Unlisted Brand • Malibu Tan - Hemp Golden Glow Skin Firming Bronzing Moisturizer • Self Tanners

rated 4.3(119 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Sarafox0 on 1/30/2014 1:08:00 AM more reviews by Sarafox0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really hate this stuff. I bought it from the raging reviews online and the price is cheap. It's my first self tanner and couldn't afford tanning sessions so I thought I'd give it a try so I would have a glow for my wedding coming up soon. According to reviews, it smells awesome and doesn't streak, so that's the main reason why I purchased this from Walmart. It's the exact opposite for me! It made my fingernails/hands an ugly orange even after washing my hands good right after appliance. And for some reason, it refuses to tan certain parts of my body such as my face, the folds of my knees and arms, and chest (my boobs and underneath them). I apply this stuff twice to these areas a day and it's still as white as the day I first applied it. Even though I am 140 pounds I have a little roll when I sit down. It also turned very orange around the crease there! People refer this stuff as coconut smelling but honestly It smells just as awful as that dead skin smell right after stepping out of a tanning bed. Now, my wedding is only days away and I have orange hands, tan arms, and a white face. My wedding photos will look lovely :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cdlukasik on 10/14/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by cdlukasik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is totally my new HG self tanner. I am pretty fair and have been my entire life, thus making my life (and skin tone) a little bit sadder every time summer ends. I've never tried a self tanner that works as well as this one on my fair skin.

I purchased this at wal mart for $5 and some odd cents. it has a very pleasant subtle tropical smell that isn't obnoxious or overly noticeable. it comes out white which is nice because it won't stain my clothes. some reviews stated that it started to smell like self tanner after about a day on the skin, but i didn't notice that at all. i exfoliate and apply this all over my body after a shower. it sinks in the skin very well and my skin feels moisturized without looking like the lotion is sitting on top of my skin. in blends very easily. i notice a nice color and glow after only a day of use. the color is not orange at all, it is a very nice tan with a yellow undertone (but not too yellow.) this doesn't streak or look patchy at all and fades very nicely. it makes the perfect amount of color as it builds and it doesn't look harsh at all. just a very nice glow!

i don't know how well this would work for darker skin tones. it wouldn't give a crazy tan, but i suppose it would be nice if you just want to keep a nice glow without looking really dark.

i recommend this for everyone, especially at only $5. i can't find anything bad to say about this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollister4432 on 9/21/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by hollister4432

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I would recommend this product and buy it again. I am very pale, and was looking for a self tanner to get rid of my pasty white skin. This product works wonders. I would NOT recommend it to someone with a really dark skin tone already, because there isn't much color pay off. It would help someone maintain/prolong their already dark color though. But for me, it does provide that slight golden bronze glow I'm looking for, while still looking natural. I haven't gotten the comment "woah you look so tan" like I do with other self tanners, but it is still a slight difference than my pale white skin before. The pump is also a nice feature, because you don't get product all over the bottle. It comes out white and has not stained my sheets or clothes like other self tanners. Maybe a little bit, but nothing in comparison. It does saturate my clothes and sheets with that self tanner smell though! And even though this product does smell like banana/candy/tropical when you put it on, it DOES eventually fade into that slight self tanner smell. But not that strong. Overall, this is a fantastic product and is worth the $6.00 I paid for it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 6/8/2013 6:53:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Builds color slowly. Does not stain my hands at all if I just wash after application. Has a nice sweet scent, almost chocolate-like. Does NOT leave that weird self tanner smell later on your skin. I found this huge bottle at my Walmart. The pump is easy to use. Inexpensive and much more mistake-proof than typical tanners. Quite moisturizing.


CONS: My only con (and it's more about the packaging) is that the pump doesn't turn in a way that you can "re-close" it like you can some other pumps. This has a sweet scent that maybe some wouldn't like. It's almost chocolate-like. I personally love it. Also, this is slow building and not for someone who wants rapid results. I'm not sure how this works on already tan skin; in other words, I don't know how much this darkens skin that isn't as light as mine. (I'm N15 and lean to NC a bit.)


APPLICATION TIPS: I make sure I don't put too much so that I don't have to rub it in forever (make sure you don't leave too much that isn't rubbed in or you're more prone to streaks. Before starting I rub in a little bit of heavy body cream or body butter on the parts that are more likely to stain (knuckles, heels, ankles, knees, elbows, etc.) I dab off excess cream from my hands onto a towel. And then when applying the Hemp lotion in that area, I apply it to the easily-stained area last...like when putting on the arms, I apply to the elbows last, so that less gets applied there.


ALTERNATES: I prefer this more than the Ocean Potion "Ever Glow" one that is like this, mainly because it darkens me more than this can.(Did a side-by-side comparison for a week.) The Malibu one doesn't have such a sweet vanilla/orange (50/50 ice cream bar) smell. It's more of a subtle sweetness that smells a bit like chocolate. The Malibu one seems to be more readily available in stores and is more moisturizing.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lovelymarina on 6/4/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Lovelymarina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this last week and I really like it so far! I needed a fast glow and so far it looks great and has a nice scent! The color looks nice and not orange it's cheaper than jergens and it works faster I think so anyways! Great self tanner and a great price I got mine at walmart

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Beca622 on 5/29/2013 1:11:00 AM more reviews by Beca622

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

So I am allergic to almost everything that touches my skin... Fragrant lotions and almost every bronzing lotion breaks me out in hives immediately after two uses . So when I read the reviews I was considering taking it back when I decided what the heck I'll try it. Turns out this stuff makes my skin amazingly soft and tan tinted. I do take a shower the next morning but I have yet to get hives!! I haven't used it on my face however, but the ingredients seem pretty safe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonbeam36 on 5/26/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by moonbeam36

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this because I just can't maintain and keep up with my normal self tanner (Banana Boat Summer Color Deep Dark). I am a Mom and just can't regularly take out a half hour or more to apply self tanner at night. This was a replacement for me because I can apply it in like 10 minutes or less and I have zero problems with application. I love love love it because it is very moisturizing for my dry skin, doesn't give me any problems on feet or hands, and is the very best color by far I have ever gotten from any self tanner! Light brown is all I can say. No more pasty for me! It takes about 4 days to really see a big difference, but after a week you will be 2 shades darker I would say. I exfoliate every 3 days using this to keep it even and have not noticed any signs of weird patches. The smell is strong, but like pina coladas. The hemp seed oil smell some people may have smell issues with because some people just hate it. I tolerate it because the results are better than any other and I have not smelled DHA nastiness in it really, which is what makes this the very best! I am curious to see how this works with maintaining my regular self tanner. That will be another review though...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iamommy on 5/23/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by iamommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to use as a maintainer for my twice weekly application of instant self tanner. I'm currently using this as my daily body lotion and I'm using banana boat summer color, which fades funny and this really helps with that because it's hydrating and contains a small amount of d.h.a. so it really seems to help even things out in those patchy areas around my wrist, my arms, and chest.

What I love about this lotion is that it dries really fast, I'd say about 5 minutes compared to the 15 it used to take with Jergens natural glow so I can get dressed fast. I'm not crazy about the tropical scent of this product, but I have yet to pick up a trace of self tanner smell and the tropical scent isn't too strong once you're dry and dressed. I love that it's hydrating without leaving me feeling sticky or greasy or like the product isn't dry a long time after I've applied it. So it's a great summer moisturizer for me, but I have very dry skin so I don't think this would work alone during the winter months.

I may update again if I try it this winter by itself because I can't attest to how great the color is by itself since I'm using it with another self tanner, but I would definitely repurchase for this purpose. The price is great (5-6 bucks at walmart) and it's a great daily moisturizer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AA9 on 4/22/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by AA9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I finally found something that actually works!
I'm Asian olive skin type. Everything turn orange No matter what I use....
This product gave me light nice golden tan color. I tan outside fews times a week & use this lotion few times a week to keep my tan last longer. I don't wanna use this lotion every day coz skin could turn orange if i over do it.
Absolutely gonna buy this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnypie on 4/14/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by bunnypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

We all have a yellow tanned skin, yellow tanned skin, yellow tanned skin....la la la .....la la
Sorry for the silly start of my review, but I think now you know about how this lotion worked on me :)
This was my first try with self tanner.
I am very pale, probably MAC N20 or N15, and I wanted to get a little bit of color before the beach season starts.

So, I don't want to put this lotion totally down.
- The price is great - $5 from Walmart
- Package is perfect, it comes in a bottle with
a pump
- It smells good and delicious like coconut
- It doesn't leave any streaks

What I don't like though is:
- the color, it turned me yellow which is not very sexy from my point of view
- itchy skin with a few rashes
- dry lizard skin

Well, it might work on some people, but for me the color of it was just not good. It only looked good on my legs, but that's about it.

I will return it and never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Self Tanners products