didn't like La Mer the first time I tried it, maybe 7 or so yrs ago. I was swayed to try La Mer again by pointless, masochistic, nagging curiosity. Sigh. So I bought the 15ml size direct from La Mer for 85$. (Added photos of the 15ml container with some items for scale so ppl could get a feel for the size)
I bought this for intense hydration, not skin transformation. The good news is, it's a decent moisturizer that causes me no problems. I do prefer it to the Nivea, but they both really hydrate my skin about the same. I prefer La Mer because it's not greasy, and absorbs much quicker into my skin. The Nivea emulsifies and spreads much easier, it's thinner, but greasy and takes longer to disappear. I do think La Mer combats redness, for me anyhow. Nivea did not. Though I'm using the La Mer as a night cream over my oils, I also find it suitable for daytime, not being greasy. It's a pain to spread or pat in, even after 'warming up'. I dislike that a lot. I could see why comparisons are made between the two, they're similar. But not the same as far as application, wear and scent.
Incidentally La Mer is a great lip conditioner. Wow! Apply it and then a few mins later lipstick goes on like a dream.

Is La Mer worth it's price? Heck no. EL's marketing claims are grandiose and groundless, and the price is just crazy high. I'm not butt hurt, I knew all that going in, and I made the choice to buy it. And I do like it and will use it up. But it doesn't offer anything beyond decent moisturization. Haha, unless some MIRACLE occurs as I finish the pot, I doubt highly that I'd repurchase.
If you can afford it, sure, try it. Personally I think the 15 mL size is good to start out on. It's enough to use for several months or longer. But IMO it's not worth buying if you don't have money to burn, or are expecting a skin savior or miracle anti-aging formula.

I give it 4 basedONLY on its hydrating properties. Nothing else. Packaging was typical porcelain jar, not even a spatula! I was disappointed that I didn't get a spatula after spending $85, and the jar packing packaging is dubious at best.



on 5/28/2015 5:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to purchase this product because of all the rave reviews and because I see a lot of famous people using it. But I was disappointed when I used it. My skin got all flaky and irritated. I thought it was just a passing thing. So I would use it alternately with other moisturizing products. But I would still get the same results each time I would use it. For the price that I paid, it is definitely not worth it. I ended up using it mostly on my neck and chest as these areas are less sensitive compared to my face.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2015 2:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So, after reading and hearing how some of my friends think this stuff is the best thing since sliced bread, I decided to buy the smallest, cheapest jar of the stuff.
Yes, it hydrates. But to me, not any better than my argon oil that is 10% of the cost for twice as much product.
I do think it is helping a new scar I have over my eye from stitches I got a couple months ago look better. So its good for that.
I'm not sure I'll get this stuff again. I do think its better for people with problem skin. I don't have much in the way of problems, just want something to make me look younger. For me, this isn't quite the product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2015 10:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate the price, but this product is the only one my skin loves. I have very reactive, acne-prone skin. I can find moisturizers that hydrate my skin, but they normally clog my pores, cause irritation, or acne. La Mer calms, soothes, hydrates, HEALS, & repairs my skin. It even heals acne that won't go away (I'm not sure how, but it does!) For several months, I've been trying different moisturizer brands, & my skin is a mess. I now have a couple of zits that just want to live on my face forever. La Mer to the rescue. In 2 days, my skin looks & feels so much better. It's healing, repairing, & looks more dewey & radiant. I'll have to buy another jar of La Mer (waaaaa!) But, I think if I apply it only at night, the 1 oz. jar will last me 5-6 months. So, in the long run, I may be spending about the same money. Currently, I'm constantly buying new products trying to find THE ONE. That's very expensive, & it doesn't work for me. I give up- La mer is THE ONE!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 11:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it. I've used other brands that have provided more moisture, but this is the only one that made my skin look better


on 4/16/2015 7:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This moisturizing cream is over hyped. It not better than other moisturizers. For the how expensive it is it contains chemical byproducts, minerals oil, silicone,other chemical and irritants. The brand Nivea Uk and Asia version has a face cream that is $ the $$$ price that is a close dupe in ingredients to this cream. Some times more expensive doesn't mean works better is the ingredients and how your skin reacts to the product.
Just some side facts mineral oil(paraffinum liquidum), petrolatum and paraffin are basic cheap ingredients that are in most drug store and high end moisturizers. These ingredients are byproducts derived from petroleum which is a from of gasoline. They have same origins in fossils fuels. How these ingredients works is by locking moisture in the skin, mineral oil and silicons sits on the skin’s surface like plastic rap and can potentially block pores. Your outer skin does eliminate toxins, sweat, and oil and absorbs moisture from the air. By blocking the pores it doesn't allow any oil, sweat or toxin to come out so it trapped underneath the skin which can cause clogged pores even breakouts


on 4/11/2015 11:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm shocked that people don't love La Mer. While I have extremely dry, fair skin, this product might not be for everyone who doesn't,

I love the way my skin looks and feels after applying Creme de la mer moisturizer. My skin glows and is hydrated beyond what I had in high school.

I fly a lot and new this is what the celebrities use when they fly and finally spent the money to try it. So worth it. Plus it smells incredible.

I am still on my first jar as I use it sparingly given the cost, but when I am extremely dry or am traveling, this is my go-to product. I only wish I could find something this good that wasn't quite as expensive.


on 4/9/2015 11:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My legs are so dry they look like snake skin for practically my whole life. This stuff is the ONLY product that has actually smoothed them out moisturized them 100%. Unfortunately, with the mind-boggling price tag, I could NEVER afford to buy it. 😢 My daughter happened to buy it for herself and she didn't like the smell so she gave it to me. Otherwise I would have never had the opportunity to try and LOVE this stuff! 😩😩😩

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2015 9:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

totally not convinced! a simple moisturizer.


on 3/28/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I know many of you here think this is a total waste of money, maybe it is for some....but for me it worked like magic on my skin. I did go through a lot of creams during this winter before settling with this one...and I have done extensive research on the ingredients before buying this product. If anyone interested, check out my review on my blog: http://bit.ly/1GBzgK4 It is however way too intense for anything other than dry winter months.


Back to Top