Estee Lauder • Pure Color Crystal - RIPE PAPAYA • Lipstick

rated 4.6(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 justinetindall on 10/23/2012 11:26:00 AM more reviews by justinetindall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Mmmm.. this lipstick makes my lips look and feel soo juicy. It is so moisturizing, and feels great when applied. It stays on well too. As far as the colour goes, it is very pigmented, slightly sheer, and is a unique colour. Looks great on all skin tones in my opinion. Also, it's a great layering colour to put over reds, and to top with either redish or pinkish lipglosses. Deff recommend this for anyone looking for a soft salmon colour... HAWT

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 5/1/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a sheer peachy/ salmon pink with shimmer. Does not dry out my lips. I really like the color but cannot stand the E.L. Lipstick fragrance. It gives me a headache.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 toffeenut on 3/10/2011 2:33:00 PM more reviews by toffeenut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

Okay I am going to break this lipstick's winning streak. Last year I got Ripe Papaya as a GWP. I really didn't pay attention to it because it was a spring/summer color and it was the fall/winter season. Now that I have been praying for spring to come (because the winter of 10/11 has been a SOB), I took it out to see want will be my "it" look for this spring...any reason to play with makeup :) Anyhow, this is a shimmery coral-ly, pinky orange on me. The color is great, it's everything else that doesn't work for me.

1) I have had this lippie for less than a year, unused, and it has started to melt and become deformed. I have had MAC lipsticks that have lasted for years and years, without changes in texture or scent. Maybe there are less preservatives in EL's formula, but less than a year unused?! (It was stored with all of my other lipsticks.)

2) This lippie has a lot of shimmer/glitter in it. It is probably the only lipstick in my extensive collection that has glitter. I don't likey. Unlike lipglosses that tend to suspend glitter in their glup (is that a word?) and the "shimmer" disappears along with the gloss, these pieces of glitter stay behind. As I pressed my lips together, I can feel the pieces of glitter. Not the most pleasant experience in the makeup world.

3) This formula does not last long. I mean, an hour later I have to either moisturize my lips or reapply. The color isn't that amazing to go through that hassle throughout the day. At first I thought the lack of staying power was due to the free nature of this lippie. Maybe the GWP's quality is not the same as the $22-$24 lipsticks, but after reading the previous reviews, it's the lippie.

Oh well, it was free! Can't beat that for a failed product. I think EL has similar colors in different finishes, so maybe if you are a big EL fan you can find this color in a better formula. Wow that was a long post for something I didn't like.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blushingpammy on 1/10/2011 12:12:00 AM more reviews by blushingpammy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I thought this looked like a burnt orange shade but I started to actually like it and the lovely coral-pink shade that it is. I love how sheer and moisturizing it is and the packaging is definitely luxurious. The scent needs a lot of getting used to though. And I end up with shimmers on different parts of my face and I'm sure as heck that they came from this lippy. Although this lipstick is good, I might not buy any more lipsticks from EL because of the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CommerceCitySister on 1/1/2011 11:29:00 PM more reviews by CommerceCitySister

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this with a GWP about a month or so ago and was honestly underwhelmed when I looked at the color. I'm not a 'pink' person at all and this looked too pink-ish. However, I tried it on and I loved it! It's pink, to be sure, but it has almost a bronze-y sheen to it that makes it look more neutral than a traditional pink. It's a happy color...it has good moisture and an inoffensive smell. I wear this one almost every day now...it lasts a fairly long time and fades nicely, leaving behind a slight shimmer. It is expensive, so I don't know if I would buy it...

...heck, I probably will when it runs out. It's just that nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 6/14/2010 4:39:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this is a creamy/glossy lippie with a gorgeous pink/deep coral shade -- it applies like a creamy butter and has a lovely sheen.

the color is gorgeous on most complexions I have tried it on and the consistency is perfect for summer or as a top layer on a lippie in fall or winter. For the money, you get a lovely color, a great texture and lovely packaging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pxcrunnercat on 6/14/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by pxcrunnercat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Very pretty light peachy-apricot shade. Very sheer and moisturizing and very shimmery. Normally I hate shimmer in lipsticks, but the shimmer in this shade just makes it look glossier and more 3-dimensional instead of actually noticeably sparkly. It's so sheer that it doesn't pack much of a color punch, but it's subtly pretty and polished. I will repurchase if I ever finish it the tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettylife on 5/21/2010 1:39:00 PM more reviews by prettylife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! This lipstick feels like butter on my lips and the color is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judysmath on 3/27/2010 11:19:00 PM more reviews by judysmath

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a GWP and it's beautiful!!!! Usually the freebie lipsticks in GWPs are ho-hum. This is a light sparkly peachy toned lipstick that is glossy and moist and very flattering. Perfect for spring and summer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 2/20/2010 11:57:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a GWP, and I like it but the shimmer gives me pause to think, hmm maybe not. I am updating this to say yes, I might buy again, because it's sheer, I like the colour and the moisturizing is nice. BUT if I find a cheaper dupe of it, especially without the shimmer, then I won't rebuy.


I like the colour, it is a coral pink and it's a really nice shade for anyone with warm tones in their skin. The colour deserves full marks.


BUT it is sparkly with a load of silvery shimmery stuff in there. I just mention it as a heads up for anyone who avoids shimmer


I don't care for flat out shimmer on my lips. (but I didn't downgrade it for that, that is just my preference, not fair to grade on that)


It is moisturizing for the short time it lasts on the lips. I downgraded it on that count taking one lippie off. I need to reapply it every hour or so. I think the shimmer is a bit drying after the moisturizing wears off. And when it is first on, it feels more like a gloss than a lipstick.


For me it is a bit too sheer, doesn't last on my lips, and is really sparkly. But the colour is great, and the moisture is nice for a short while, but it wears off fast, and leaves my lips a bit dryer after using it.

updated to add the sheerness is actually nice, I've taken another look at it today. I've upgraded to a yes I'll maybe buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Lipstick products