Essie • First Base Basecoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.5(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 hannahps on 2/14/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My nail polish normally lasts 4-5 days without chipping and about a week before I have to redo it. This base coat made my nail polish peel off (chipping after only 2-3 days!) and left my nails brittle and dry. The search for the perfect drugstore base coat continues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwiPixie on 1/22/2014 2:36:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best base coat I've ever used. It dries quickly, it makes the nail polish super easy to apply (don't know how, it just glides on the nail making the color even) and makes the polish last a very long time.
I only wish it came with the new longer brushes that essie has.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fashionfreak678 on 10/19/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by fashionfreak678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
Dries fast
Good consistency

CONS:
Staining
Peeling
Chipping

My nails are naturally strong and grow very fast but after years of wearing nail polish constantly and using pure acetone as a remover they would start peeling from time to time. I decided to try First Base in order to help reduce and prevent peeling as well as staining after reading all the great reviews here on MakeupAlley.

The brush is adequate, and the formula has a nice consistency. I'm nearly halfway down the bottle and it hasn't thickened much yet. It appears to be a turquoise color but actually the bottle is tinted turquoise, the product itself is clear. It dries pretty fast. Sometimes when I unscrew the top, the white cap comes off separated from the brush, which is a bit annoying so I knocked a couple of lippies off the Packaging rating.

Unfortunately this didn't help extend my manicure. Usually with no base coat/top coat most polishes will last at least 3-4 days with minimal tipwear for me, but with First Base combined with Essie's Good to Go as my top coat my manicures chip after just 1-2 days. This might work better with non-fast dry top coats but I haven't tried any yet.

But the reason why this gets just 2 stars is because I still get staining all the time plus my nails still peel, even though I switched to Zoya Remove Plus which is much gentler than straight-up acetone. First Base doesn't do its job as a base coat whatsoever, I might as well skip it since my nails aren't truly protected with this! I hate to give it a bad review because of all the raves but it simply just didn't work for me. I'm going to finish my bottle since it was a little pricey at $8 but will not repurchase.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liews on 10/12/2013 5:47:00 AM more reviews by liews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is really, what I would believe, to be one of the best basecoat around.

I remembered my manicure CHIPPING always, and it wouldn't last more than 2-3 days with daily light work... The frustration of changing my manicure that every few days is just, urgh!

But after using this basecoat, it performs so well that the difference is very noticeable. No longer my manicure chips, and I mean completely it doesn't chip at all. Even during a particular week when I worked at a warehouse temporarily, picking and packing clothes, lots of hands-on work, it did not chip at all. It just wore off at the tips more than usual which was perfectly normal.

Also, the basecoat itself is very lasting. Unlike colour nail polishes, it does not turn thick and gooey. I mean it DOESN'T. I have this bottle which I have used for few months now (+-weekly manicure), and the solution is still as good as new, and it still has 1/4 of it left. Very long lasting and therefore worth the price paid.

This basecoat has a tint of turqoise but goes on transparent. Application is heaven, goes on smoothly and dries fast. And ofc, prevents staining.

Have been using this basecoat for months now, and it has become my HG. Don't wanna do any manicure without it! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 9/12/2013 3:56:00 AM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I ordered this from amazon because it was a lot cheaper then in the stores, I think it's like $10 at Ulta & I just spent $10 on Essie Good To Go from there so I wanted a lil savings on my base coat. I love this base coat! Its the best I've ever used! I used this with 3 coats of Turquious & Caicos & GTG both by essie & got almost a full week with only a lil tiny chip! Which is totally a first for me! My nails chip like crazy after 2 days no matter base/top coat situation or the quailty of the polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 8/13/2013 4:19:00 AM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first base coat I've ever tried and I have to say, I am impressed. I didn't think base coats were necessary before and thought it was part of a marketing scheme to get consumers to buy unnecessary products.

The application is smooth, goes on very easily and dries super quick. Makes the application of my nail polish a lot nicer. It also aids in protecting my nails since the colour doesn't bleed through onto my actual nails. It makes removing nail polish a breeze and it doesn't stain my nails at all even when using pigmented colours like red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cultureslayer on 8/5/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by cultureslayer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've used this several times, and the polish has been peeling off in sheets after 2 or 3 days. Same thing when used without topcoat, so it has to be the base. Good thing I still have my receipt, but the search for a good base coat continues. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 7/18/2013 11:35:00 AM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I am super impressed with this! I thought I had found my HG base coat with China Glaze, but I think Essie just booted it to the curb.

The first thing I love about this base coat is how quickly it dries. By the time you finish applying it to your second hand, the first hand is dry and ready for polish (no tackiness to speak of).

The second thing I love is the beautiful texture. It is very thin and easy to apply. The brush is also perfect.

Finally, this had made my manicures last longer than any other base coats. I don't know what Essie puts in this, but it really adheres polish and keeps staining at bay. This combined with two coats of polish and Seche Vite's top coat usually gives me a solid week before ANY chippage (with only very minimal tip wear). This says a lot since I cook, clean, and work with my hands at my job.

5/5!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emzylla on 2/26/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by emzylla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Best base coat I've ever tried. I scrub for surgery with heavy-duty soaps multiple times a day, and somehow this stayed on 5 days without a chip. Unheard of. I combined it with Essie Good To Go & a Sinful Colors (cheap) polish, and I've never had a homemade mani last so long. I apply & wait 10 minutes between each coat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoseJade on 12/24/2012 8:02:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what to say about this that hasn't been said. Its a basic first step but unlike others out on the market this truly does what it is suppose to! I'm really impressed and so happy I've finally found a base coat that works. The only problem was getting my hands on it. Haha idk y I had such a hard time finding it but it was well worth the aggravation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products