Annabelle • Smoothliners • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goddessintraining on 7/27/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by goddessintraining

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in "Metal Daze" which is a nearly black colour that has a sheen to it. On me it reads as soft black, the shimmer isn't really visible once it's on my eye. This liner is very soft, & therefore easy to get right down in the lashes & it has *excellent* staying power. It takes a minute to set up, & then I have no problem with this transferring to my upper lid area.

The one negative is that because it is so soft, it requires more frequent sharpening in order to get a clean line & maintain control. I paid $5 for this & would definitely repurchase, I haven't found anything better, regardless of price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 3/11/2014 3:14:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one I've gone back to. I repurchased this in black because I can't afford GOSH liners anymore-- at least not since I'm in love with Elizabeth Arden lipsticks., Annabelle Smoothliners are the same, but Annabelle is under 5$ at Walmart and GOSH is 12$ Canadian on special occaisionally at Shoppers, which is as low as it goes now.

The brown one (called Brownie) is quite nice too, that is a dark almost black brown and is great for a daytime neutral look. I wanted a little extra oomph for evening if and when I wear a red lip. I find with Cover Girl Lash Blast Volume mascara, the regular version, not the waterproof that I don't need liner for day, but I still like the balance a bit of black liner gives to a classic evening red lip look.

I have VERY sensitive eyes and lids, a bit of rosacea, allergies, and a sensitivity to mica. This stuff doesn't make me react, and I apply it above the lashes and a little onto the waterline but not much, just to dig it up and into the base of my lashes. I only put it on my top lash line.

My lids are oily, so most eyeliner ends up smudged all over my brow bone (hooded lids) or in racoon/panda circles under my eyes where my natural dark shadows and hollow circles DON'T require ANY assistance from migrating eye makeup to look awful!

I used an eyeshadow to set it as well as applying on top of a base coat of Maybelline matte eyeshadow in Linen and the Browntones duo. I find that holds it firmly. The key isn't just to put shadow on to set it, but to apply it onto shadow as well. Then this holds all day. I tried it without shadow and it migrates within hours.

I blended the line with a fresh Qtip after I applied it, before I set it with the darker shade of eye shadow from the brown tones duo (a med taupe brown matter shade).

Does it tug or pull or skip?:
This goes on smoothly and easily with a creamy soft feel that doesn't pull, tug or skip. and it stayed creamy, but tended to wander if it wasn't applied OVER TOP eyeshadow and with more shadow to set it..

It does require sharpening, which leaves a fresh clean surface which I like. I did notice that this liner stays pretty creamy. You may want to refridgerate it before sharpening. Roll the tip on some tissue to make it pointy if it gets dull.

This really beats Cover Girl's Outlast or Revlon's Color Stay all hollow!

The colour is lovely, a good solid rich deep black. It stays a nice thick black all day unless you apply it without the powder base and setting powder routine I explained above. Even when I am not wearing any other makeup, if I want eyeliner, I HAVE to do the eyeshadow sandwich to make any liner last. This brand, GOSH and Prestige have been the only ones that last on my oily lids. And only iwth my sandwich technique.

AS FOR REMOVAL:These liners will then need a Qtip dipped in dual phase makeup remover to take the rest off. Wipe it onto the lid or upper side of lashes and wipe slowly to remove the liner. Then wash the rest of your makeup off with your usual cleansing routine, which gets off any further trace of the dual phase remover. I like the dual phase eye makeup remover best, either the Elizabeth Arden one or the Neutrogena.

Dual phase removers are the kind that you shake, and they separate into an oily layer on top of a watery layer. Great for any kind of waterproof makeup removal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 9/17/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this eye liner for YEARS, And am never disappointed. I always try the more expensive ones, thinking they will last longer than this - and they never do. Besides, who wants to pay $25+ for an eyeliner that doesn't hold up as well as this $6 one? I have bought a hundred of these (probably a bit of an exaggeration, lol) and will never try any other eye liner! It's a nice jet black, it goes on so smooth and lasts all day. I do line my inner eye lid with it, and have been wearing contacts for many years and it's never bothered my eyes.Great job annabelle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 serenapauline on 7/30/2013 7:17:00 PM more reviews by serenapauline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just recently got this from my mother, who constantly gives me all sorts of beauty products to try out. I have to say, this has to be the BEST eyeliner I have ever tried! For so many years, I was using an eyeliner by Maybelline. This just knocks everything else out of the park. It goes on so easily and smoothly. I instantly loved this. I don't really know the price of it since I didn't buy it, but I don't really care, I will definitely be repurchasing this again! Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katklare on 2/23/2013 8:04:00 PM more reviews by Katklare

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My favourite eyeliner ever. I apply it under my lash line and it stays all day. Simply the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katyby on 1/2/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Katyby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall I am not disappointed by this product. It works well has good staying power and is a great price. The only complaint I have is that it is a bit of a soft texture and requires frequent sharpening but for the price and quality I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ehrial on 11/19/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Ehrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in black for approximately $5-6CAD. This is the second one that I've bought and it's definitely my favourite eyeliner. Every time I sharpen it, and apply it looks like a liquid liner when applied. It does tend to smudge if you touch it and it can fade if you have oily eyelids. Even so, it's only eyeliner that I've tried so far that hasn't made my eyes red and burn. The black is really black but, it could improve. It can be used both on the upper line and waterline (however, I tend not to line my waterline). Hands down, the smoothest liner I have ever used! Will repurchase unless I ever find something better at the same price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cindy604 on 9/27/2012 3:39:00 PM more reviews by cindy604

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Update: I had to remove a lippy as I noticed the liner was slightly fading by the end of a 10+ hour day (5 lippies reserved for HG status). However, note that there is still no smudging at the corners of my eyes! It's still the best liner I've found to date, and I stand by all my other original comments below. I will be happy to repurchase until (if) I find anything better.


-------------------------


This liner applies like a dream - it doesn't skip or drag across my eyelid. The colour payoff is great, and I don't have to go back and forth to get a solid line. What I am most impressed with is its ability to hold a point and how little I need per application. Usually with such soft liners I have to sharpen every 3 or 4 days to get the fine line I want, but with the Smoothliner, I don't see a need to sharpen even in 1 to 2 weeks! It's almost gel-like in its consistency and less soft and buttery.


The wear is impressive. I line close to my lash line on my top lid, but have yet to try the waterline. Typically, I notice a tiny bit of smudging in the bottom corners of my eyes at the end of the day. It's not a big deal since I have very oily skin, but with the Annabelle liner, there is no transfer, no smudge, and no fading at the end of my days. I usually have it on for 12 to 14 hours a day, and I put it through harsh northern Canadian winds, hours of school, and 2-hour workouts at the gym (I am usually dripping sweat by the end).


It's easily removed with water and my Dr. Bronner's soap mix at the end of the day with no extra rubbing or tugging.


The liner was $6.99 at Superstore, and it will last me over 6 months with daily application easily. I am looking forward to trying other colours, and the fact that the company is Canadian and cruelty-free (owned by the Marcelle Group) is just an added bonus! I am happy to repurchase in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leizel on 8/23/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by leizel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great pigmentation and colour. Also very good value. Only complaint is that it easily smudges; wish it was a bit drier for staying power. Not my go-to but is good for a smoky eye. Would recommend using a matching eyeshadow over this eyeliner because this is a soft eyeliner and smudges easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 newbie2012 on 8/1/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by newbie2012

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love, love, love the product! i'm a newbie at doing makeup so liquid and gel eyeliners are no go. i read great reviews about this eyeliner before i purchased it. totally agree that it's water proof and easy to apply! try the bronze which is a really nice shade of brown. people have complimented my eyes since i started using this eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Annabelle products

More Eyeliner products