Dermalogica • Ultra Sensitive Faceblock SPF 25 • Sunscreen

rated 3.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 sydneysue on 2/15/2011 10:28:00 PM more reviews by sydneysue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this. Great tint, moisturizing....creamy and doesn't get chalky! SPF and antioxidants! What more could I want? This is the best tinted SPF I have used. Doesn't irritate eyes either...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katie411 on 11/21/2010 3:02:00 AM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE. I actually kept a hold of this and when I was in a drier hot climate I was very surrpised to find that this was very nice on my skin. I didn't moisturise underneath it (or used a gel type cream) and I found that this tinted sun cream looked very natural and I didn't look all greasy/shiny at all. My earlier review was written whilst I was in a very humid heat (and sometimes with a richer moisturiser underneath as well), and I'm starting to see that most sun creams don't perform very well on my face in those conditions. I'm so glad I didn't throw this way. I've changed my overall rating to a 4 and have now answered yes to re buying. However, I'll keep looking for other options, mainly becuase I'm trying to find something a little cheaper.
***********************************************************
This product did stop my face from burning and didn't break me out, so in some ways it was good and did as it said on the box, as it were. I also quite liked the tinted quality, as it made my face look healthy. However, I also found it to be very thick and it felt horrible on my face. I like a natural feel, and sadly this wasn't natural feeling at all. I realise that that it is very difficult to find an effective sun cream that isn't 'thick' feeling, but this seemed to make my face feel greasy and shiny and horrible. It was also very expensive. I will use all the product up, but probably won't buy again. I found another one by La Roche Posay that was cheaper (very surprised about that) and more suited to my needs. I do think this would be perfect for other people.... but just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 veronikka29 on 6/9/2010 4:35:00 PM more reviews by veronikka29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I was so excited to try this sunscreen, but sadly didn't work for my sensitive skin, my face turned red almost inmediately after applying it, had to remove it completely and I won't try it again.
DO NOT buy this product if you haven't tested before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CatEye5 on 5/15/2010 2:32:00 AM more reviews by CatEye5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I loved the cosmetic finish of this product. The tint was slightly darker than my fair to fair-medium complexion, but it blended well and looked good. It's neither too matte nor too shiny. It also lasted well through the day, even through heat and exercise. Most important, it didn't cause any reaction or break-out.

The downside is that it has only titanium dioxide for sun protection. Titanium provides good protection from UVB rays that cause burning, but it's not as good at UVA-I (long UVA) spectrum protection as zinc oxide. Until the manufacturer adds a good amount of zinc oxide, this probably isn't adequate sun protection for someone spending much time outdoors - like me!

ETA: My skin reacted immediately to the Super Sensitive product but not to this one - the exact opposite of a previous reviewer. :)

ETA again: Called the company to ask about long UVA protection. Was passed to "education", left message, got called back several days later by someone who didn't know what I was talking about but explained that titanium reflects rather than absorbing. Thanks, knew that. Well, I knew people say that - it's not quite right. I switched products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 surfinbabe on 5/8/2010 5:47:00 PM more reviews by surfinbabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Well, this faceblock is awesome, but the spf is a tad low. And in our New Zealand conditions, it's like wearing nothing with spf 25.

Our recommended faceblocks should start at 30 above (especially on a summer)

This comes in a tint that I super super love! But it melts away during the day because of my oil.

The packaging is alright, it's upside down so it's easy to squeeze out since the product is already at the bottom. Dermalogica has really put a lot into their packaging, they didn't have in a fancy schmancy way but rather, it's purpose, and usability. Wicked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vanitygal on 9/21/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by vanitygal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Although the product does its job with a good consistency that is not too thick, with good sun protection, I am still not a big fan of the tint, At first i thought the tint would work well as a cover up, but due to its consistency (bit to sheer) to do any cover up if u have blemishes.

i find that it does somewhat obstruct make up application, (but this maybe due to the fact that i am asain and have comparitively fair skin.) anf the darker tint in the sunscreen is not compatible with my foundation colour.

i find that it does leave an oily film to develop after application , but i have blemish/oil prine skin. So maybe not advised for those with oily skin types.

so the main issues with this product is its tint (if fair complexion) and issue to make skin oily later on in the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 surume on 8/1/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by surume

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

CONS:
This product definitely broke me out. I was really hoping to like this product because I spent a good while looking at the top 8-10 ingredients to check if they were comedogenic/skin irritants (which you should try reeeaaaallly hard to avoid if you are acne-prone). As far as I was able to research, the top ingredients in this product were not comedogenic nor skin irritant, but apparently, this did not suit me at all.

PROS:
The scent is pleasant; I would say it's kind of a subtle citrus.
The tinted property was actually pretty nice on my skin, since I have a medium skin tone.
The consistency was a little bit heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 5/27/2009 7:18:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Yet another Dermalogica product that didn't suit me… I used a sample, which lasted me for 4 days. It contains a high sunscreen, SPF 25, which is great. I really liked the consistency of the product and the fact that it was tinted. I didn't need to use any other base for my skin. My face did get a little oily during the day, but what's worse, my skin got really congested with tons of blackheads and tiny cystic bumps. I'm so gutted, because this was the exact kind of sun product I was looking for :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aelgif on 1/31/2009 11:43:00 PM more reviews by aelgif

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This tinted sunscreen has a beautiful texture and luckily does not irritate my sensitive skin. It applies smoothly and is not sticky or oily. The downside for me is the tint is too dark for me (even in summer) and makes my face look dirty. Hence I would not repurchase for myself, but would repurchase for family members with more of a tanned complexion.
Edit: As a fair skinned person I have worked out how to make this work. I mix a little bit of this with my Ultraceuticals Daily Protective Moisturiser SPF 30+ and both the tint and the texture become PERFECT! The tint becomes lighter and peachy fair. Very natural looking. Fair skinned folks - I recommend getting a sample of this then mixing it with a facial sunscreen that may have a slight white cast when applied on its own. It's worth a try ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 4/3/2008 4:59:00 PM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beware! It is easy to confuse the ***Ultra*** Sensitive FaceBlock with the ***Super*** one. The Ultra is a tinted cream in a tube; the Super is a super-light white fluid in a small bottle. I'm reviewing this now having just repurchased the good Super, and recalled, with a shudder, my previous experience with the Ultra.

The Ultra is a pink/peach-tinted cream - a similar shade and texture to Clinique City Block 25. The active sunscreen ingredient is titanium dioxide (full ingredients listing at end of review).

I found it quite heavy to apply, and rather strongly scented (pleasant, mind you). My skin was very unhappy with it, reacting within minutes. I removed it as soon as possible, but still had patches of rash and suffered a breakout: not just the usual localised/cyctic pimples, but all over my face and neck where I'd applied the Ultra. There is unfortunate photographic evidence of this from an event I had to attend the next day. All therefore quite unforgettable.

This might well work for other people - but please do read the ingredients and patch-test it (somewhere inconspicuous like inside wrist) before buying. And I'd heartily recommend the Super instead. I felt a strong moral obligation to warn about the Ultra, and the perils of its confusion with the Super. (Mops sweaty brow and stops shuddering.)

INGREDIENTS: (TiO2 and) Melissa Officinalis, Octyododecyl, Neopentanoate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Butylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Neopentyl Glycol, Diethyhexanoate, Neopentyl Glycol Diisostearate, DEA-Cetyl Phosphate, Stearic Acid, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Ectracts Of: Camellia Oleifera Leaf, Echinacea Purpurea, Vitis Vinifera Seed, Citrus Medica Limonum Peel, Centella Asiatica; Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Sodium Lactate, Sorbitol, Proline Lecithin, Essential Oils Of: Citrus Grandis Peel, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis, Aniba Rosaeodora Wood, Geranium Maculatum, Lavender,Thyme; Disodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Iron Oxides, Magnesium Silicate, Aluminum Hydroxide.

[source for ingredients list: dermstore.com]

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Sunscreen products